We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #5 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

fly there, go there, live there and eat in the restaurant...
amazing coming back after easter this year!!!
great accomodation, amazing food and will love the owners, lameck the butler and all the others working there...
enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: i loved the one upstairs...:-)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Holden Manz Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

The last time I had the pleasure staying in Franschhoek was many years ago and had lost touch how beautiful the area is, especially for a quick weekend away. Myself and my girlfriend had the pleasure of spending a night away at Holden Manz and will definitely recommend it to anyone who appreciates the finest of food, wine, hospitality and sheer comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherrin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the minute we arrived to the moment we left the wonderful staff at Holden Manz gave a friendly and professional service unrivaled anywhere else we stayed during our holiday in SA. The breakfast preared by the ever attentive Lameck was delicious and elegant; what an asset it is to have someone look after you who is simply the best. The wines are lovely and the resturant, a short 5 minute walk adjacent to the vineyard is so conveniently located, providing an excellent menu and service to match, we did not need to venture further into Franschhoek. This is a must visit place and gave evrything we had hoped for and more for our significant wedding anniversary stay. A wonderful and memorable introduction to the winelines which we would gladly repeat in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our very short stay at Holden Manz as well as our wonderfully attentive dinner at the restaurant. The service in the restaurant couldn't be better. The appointments in the room and the guest house show one that no detail is too much to deliver. We appreciated it very much. The art collection and the architecture are not to be missed as well. Lameck, the host, was not afraid to bring up the sun for us. His persuasive and hospitable nature convinced us that making poached eggs and beautifully setting the table for a 7:30 breakfast was not an inconvenience to him in the slightest.
We fell under his Malawian spell.
I can still taste that scrummy hollandaise sauce that ever so gently draped my beautifully poached egg.
The details in the room upstairs in the Manor House create such a special ambiance. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we loved the room upstairs in the Manor House- bathroom fit for a king.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Fantastic location, gorgeous wine, great spa and amazing showers. Also such lovely people run the place.

Best way to start the day is by running through the vineyards and by the river. Best way to end the day is with a glass of Holden Manz wine by their lake.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed at Holden Manz for our anniversary, the rooms were beautiful and the location very picturesque. Lemic (sp) is an excellent host and we were made to feel like we were top priority, the food in the restaurant compares to some of the best I have eaten. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

What a pleasure to still discover little unknown gems in the Franschoek Valley and what a gem! We stayed in the beautiful manor house for one night - just a treat away from the city and my husband and I both left feeling on top of the world. The breakfast is incredible - served in the home surrounded by an impressive art collection. We explored the gardens and the vineyards and enjoyed the walk through the vineyards with Jacob, the friendly dog :-) The afternoon tea was also lovely and cleverly set-up so that each guest or couple feel that they have the whole house to themselves. The scenery is breath-taking - our room was a huge loft-like suite which overlooked the mountains.

Room Tip: The room above the entrance to the manor house is a spacious loft suite with two bedrooms and perfec...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jo-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £141 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing