We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying at your own fantastic country estate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The setting is stunning as everyone else has said. The most amazing thing for us ( our 2nd visit but not our last ) is how much I feel like I am in my own house and can completely relax while I am on the estate . It is as if you have arrived at your second home ( fantastic estate ) in the country and everything is just the way you left it last time. The tranquility and sense of peace and nature are unrivaled . If you're looking for a busy place with lots of people running around and 200 staff , this is not the place. IF you want to enjoy the peace and beauty of the area while staying in a place that makes you feel as if you are in your own home .. THIS IS THE PLACE .
I have been to Franschoek 4 times in the past. I will always try to stay here when I return .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Holden Manz Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great location, lovely grounds, fantastic staff. What more can one ask for?
We have visted Franschoek on and off for over 15 years and this is one of the best places we have found. The food and wine is fantastic and the enthusiasm of those that produce it is infectious.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The guest house is set amongst the vines and the views are breathtaking! We had a suite with an amazing view out over the mountains! The bedrooms were fantastic with plenty of space to relax in! The surroundings are so peaceful with plenty of different places to relax - the bedrooms are situated around a beautiful fish pond which is very tranquil and lovely to sit by and read a book! Food is also fantastic - especially the home made bread and jams for breakfast! The decor is beautiful with some incredible artwork and the house itself is very spacious. Also highly recommend the restaurant which is just a short walk through the beautiful estate! Would love to return again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Crossing the little bridge we entered a private Eden, a little paradise. We had reached our destination, the Holden Manz Wine Estate outside Franschhoek. A session in the health and wellness spa, where all guests are treated as Royalty, was the perfect way to counteract the discomforts of a longhaul flight.

Stepping inside the cool, elegant interior of the beautiful Cape Dutch manor house we encountered the warm hospitality of the owners and the attentiveness of their staff. The beautiful architecture, visually striking interiors and tasteful furnishings are enahnced by a stunning collection of contemporary African art. An art lover's delight! Book lovers have a wealth of choice between fiction, history and biography as well as many exquisitely illustrated "coffee table" books.

The guest suites are luxuriously appointed and open onto the zen like pool containing huge koi carp.

Breakfasts were substantial, afternoon teas a feast! On one occasion afternoon tea was served as a picnic. We strolled through the gardens, past majestic ancient trees to a quiet corner of the Estate where two rivers meet and where a most memorable picnic was enjoyed.

Our stay was made really special by the attentiveness of Lameck who has the unique gift of anticipating one's every need. Perhaps it is significant that Lameck comes from Malawi, known as "the warm heart of Africa".

It was no surprise to learn that the manor house was angled by a feng shui consultant to ensure an uninhibited flow of chi, making this one of the most ideal places one could ever live.

I left with only one unanswered question. Why is this described as a "Guest House"? This is so much more than a 5 star guest house - a truly luxurious boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved this place and would return without hesitation. The guest house is beautiful and the estate's restaurant (The Franschhoek Kitchen) is fantastic. We ate in several of Franschhoek's top restaurants and enjoyed our meal here the most. The owners are friendly and welcoming but leave the day-to-day running of the guest house to their small, excellent team. Lameck in particular worked tirelessly throughout our stay to ensure we wanted for nothing (and made the best g&t I've had in a long time!)

We had our young children with us on this trip. Many of the upmarket guest houses in this area do not accept children under 12 but Holden Manz put a lot of effort into welcoming our family.

I simply can't fault Holden Manz; for us, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We absolutely loved it. It's like staying in a friend's home but without having to make any effort! It only has 5 (or so) rooms, so it is quiet, relaxing and there is a real calm about the place. The house is stunning both in terms of its layout, interiors and its setting. We spent a couple of days relaxing by the pool and our 2 year old son thoroughly enjoyed exploring the gardens, seeing the monkeys and sitting on the quadbike! I think it's fair to say that if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, this may not be for you. But if you are looking for a brilliant setting, lovely people, great food (breakfast and tea in the house, dinner in the restaurant), and a bit of undisturbed down time, I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here on our trip around South Africa, it was such a beautiful place and we were so relaxed and well looked after. The restaurant was also a highlight with great food and very intelligent service. I would recommend to anyone going to Franschhoek as a highlight of our trip. Thanks to all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharare_hau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
171 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £133 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing