We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holden Manz Country House
Nearby Hotels
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ivy Apartments(Franschhoek)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$740
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$865
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
426
31
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
31
10
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfranschhoek kitchensouth african artbeautiful estatean art gallerywine tastingwine estatefelt like homeheaven on earthcape townstunning locationrooms are spaciousviews of the mountainsa real treatunderfloor heatingstayed longerstayed for nightsbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved this place and would return without hesitation. The guest house is beautiful and the estate's restaurant (The Franschhoek Kitchen) is fantastic. We ate in several of Franschhoek's top restaurants and enjoyed our meal here the most. The owners are friendly and welcoming but leave the day-to-day running of the guest house to their small, excellent team. Lameck in particular worked tirelessly throughout our stay to ensure we wanted for nothing (and made the best g&t I've had in a long time!)

We had our young children with us on this trip. Many of the upmarket guest houses in this area do not accept children under 12 but Holden Manz put a lot of effort into welcoming our family.

I simply can't fault Holden Manz; for us, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved it. It's like staying in a friend's home but without having to make any effort! It only has 5 (or so) rooms, so it is quiet, relaxing and there is a real calm about the place. The house is stunning both in terms of its layout, interiors and its setting. We spent a couple of days relaxing by the pool and our 2 year old son thoroughly enjoyed exploring the gardens, seeing the monkeys and sitting on the quadbike! I think it's fair to say that if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a brilliant setting, lovely people, great food (breakfast and tea in the house, dinner in the restaurant), and a bit of undisturbed down time, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here on our trip around South Africa, it was such a beautiful place and we were so relaxed and well looked after. The restaurant was also a highlight with great food and very intelligent service. I would recommend to anyone going to Franschhoek as a highlight of our trip. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharare_hau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

A special place which we had to ourselves for our two day stay and so were pampered.

Stunning setting,a great sense of space in the public rooms.Breakfast and tea good in terms of variety and presentation.Main meals taken elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeraldD225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Holden Manz is a really outstanding find which I would recommend to anyone. I went as part of a group of unusually demanding hotel guests, and everyone was delighted by Holden Manz.

The guest house is absolutely stunning. It is set in its own vineyards with a swimming pool overlooking the trees which grow along a small stream, and a beautiful lake. All of this is surrounded by the mountains in one of the most dramatic parts of the Franschhoek valley. The house itself is immaculate. One of the owners also owns an art gallery, and the house is decorated with immaculate and personal taste which sets it apart from bland hotel décor.

The staff who look after you on a day to day basis are extremely nice, and go out of their way to help, as do the owners. The staff and owners gave excellent restaurant tips, and were very helpful in making bookings. The breakfast and afternoon tea (a meal in itself) were delicious. There is also a restaurant on the estate, a short walk from the house, which we liked very much.

I left Holden Manz finding it impossible to believe that there is a better place to stay in Franschhoek. I will definitely go back when I am next in the Cape. I think that for most European readers the description of Holden Manz as a ‘guesthouse’ radically undersells the place, which is preferable to most 5* hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMI64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews