We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Sunny Lane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunny Lane
Ranked #35 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Perfect little studio apartment, extremely well equipped and two blocks from the main street. Barbara & co were available nearby if we had any questions but were otherwise discreet (which is fine – it’s an apartment, not a hotel!) They supplied us with a little braai on request and it was nice to self cater for a few days after 2 weeks of indulgence, we also used the little swimming pool & loungers which was great. The price was very fair, especially for Franschhoek and we would definitely recommend Sunny Lane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Sunny Lane
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

Clean accomodation, nice little swimming pool and a very welcoming atmosphere.
This is not a party place, but a nice, quiet, peaceful and neat place for exploring all the good things Franschhoek has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomfromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a few days here and found the place relaxing, spacious, and well equipped for some home cooked meals (there are some well equipped grocery stalls in Franschhoek).
The only problem were the fruit flies - but if you closed the doors earlier in the night they were not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been going to Sunny Lane for the last 3 years and could not think of going anywhere else in Franschhoek. The guest house is well placed just off the main road so you are close to everything and is very peaceful and quiet.

The rooms are private and share a lovely pool area. Both rooms have great security and you can leave the door open with the security gate at night if it is hot.

Both rooms have everything you need and it is nice make breakfast and sit on the patio outside.

Barbara will always make sure that your stay is pleasant and you have everything.

Sunny Lane is a secret gem and would recommend it to all.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a lovely little stay at Sunny Lane. We stayed in the smaller of the 2 cottages, and although it was not very big, it was perfect for us. It had a large comfy bed, small kitchenette, and a bathroom with shower; you don't need much else for a room. It was great value for money and one of the most reasonably priced accommodations in Franschhoek. The owner was so kind as to make an exception for us, in light that it was my boyfriend’s birthday, and allowed us to stay just for the one night. Everything turned out perfectly and in summer we will be sure to stay there for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DomainedesDieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This apartment surpassed our expectations! Located in an adorable garden with a pool, just 2 blocks from the main strip, this was the perfect guest cottage for my husband and I and our single friend. We even walked to 3 wineries and a top-rated, world class restaurant from our front door.

The furnished apartment has everything you need to make your wine country stay special. We will definitely be back. The place is very clean and decorated nicely with plenty of space for lounging and cooking. The neighborhood is one of the safest we have seen in all of South Africa! There is also a good Internet connection for free. Thank you to Barbara for a great stay!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank schneids11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Sunny lane is excellent value. We stayed for three nights in the larger cottage in May 2012, and found it wonderfully spacious, warm and clean. The underfloor heating worked a treat and the cotton sheets and good mattress were great. The bathroom is huge and lovely. Several books and brochures about the attractions of the town helped us select restaurants we wanted to try. Tucked back a bit from the bustle of the main road, the cottages are an easy and pleasant walk past beautifully maintained homes and gardens to the centre of the village.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calais Guest House
Calais Guest House
#25 of 64 in Franschhoek
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#15 of 64 in Franschhoek
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
22 Van Wijk Street Guest Rooms
#50 of 64 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laurel Cottage
Laurel Cottage
#53 of 64 in Franschhoek
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Lane

Address: 30 Akademie Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £32 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Lane consists of two elegant self-catering studios situated in the heart of Franschhoek, South Africa. Affordably priced, Sunny Lane has everything you need for a comfortable stay in the "food and wine capital" of South Africa. In winter, underfloor heating will keep you warm while you can cool down in our beautiful swimming pool in summer. The studios are fully equipped and also have satellite television and wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunny Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Lane Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing