We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holden Manz Country House
Ranked #6 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

There's no better feeling on a trip than the one you get when you finally arrive at your chosen accommodation, knowing in an instant that this is exactly the right place for you. It's mostly relief, mixed with (if I'm honest!) a little smugness at how well you chose. That's exactly how we felt pulling up to Holden Manz Wine Estate. The location is stunning and combined with the warm welcome we received, we knew this would be a very special experience. The house itself is so beautifully and tastefully decorated. You feel priviledged to have the chance to enjoy it and yet feel absolutely at home. Being able to wander so close to the vineyards was a real treat and we were lucky that harvest had just begun so we were able to learn more about the whole process - facinating! Special thanks to Colette, Daniel and, of course, Lameck, for ensuring our stay was so memorable. If you're reading these reviews then you're already considering a stay here. My advice? Book your room now before someone else snaps it up! you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FERG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

It was our first visit to this wonderful estate, but hopefully not the last. I can only echo other ratings: The estate is beautiful, all rooms have great art work to view (visit also the Holden Manz Gallery in Franschhoek). The service was impeccable, and the hosts very friendly and welcoming. Lovely breakfast on the veranda and afternoon high tea. The restaurant is a relaxing ten minutes walk away through the vineyards. Food was excellent, so was the wine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I loved everything about this place. It felt like home not a hotel but with service! Nothing was too much trouble. I have no hesitation in recommending Holden manz and the restaurant was superb as is their wine - love big g

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jywq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wine tasting was very nice, the building is very special. One can see the wine barrels. Mostly red wines, very good quality. The restaurant is upstairs from the winery, quite a large room, beautifully decorated with open kitchen. There is a large balcony but unfortuatley we couldn't dine outside as it was too windy. Good food, but not fine dining.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

our first visit to this beautiful estate but certainly wont be our last. Beautiful house and rooms with great art work to view. Very comfortable beds with lovely linen and rooms very tastefully decorated. Nice bathroom as well. Lameck was wonderful , service excellent with nothing too much trouble. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. Lovely breakfast and afternoon teas. Unfortunately did not get to try the restaurant but will do so on our return. We have purchased some wine to try at home and remember our wonderful time at Holden Manz

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulaOkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Holden Manz. The house is beautiful and filled with some stunning art work that we loved. All the things that make an excellent hotel were there - beautiful bathrooms with nice accessories, the most comfortable beds and bedding, exquisitely decorated rooms in the house, and peaceful outside spaces. The ability to walk around the estate and the vines against the backdrop of the mountains is very special. The service is exceptional - efficient, friendly and attentive. This is a very special place. Only two recommendations for total perfection - better jam at breakfast and butter not in plastic packs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A magnificent 2 night stay was like being personal guests of the owner/hosts, being made so welcome and part of the 'Holden Manz family' from the outset. And what a great place it is, beautiful location, stunning scenery, stylish interiors and oozing warmth, charm and finesse.

The bedrooms were spacious and delightfully cool and airy despite being one of the hottest days of the year, and the huge ensuite shower and deep bath were also fully enjoyed. There was everything one could want from hairdryer, safe, magazines, very comfy bed and quality linens, fluffy towels and interesting art, different in each room - though an international adapter would always be helpful. The 'Africology' bath and shower goods were also really special - great smelling and lovely to use.

Breakfast sadly lacked the romance of rosebuds on the plate shown in the owners photos, and could have been a little quicker on the delivery, but I guess the heat slows everything down. The butter would have been nicer in something other than small individual plastic servings, and the sugar as lumps or cubes rather than in paper pouches, but these are minor details that can be overlooked by simply checking out the stunning views of the surrounding grounds!

Didn't personally try the spa, but imagine it would be upto the same high standards and quality.

Did try the pool, early morning and in the evening, which was a thorough joy, with amazing views over the beautiful roofs to the mountains. Also explored the vineyard with a few walks round the perimeter, passing the picnic benches along the river, which all looked inviting if on a longer stay.

Certainly seemed like paradise to me. Look forward to a revisit!

Room Tip: There's only 5 rooms, our group had rooms 1-3, all wonderfully spacious, comfortable and ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoungBuccaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
1.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.6 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
11.9 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holden Manz Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holden Manz Country House

Address: 3 Green Valley Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £143 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Holden Manz Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Cape style accommodation located in a stunning vineyard close to the tranquil town of Franschhoek. Great restaurant and spa complete the package for a relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Holden Manz Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holden Manz Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing