We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stay to remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Voerendaal (NL)
1 review
“A stay to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had five great days! A very familiar and relaxing place to stay. Excellent service. A place better than home ...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuusQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    26
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
236
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Since Klein Genot (now Holden Manz) is a working vineyard about a 5-10 minute drive out of town, having a GPS to help get you there is a good idea. Upon arrival at about 3:30 pm, we received a warm greeting and definite helpful hints on things to do, restaurants, etc. Further, since we were a little hungry, we were glad to learn that tea and sandwiches etc were served around 4pm.... timing is everything!

Our room was great, and the views from our patio were super. Walking around the grounds you can see the pool, the garden (fruit trees etc etc), wedding reception area, and the large pond in front with the resident black swans... be sure to check out the small (cute) monkeys as well...

The breakfast buffet was fine... but it would have been nice to have more choice of hot items from the kitchen...

We also booked ourselves into the Spa for massages.... excellent.

We are glad we stayed at Klein Genot/Holden Manz... we found it to be quiet, very comfortable and enjoyable.... a great base to explore Franschoek and for a day trip to Stellenbosch etc.... we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Passin_Thru001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

An amazing place! We came down from the UK, to this wonderful hotel. As you arive it seems as you are transported to an Italian country side. The guest house is at the highest service and the afternoon tea was perfect, beautiful scones and quiches. For dinner we went to the on site restaurant called "The franschhoek kitchen" the food is simple and amazing, Beautiful flavors letting the food speak for its self! We regret only eating there the one night as we were highly disappointed with the restaurants in franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonNickyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London G.B.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

We found this a wonderful place to relax in after the faster pace of Cape Town. We only had two days in this idyllic and picturesque hotel. If we had known we would have stayed longer. The owner was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We wondered through the vine yard to eat at their Franschhoek Kitchen resturant, fantastic food and great wines.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie1LondonG_B_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babenhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed two nights at the Klein Genot, the last two nights before we had to go home, so we wished to have a relaxing, comfortable stay to calm down after all the sightseeing and gameviewing. We made the absolute right choice. The staff was fantastic, friendly, allways an eye for your needs, no matter what. A drink? in a minute, a little snack? a plate full of sandwiches and fruit. The price seems high at first sight, but you get a real good treat for it. The rooms were very nice, big bed, fireplace, big bathroom - breakfast was also one of the best during our vacation. The onsite restaurant was also very good, especially the service.
And don't forget the wines. We tasted the reds and they were all very good. The Shiraz was fruity and smelled like black currant. the Merlot was stronger and had a plum aroma , but what we liked most was the Cabernet Sauvignon, sweet cherry smell and smooth and soft all the way down the throat. The Black Swan reserve was even better, but for price/taste the Cab will be our first choice. Btw, as a guest the wine tasting is included.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

This guest house epitomises understated, elegant luxury. I felt calm and relaxed the moment I arrived. The communal areas, garden and pool are huge and wonderful and matched by the bedrooms - massive bed, enormous bathroom and a log fire, that it was unfortunately too warm to use. We also tried some treatments in the spa and found it very pleasant - not one of the world's best, but worth using.

We ate at the restaurant at the Klein Genot winery building a short distance away. The restaurant is cavernous and could clearly cater for large functions, but the side room was sufficiently cosy for the small number of tables occupied the night we were there. The food was some of the best we ate in South Africa and the service was fantastic and enjoyable.

Klein Genot is under new ownership and is in the process of changing its name. Unfortunately, I can't remember to what!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lm1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

I spent one night at Klein Genot in October 2010 as part of a 10 day trip to Cape Town. I wish I could have stayed longer, as this is a truly idyllic getaway set in the midst of the winelands and right in the culinary heaven that is Franschhoek.

From the moment I stepped in through the door to the moment I said my goodbyes I was made to feel very special. The staff went completely out of their way to ensure I got the most out of my short stay and the owner, Migo, shared his personal recommendations for Franschhoek and beyond, made bookings on my behalf and even invited me to an impromptu wine tasting with some of his friends later that afternoon. If you get a chance, a tasting at the winery is a must - the wines are superb!

Breakfast was served in the guesthouse and included a continental selection and a choice of hot breakfast cooked to order. The full English breakfast I ordered was superb. I also enjoyed a terrific lunch in the restaurant which is a short stroll away.

I've stayed in many guesthouses around the world, and I can comfortably say this is one of the best I've experienced. I'm already planning my return!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyBarefootLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing