We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely interesting people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

dears,

We understand accommodation choice abound in franschoek and it might be difficult to chose from, but if you'd like to stay in a wine estate with lovely people whom try their best to please you, i would sincerely recommend Holden Manz.

the interior is amazing, especially if you fancy art like we do. One of the owners has an art gallery and the art in the wine estate mansion shows elegance and class.

the owners themselves are very warm and hospitable. it feels almost like arriving at home in SA. the welcome tea is really nice.

and very important to us: they left you absolutely free in your handlings. no fuzz whatsoever. no push towards tasting or buying their wine, which we personally find very important and again shows their elegance and tactfullness.

great place truly.

Fabrice Janssen & Carmen De Geeter

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabrice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Holden Manz Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Still sitting in these elegant surroundings and sad that it's all over.
To conclude, it is simply breathtaking. No exaggeration needed. Highest recommendation from our side!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benschmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We had five great days! A very familiar and relaxing place to stay. Excellent service. A place better than home ...

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuusQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Since Klein Genot (now Holden Manz) is a working vineyard about a 5-10 minute drive out of town, having a GPS to help get you there is a good idea. Upon arrival at about 3:30 pm, we received a warm greeting and definite helpful hints on things to do, restaurants, etc. Further, since we were a little hungry, we were glad to learn that tea and sandwiches etc were served around 4pm.... timing is everything!

Our room was great, and the views from our patio were super. Walking around the grounds you can see the pool, the garden (fruit trees etc etc), wedding reception area, and the large pond in front with the resident black swans... be sure to check out the small (cute) monkeys as well...

The breakfast buffet was fine... but it would have been nice to have more choice of hot items from the kitchen...

We also booked ourselves into the Spa for massages.... excellent.

We are glad we stayed at Klein Genot/Holden Manz... we found it to be quiet, very comfortable and enjoyable.... a great base to explore Franschoek and for a day trip to Stellenbosch etc.... we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just_Passin_Thru001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

An amazing place! We came down from the UK, to this wonderful hotel. As you arive it seems as you are transported to an Italian country side. The guest house is at the highest service and the afternoon tea was perfect, beautiful scones and quiches. For dinner we went to the on site restaurant called "The franschhoek kitchen" the food is simple and amazing, Beautiful flavors letting the food speak for its self! We regret only eating there the one night as we were highly disappointed with the restaurants in franschhoek.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNickyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We found this a wonderful place to relax in after the faster pace of Cape Town. We only had two days in this idyllic and picturesque hotel. If we had known we would have stayed longer. The owner was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We wondered through the vine yard to eat at their Franschhoek Kitchen resturant, fantastic food and great wines.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophie1LondonG_B_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We stayed two nights at the Klein Genot, the last two nights before we had to go home, so we wished to have a relaxing, comfortable stay to calm down after all the sightseeing and gameviewing. We made the absolute right choice. The staff was fantastic, friendly, allways an eye for your needs, no matter what. A drink? in a minute, a little snack? a plate full of sandwiches and fruit. The price seems high at first sight, but you get a real good treat for it. The rooms were very nice, big bed, fireplace, big bathroom - breakfast was also one of the best during our vacation. The onsite restaurant was also very good, especially the service.
And don't forget the wines. We tasted the reds and they were all very good. The Shiraz was fruity and smelled like black currant. the Merlot was stronger and had a plum aroma , but what we liked most was the Cabernet Sauvignon, sweet cherry smell and smooth and soft all the way down the throat. The Black Swan reserve was even better, but for price/taste the Cab will be our first choice. Btw, as a guest the wine tasting is included.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ducky0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £141 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing