We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Great Food”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #18 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great View and Great Food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

During our tour of Franschhoek, we had the opportunity to visit and eat at this quaint restaurant. The grounds were lovely and the view of the snow capped mountains was just breath taking. Our meal was prepared beautifully and the service nice. We also did not have to wait long to get a table.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyb260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    121
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
60
283
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at this lovely hotel. We stayed in two different rooms. The bridal suite in the manor house which we wouldn't stay in again as there is not much privacy and no door to the bathroom which is not acceptable and we stayed in the Deluxe suite which was really nice and we would choose that same room again as it has a separate lounge and a fireplace which we got good use of as it was quite cold. Both rooms had underfloor heating which was nice. Breakfast was delicious and the staff friendly and service very good. The wine there is excellent and the views breathtaking. Will definitely go back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller77722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch between tastings. Beautiful views of the vineyard and lovely food. Lots of Indian influence in the cuisine, which I did not anticipate in the farm setting. Also very large portions!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Meganruth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenandoah Valley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Franschhoek region shines with a visit to this vineyard. Smaller and more intimate than its neighbors, the quality of service, wine and food makes La Petite Ferme a hidden gem. Don't miss the tour of the winery as the founder'/owner, John, will probably be your guide. His passion and love for the 30 year old vineyard reflects the creative energy behind the winery, restaurant, and hotel portion of La Petite Ferme. This family-run establishment will make you fall-in-love with South Africa all over again.

Room Tip: Request either John or Mark to give the tour of the winery/vineyard. They are the Father/Son founde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReSt0re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Restaurants/Food:

We dined for lunch here - They have a very small vegetarian menu but the food was fantastic. Perhaps they could add a few more options to the menu at some point. The restaurant was beautifully decorated with tasteful furniture. My husband and I were impressed with the taste and freshness of the meal along with it's presentation. We could not find any fault with this cosy place! Highly recommend walking around and taking photos. The grounds are simply breathtaking!

Staff:

The staff are polite and extremely well mannered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poojie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at La Petite Ferme on our honeymoon and could not have been happier. Excellent service. Lovely rooms, overlooking the vineyards with plunge pool. Managed to eat there for lunch and it was one of the most memorable meals of our lives. Very luxurious pace, with lunch, break to relax in their lawn, back to the table for dessert. A few things to know -- is a little bit out of town, so you'll either need to drive yourself back and forth or get a cab, which I recall being a little pricey. Even if you don't stay here, you absolutely must eat here. In an area full of world class meals, La Petite Ferme stands out. (Note -- stayed there in 2007; writing review very late).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Have had lunch here before years ago and decided last minute to spend the night in Franschoek. Manager on reception very helpful and we were very happy with the price for our stay in the Africa Suite. Well appointed room with great walk in shower, comfortable big bed and gas fire ( didn't use that as weather beautiful for late winter, 24 deg)Great setting with beautiful views over the valley. Great recommendation for a restaurant for dinner ( Monneaux) by manager. Breakfast very nice, recommend scrambled eggs with smoked trout. Left with a few lovely bottles of their Syrah, alas no time to stay for the wine tour at 1100........ Maybe next time!

Room Tip: Suites at front of property have lovely views and small individual pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
523 reviews
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Property: La Petite Ferme
Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing