We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a Place”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #18 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gem of a Place”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at La Petite Ferme for two nights and were not disappointed.

We stayed in one of the Lakeside lodges - the Lodges are not 5 star (nor do they claim to be) and are a little dated but they are large and comfy and were perfect for what we needed.

The highlight of the stay was the cellar tour which the wine maker and owner took us on personally. His knowledge and passion made this one of the highlights of our entire trip.

We also booked lunch in the restaurant and it was clear why this is the number 1 place to go to on Trip Advisor. It was SENSATIONAL.

Definitely worth a visit but if you are expecting 5 star accommodation, the Lakeside Lodges may not be for you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherbstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    122
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
61
287
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Ignore the bad reviews of La Petite. The menu caters for all tastes and the food is delicious with excellent service. They only serve lunch but you can order a 'sunset' cheese platter for later if you can fit it in. We stayed in the Provencale suite, which was spacious and clean. There is tea and coffee, and even a corkscrew if you want to delve into the wine you may have bought en route. We sat on our very private veranda (with plunge pool) and watched the sun set. Utter bliss, the views are truly spectacular. And to top it all we were treated to a wine tour by the owner Mark. It is going to be hard to beat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMA27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night stay here and it was wonderful. My friend got married here in the manor house as we had hired most of the rooms for the wedding. I stayed in the Africa suite no 3. The wine tour was amazing and John really passionate about everything. We learnt tonnes and drank the lovely wines that the petite ferme makes.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We did the wine tasting, absolutely awesome. Fancy the actual owner taking you on a tour, brilliant and much better than ive ever experienced. We had some great laughs and learned about the winery firsthand from the man who built it! then went to lunch which was a great experience as well!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mrvwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

It was recommended to us to visit La Petit Ferme so we booked the wine tour, lunch and a room in the manor house. The wine tour was great fun and from the excellent wines tasted set us up brilliantly for our meal. The food was excellent in quality, quantity and cost. The room surpassed both the tour and lunch. With a view looking straight out across the vineyard and the entire Franschoek valley. With our own fire place we sat from sunset into darkness and late into the night enjoying the wine purchased from the wine shop on site. A fantastic experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank goffsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Our annual Wine buying trip started this year in Franschhoek were we stayed 9 nights at La Petite Ferme. What a fantastic way to start the cottages were perfect for our needs with views to die for. Their Wine Tasting tour is the best one we have ever been on (as we are in the trade we have done a few!!) it was informative, fun, the wines were delicious and Mark the owner has a real passion for wine making. We were so impressed we will be stocking their wines once there arrive here in the UK mid April.

Room Tip: We stayed in their Lakeside lodges only problem there is no Internet coverage here which was a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stopped here for lunch. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The food is amazing. The wines were the best of the ones we had in the area that day. You must must must make it here for lunch while it is still sunlight so you can enjoy the views. We didn't want to leave. Make sure you make reservations well in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadewin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
533 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
650 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Property: La Petite Ferme
Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing