We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #17 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for one night last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage/room was spacious and comfortable, with its own plunge pool and fireplace. It was too cold to swim, but very cosy with the (gas) fire inside. The view is wonderful. The service was very friendly. Did not eat at the restaurant as it's closed for dinner in the winter months.
Breakfast was tasty, but I would've expected more variety, specially given the price of the accommodation which is not cheap.
But I would love to stay there again in summer and lounge next to the plunge pool looking at the view with a glass of wine in my hand.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    122
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
61
289
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I recently stayed at La Petite Ferme and it was absolutely fantastic.
The view is one of the best and the food is always a treat but for me the standout feature of
​the week was the unparalleled service from the staff. Every single person I interacted with was friendly, efficient and organised. It's an absolute treat to stay in a place where everyone has a smile on their face and seems to really enjoy their work and environment. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The Library and Bridal rooms were both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I had stayed here 8 years ago when on holiday and absolutely loved it, so was keen to bring a colleague here for lunch on a flying visit to Cape Town. We had reserved a table and asked for a good view as we were effectively detouring via here from London. A "lovely table" was promised by return email.

On arrival, dodging the baboons in the car park, we were shown to a table at the end of the lower tier of tables, with one of the two seats completely hidden from the view by the woodwork, drainpipes and the side extension - not what was promised. It took two requests and an escalation to the manager to be moved to one of the three other empty tables each of which had the perfect view down the valley (and one of which remained empty the whole of lunch).

The rather tatty menus offered some interesting options (to an English visitor), though short. the snoek patte was excellent and the Springbok loin was good, though not as melting as I expected. Presentation was fair, but the service was fairly charmless and lacked any warmth at all. Deserts were adequate, but I was not convinced had been made in the kitchen. We each tried a couple of different glasses of wine, though we were surprised at how many of their own wines were not available.

The bill was very reasonable and represented excellent value for money

As we left, no-one seemed interested to bid us farewell, thank us for coming or wish to see us back etc. All in all it felt a bit flat, the cooking lacked the flair I had remembered for 8 years, and they seemed altogether disinterested in whether we had enjoyed our visit. Could do so much better, as they used to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Definition: To be satisfied with one's past success and to consider further effort unnecessary.

We have been regular visitors to South Africa for many years, and would always go to La Petite Ferme for lunch if we were in the area, as it has always been so charming. Since they have had accommodation, it has always been a plan to stay there one day. Well that day came in March this year and we were very disappointed. I agree 100% with gaycoupleSuffolk's assessment of the place. Just about everything seemed to be too much trouble! Whereas once upon a time the owners were always in attendance, now they were notable by their absence and it shows. It did not seem to be the staff's job to make one feel welcome. They have a crazy 'reservation' system for lunch where you can book a table for a certain time, as we did, and then you just sit and wait until a table becomes available. In my opinion, this works well for them - as they invite you to sit on the lawn in front of a spectacular view and sell you a bottle of wine! We were tired and hungry after a long drive and actually wanted to be seated at our table at the time we had booked. The menu was unimaginative and old fashioned but the trick is to keep it simple, and we did, so the food was adequate. The security arrangements - and we are talking South Africa - are poor. The cottage we had was ok, but dull decor and smelt musty. There is no provision for evening meals. Because of our later than anticipated lunch, we did not want to go out for dinner, and wanted something light to eat in our room. We were only able to order something cold from the menu which was then put in our fridge mid afternoon, as the kitchen closes, for us to have for dinner. Breakfast was not great either, and we couldn't help feeling that everyone else was looking as unimpressed by the set up as us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBB1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

An absolutely amazing place, been there twice now and each time has been as impressive as the last. The views are spectacular and the gardens are the perfect place for a post meal drink/bit of relaxation. The staff are friendly and attentive, this little gem is an absolute must for any visit to Franschoek, but you will need to book in advance.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Whizzy1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We heard about La Petite Ferme from a friend. our great hosts at Centreville in Franschhoek booked a driver to take us there (and picked us up). Its a beautiful spot, overlooking the valley. The food was delicious and as we have found to be the case in most restaurants in South Africa, the portions were generous. We chose wines from the winery to accompany our meal and they matched perfectly, the Chardonnay was very good. After our lunch we went down to the front lawn with a glass of wine and enjoyed the afternoon sunshine. it was a perfect finish to our lunch. if you have the time, i highly recommend this restaraunt.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent our wedding anniversary here, and the staff treated us like royalty from the get go. We we were spoilt by the food, the scenery and John and his magical stories during the wine cellar tour. Loved every minute and can highly recommend it for all romantic couples.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marelise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Property: La Petite Ferme
Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing