We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable in a gorgeous setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #6 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Holden Manz is more than just accommodation. It is more like driving up to an elegant country farm home that produces wonderful wines. The beds and pillows make sleeping comfortable. and the bathroom had separate sinks, and large walk in shower with the herbal smelling soaps and shampoo. The rooms are spacious and have a small private garden area where you can enjoy your complimentary rosé wine. The beautiful surrounding mountain range, which provide gorgeous views, do play havoc on the wifi; but the accommodating hosts allow you to go to their office to connect, and then you can walk anywhere and remain connected. They serve a wonderful breakfast and high tea. Dinner is served above the tasting room, located out amongst the vineyard. It is closed on Sundays. Mr. Manz is an art lover and helps promote African artists at his gallery in town; and the "hotel" has many pieces. It is truly like walking through an architectural magazine. There is a spa and a large room that faces the vineyards where you can do yoga or stretching. Books, wine, lovely hospitality.. All made me feel like I drove out to the country to hang out with friends,

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler154990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

Wonderful overall experience though wine and food was exceptional. Weather was great at the end of December, as well. Less than an hours drive from Capetown, and excellent transfer service from RPM Tours and Cape Town Transfers, hoteliers in Franschhoek and restauranteurs provide free transportaion from the B & B's to restaurants.in the town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2trynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I recently stayed at Holden Manz Country House for 2 days and it was a stunning experience. From the country house to the glorious view, it was delightful. I particularly loved the art work in the Country House which was stimulating and very elegant. The location is extremely quiet and peaceful. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maree L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I stayed with a friend here for 2 nights as part of our visit to South Africa. The time from the moment we arrived was special with great service, stunning accommodation and surroundings to make you want to stay a lot longer. The food was great and the Holden Manz wines delicious. Everything that we asked for was catered for and they arranged a tour guide for the areas other vineyards which was great too. The village and the surrounding estates are all great and I only wish we had booked for longer here.

Thanks to all the staff at Holden Manz I remember my stay fondly and hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

After an overnight flight and the usual long wait at the car hire desk we were probably not in the best of form arriving at Holden Manz but we could not have asked for a more perfect antidote. The country house hits all the right notes from the spacious rooms to the uncrowded feel to the wonderful artwork all around you. The internal beauty is matched by the stunning Franschhoek valley outside and pretty quickly all the stresses of travel are forgotten. We spent two nights there and while not the cheapest it delivers value. We tried the restaurant which was also good and the service standard from the first email exchange until we were waved away as we left was excellent. Only problem is that after staying here we compared everywhere else to it and nothing quite matched up

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in December on honeymoon and loved it! The location is beautiful, staff are amazing, and the wine is fantastic. We'll be back and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great inn. The location close to the restaurant is great and it's a lovely walk through vineyards to dinner!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

If you need time out and want to spend it in a low-key paradise, then this could be the place for you. From the cool, roomy, welcoming suites with their high thatched ceilings and shuttered windows you can stroll past the koi pond with its jewel-like fish into the grand living areas of the estate, which open onto a large terrace on which breakfast and high teas are served al fresco. Don't want to leave for lunch or dinner? No problem! A short walk away is the estate's superb restaurant, where you can dine like royalty at very reasonable prices. Or you may wish, after a few hours spent spoiling yourself with treatments in the spa or just lazing by the pool, to make your way into Franschoek proper, with its plethora of restaurants, shops and wonderful galleries (including that owned by Holden Manz). How ever you decide to spend your hours at this fabulous property, your hosts Migo and Gerard, ably assisted by Collette, Lemak and the rest of the estate's discreet and unobtrusive staff, will ensure that your stay is sublime. This was our third visit in two years and we will be back!

Room Tip: We prefer the Stoney Brooke suite, with its own private terrace...you awaken to birdsong and the zep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
11.9 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £154 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing