We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern day welcome in a late 19th Century house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Fontaine Guest House
Ranked #24 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

La Fontaine stands right in the heart of Franschhoek so it's within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Our rooms were away from the main house in a building with its own lounge and kitchen set in a charming garden. The "honesty bar" was a well-stocked fridge in the kitchen. Guests wrote down what they had selected from the fridge then paid at reception on check-out. There was complimentary port and dessert wine. The rooms were large, airy and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts were served in the garden under the vines. Cathy was very helpful and suggested places for us to visit as well as booking restaurants for us. The plumbing in the bathroom was somewhat quirky!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayMagsandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. The late 19th century building has such charm and character but with all the modern day amenities. Our location is great - no need to drive to the restaurants so that you can enjoy the wonderful selection of wines that Franbschhoek has to offer. We look forward to welocming you or your friends back to La Fontaine on your next visit to this beautiful valley of ours. Warm greetings, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here 2 nights in February 2014. A party of 4 we were in the adjoining property, which far from being a dissapointment was really peaceful and we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast is very good, the only downside is the tables are much too small for 4 people, However this pales into insignificance when taking the benefits of La Fontaine as a whole. Stopping over in Franchhoek? , then do consider La Fontaine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrinkleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi seasoned travellers! Thank you so much for your review. We do agree that the tables are a bit small for 4 people but as we serve breakfast outside under the vine covered pergola, the space is slightly limited as most of the guests want to enjoy the sunshine and do not want to sit in the breakfast room where there is ample space. Our breakfast is freshly prepared each morning and the cooked breakfast is prepared on request ensuring that the high quality of our breakfast is maintained. We hope that you will come back to this beautiful town of Franschhoek and invite your friends and family to experience our little "oasis" Warm regards, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Kathy, Dawn, Richard and team were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them.Being here for 6 nights we tried many restaurants but it was extremely busy over Valentines day and Kathy and dawn tried many restaurants to get us in, they did. Stayed in the stables which was like having your own little house and garden, a very large bathroom and a little sitting room. Extremely comfy beds and great quality bed linen. We sat in the garden outside the room and watched the birds come down and drink the sugar water which was put out for them daily. Adjacent to the stables is the house which you could use. A very large kitchen with fridge and honesty bar or put your own drinks in. Breakfast on the terrace was faultless. Help yourself to fruits,cereal,continental and then you could have a cooked breakfast. Brilliant location down a peacefully pretty street.
We have travelled around the world and kevin and I would say this is the best hospitality we have ever had. A big big thank you to you all and keep up the good work. September looks promising.

Room Tip: Stables for complete privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and I must admit I was sad to see you leave but we are looking forward to welcoming you at La Fontaine again, hopefully in September. The sugar birds are still in the garden which has kept many a visitor enthralled!! Warm wishes, Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Well located guesthouse in town. Easy walk to restaurants. Somewhat dated establishment with rooms spread over different buildings. Large rooms with good beds and bedrooms. Free parking and (weak) wifi. Good breakfast served inside (dark) or pretty garden. Can recommend.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marcinbrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Thank you for your review. The buildings are historical, with the main house being built in 1926 and was used as a girls' boarding house and the Victorian section built in 1895 each with their own charm. There are not many of these buildings left so we must treasure them. Free Wifi is available throughout the property and sometimes the signal is weaker at certain times of the day but this, I think is experienced all over the country!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Once again back at La Fontaine. The service and the good people running La Fountaine Guest House made us come back. The hostess also helped us to book dinners in town as that can be a problem especially during the high season.
Thank you!

Room Tip: Stayed both on the second floor and downstairs close to the pool. Both rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalle_villanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Manager at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

It is such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and to see familiar faces. Even though you have returned to us once more, we will always ensure that you get the same friendly, helpful service which you deserve. Until next time! Warm wishes, Kathie and the La Fontaine Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I loved this B&B. The proprietor was VERY friendly and extraordinarily accommodating. My schedule was very inconvenient for them but she made it work and cooked me a breakfast to go to boot! The room was very nice and very clean and there are all sort of little bits and bobs to explore around the house. I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in SA wine country.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves in providing the best possible service to make you feel completely at home and relaxed. One guest wrote "if hospitality is an art, then you all definitely are great artists!" - a great compliment to my team. We hope that you will return to La Fontaine with friends and family in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Fontaine for just one night on our trip from Cape Town down to PE. On arrival we found they had a problem with the room. But there was no issue and no fuss as we headed out for lunch. When we came back, all was sorted and we had a nice garden suite room overlooking the pool area. La Fontaine is great value for money and a really welcoming atmosphere, with very friendly staff. It's close to the town centre and they even went our of their way to find us a restaurant for New Year's Eve. Parking is a challenge though, but just takes a little care. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart_Goble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MurrayFranschhoek, Owner at La Fontaine Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Hi Stuart
It was quite a challenge to find a restaurant on New Year's Eve! My advice to anyone staying in Franschhoek over Christmas and New Year is to ask us to pre-book restaurants. Fortunately we were able to sort out the burst geyser quickly with no damage to the ceiling and the carpeting in your room! Good wishes for 2014 may it be a good year for you. Kathie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corner House
The Corner House
#14 of 64 in Franschhoek
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maison d'Ail Guest House
Maison d'Ail Guest House
#22 of 64 in Franschhoek
285 reviews
4.3 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#16 of 64 in Franschhoek
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Ballon Rouge
Le Ballon Rouge
#25 of 64 in Franschhoek
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontaine Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontaine Guest House

Address: 21 Dirkie Uys Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £96 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fontaine Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fontaine welcomes you into the heart of Franschhoek (1 hour drive from Cape Town International airport). Experience country hospitality in this gracious, centrally situated home with spectacular mountain views. We offer fourteen double rooms en-suite; five upstairs in the main house, one downstairs; four garden suites, one of which is suitable for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. These garden suites have their own entrances, patios, wood burning fireplaces, DSTV, fridges, air cons. In our adjacent Victorian building we offer 3 double rooms en-suite, one of which is wheelchair friendly and a garden suite which is suitable for 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 small children. The Victorian home, Campbell House, can be hired out in its entirety for a family group. Within walking distance to restaurants, galleries and shops. Children welcome in the family units only. Wheelchair friendly. Off-street and secure parking. Free Wifi. Wine tasting, hiking, horse riding, fly fishing, golf, tennis all nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your La Fontaine Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontaine Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing