We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hide away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holden Manz Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful hide away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great location, lovely grounds, fantastic staff. What more can one ask for?
We have visted Franschoek on and off for over 15 years and this is one of the best places we have found. The food and wine is fantastic and the enthusiasm of those that produce it is infectious.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    26
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
229
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The guest house is set amongst the vines and the views are breathtaking! We had a suite with an amazing view out over the mountains! The bedrooms were fantastic with plenty of space to relax in! The surroundings are so peaceful with plenty of different places to relax - the bedrooms are situated around a beautiful fish pond which is very tranquil and lovely to sit by and read a book! Food is also fantastic - especially the home made bread and jams for breakfast! The decor is beautiful with some incredible artwork and the house itself is very spacious. Also highly recommend the restaurant which is just a short walk through the beautiful estate! Would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_pembroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Crossing the little bridge we entered a private Eden, a little paradise. We had reached our destination, the Holden Manz Wine Estate outside Franschhoek. A session in the health and wellness spa, where all guests are treated as Royalty, was the perfect way to counteract the discomforts of a longhaul flight.

Stepping inside the cool, elegant interior of the beautiful Cape Dutch manor house we encountered the warm hospitality of the owners and the attentiveness of their staff. The beautiful architecture, visually striking interiors and tasteful furnishings are enahnced by a stunning collection of contemporary African art. An art lover's delight! Book lovers have a wealth of choice between fiction, history and biography as well as many exquisitely illustrated "coffee table" books.

The guest suites are luxuriously appointed and open onto the zen like pool containing huge koi carp.

Breakfasts were substantial, afternoon teas a feast! On one occasion afternoon tea was served as a picnic. We strolled through the gardens, past majestic ancient trees to a quiet corner of the Estate where two rivers meet and where a most memorable picnic was enjoyed.

Our stay was made really special by the attentiveness of Lameck who has the unique gift of anticipating one's every need. Perhaps it is significant that Lameck comes from Malawi, known as "the warm heart of Africa".

It was no surprise to learn that the manor house was angled by a feng shui consultant to ensure an uninhibited flow of chi, making this one of the most ideal places one could ever live.

I left with only one unanswered question. Why is this described as a "Guest House"? This is so much more than a 5 star guest house - a truly luxurious boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved this place and would return without hesitation. The guest house is beautiful and the estate's restaurant (The Franschhoek Kitchen) is fantastic. We ate in several of Franschhoek's top restaurants and enjoyed our meal here the most. The owners are friendly and welcoming but leave the day-to-day running of the guest house to their small, excellent team. Lameck in particular worked tirelessly throughout our stay to ensure we wanted for nothing (and made the best g&t I've had in a long time!)

We had our young children with us on this trip. Many of the upmarket guest houses in this area do not accept children under 12 but Holden Manz put a lot of effort into welcoming our family.

I simply can't fault Holden Manz; for us, it was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved it. It's like staying in a friend's home but without having to make any effort! It only has 5 (or so) rooms, so it is quiet, relaxing and there is a real calm about the place. The house is stunning both in terms of its layout, interiors and its setting. We spent a couple of days relaxing by the pool and our 2 year old son thoroughly enjoyed exploring the gardens, seeing the monkeys and sitting on the quadbike! I think it's fair to say that if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a brilliant setting, lovely people, great food (breakfast and tea in the house, dinner in the restaurant), and a bit of undisturbed down time, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here on our trip around South Africa, it was such a beautiful place and we were so relaxed and well looked after. The restaurant was also a highlight with great food and very intelligent service. I would recommend to anyone going to Franschhoek as a highlight of our trip. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharare_hau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

A special place which we had to ourselves for our two day stay and so were pampered.

Stunning setting,a great sense of space in the public rooms.Breakfast and tea good in terms of variety and presentation.Main meals taken elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldD225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Property: Holden Manz Country House
Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing