We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fenomenal Food”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #16 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On recommendation from a family member we went for the magical drive to La Petite Ferme. Although it was a rainy day the views were fenominal and once we were reseated in the warmth of the main area because we did not book in advance we could have our meal. The starter of the soup of the day (Lentil & Carrot Soup) was out of this world. Mains was the Chicken kebab for my partner and Smoked Trout for myself. Absolutely delicious!!!!! O and then came the Cheese Platter and the Choclate Mouse. Wow!!!!!!! Janine our waitress you were absolutely great and attentive. I would recommend it to anyone. Views are stunning as well. Elske

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Namibroos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for La Petite Ferme
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very pretty boutique style hotel. In the main building you find the restaurant and bar. The various types of accommodation are scattered around the rest of their land.

The old manor house houses 4 suites, and these suites share a pool. They have fantastic views and each suite is individually styled. We had managed to extend our trip by a day, but the room we had booked was not available for an extra night, therefore our first night was spent in La Petite suite.

The smallest of the suites, la petite suite has a king size bed and shower room. This room is by no means large, but it is pretty and if you haven't seen the other rooms, or do not have the budget for the other rooms, then this room really would suffice and still feel special. In low season we were charged 715 rand pppn inc breakfast for this room and we did think it was good value.

The other 3 suites in the manor house are of equal size and I think of similar price, approx 1320 rand pppn inc breakfast.

There is one, I think called the library suite, which has a separate lounge area with huge comfy sofas, fireplace, lots of books and a separate bedroom that has a veranda off it that faces the pool and stunning views.

There is one called the bridal suite that has a huge 4 poster bed, a bathroom that is on the veranda side with bath in the window. It looked very romantic.

Our suite was the veranda suite. The actual bedroom size was good (although compared to bridal and library the internal space would be a lot smaller). The bathroom was huge with massive walk in shower and separate freestanding bath. Bathrobes provided and tea and coffee making facilities. The selling point of this suite for us was the huge veranda that lead from the bedroom. It was seriously large and had a sitting area with comfy sofa and huge outside wood burning fireplace. The views were amazing and one day we literally just sat facing the fire all day and didn't move, except to go for lunch or add a log to the fire!

This hotel worked perfectly for us. It was private, great quality rooms, the service was outstanding and the food wonderful. The negative I could see for some people would be a lack of facilities eg spa, and also the bar and restaurant close at 1800. I had already read some reviews about this and that some people who had not planned on going out at night simply ordered a cheese and meat platter to enjoy in the evening.

On the day we took it easy, we had a long lazy lunch in the hotel's restaurant, then made ourselves comfortable by our outside fire, by evening the cheese platter with a bottle of wine was the perfect way to end the day. It was simple but worked well for us.

We had gone off to do a wine tour on the day we were moving from one suite to the other. The staff told us to leave our luggage and they would move it to the new room. Our wine tour lasted far longer than anyone could have appreciated and we finally got back to the hotel after 2200. The following morning at breakfast the head housekeeper sought us out to make sure we were ok. She had been very worried at our lack of return in the afternoon and had gone to our room to check on us. As she could not find us, she had pulled our curtains and put lights on. I have never experienced care like that before, nor attentiveness as to the staff to worry about our whereabouts.

They have some other suites that I think were either similar in price or slightly cheaper than the manor house suites, and these were smaller in footprint, but had a private plunge pool. I believe they also had some self catering apts. in total they have 15 suites.

Overall this hotel runs like a well oiled team. From Melissa, the head of reservations corresponding to me efficiently, and booking all kinds of tours for me, to the waitresses forever smiling and friendly, we had only mentioned to reception that we wanted a fire and by the time we got back to the room the groundsman had it roaring, the cleanliness of the rooms could not be complained about and we were questioned every morning how our day/night had been and was there anything they could do to improve our stay.

Beautiful hotel and incredible service.

Room Tip: The Veranda suite with its own open fireplace was a fantastic place to spend the day recovering from...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is picture perfect - the winery is graced with a little troop of baboons, but they don't interfere with guests or diners. The food here is great, and you definitely need to book a tour of the vineyard.

The grounds are quite stunning - all the rooms seem to have either a private plunge pool or a shared, larger pool, where you can drink a bottle of wine at sunset and simply bask in the beauty and bounty of nature.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank san_shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Spent a few days in La Petite Ferme while on honeymoon in South Africa.
It was not the original place we were meant to stay in Franschoeck but there had been flooding in the town so moved here. What a great choice that was.
From the moment we arrived it was a great experience!
Our suite had a private pool and garden area and had champagne waiting on our arrival!

Breakfast on the porch each morning looking out over the vineyard had incredible views. This was in December when the weather at home was freezing with Ice and Snow as we looked out on clear skies and sunshine! Bliss!

The wine tour with John (the owner) was very interesting and he is a very down to earth man. Called himself "just a farmer" even though he has made award winning wines!! Learned loads about wine making and the different grapes of South Africa. After we finished the tour he simply opened two bottles of wine and had us sample the different aromas and flavors. Then he just left the two full bottles of wine on the table and said enjoy as he left!

Lunch was very nice on one of the days. Some great South African dishes and wonderful service.

The only con was when we were checking out I was presented with a bill that was incorrect. I informed the receptionist that I had pre-paid for the accommodation so should only see the extras on my bill. She went off to the office to check and came back with a new bill without any sort of apology. But that was just a minor blip!

If I am ever lucky to be back in South Africa and Franschoeck I will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in the bridal suite which had the most wonderful view of the vineyards and the mountains which was a very tranquil setting where we relaxed and simply just absorbed the beauty of the area. The private patio was a lovely sunny spot and the winter days were really glorious spent just absorbing the loveliness of it all. The room was large and beautifully decorated with all the amenities we could wish for. Linen was crisp and luxurious and colours were fashionable but understated. The bathroom was utter luxury with a free standing bath and large shower. Opening French doors onto the balcony made for special candle lit bath time and sunny morning window for bright and happy early shower. Large dressing room with plenty of wardrobe space and the same in the bathroom, was great - we often experience having to pack out toiletries in sight in small bathrooms a problem. Heating was ample with underfloor heating pleasantly on when we arrived. We loved the fact that the manor house was separate from the restaurant which afforded us great privacy. We found the whole experience, including breakfast and lunch a pleasant and inspirational experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I planned a surprise birthday for my husband and it was a very special experience. Our dear friends joined us for lunch and we stayed the night in two special rooms. Our friends had the stunning bridal suite and we had the spectacular verandah suite next door. The lunch was delicious winter fare..our party had the fillet with truffle mash, lamb with brinjal and morrocan stuffed chicken. The creme brûlée was stunning. When lunch was over, Our waitress brought the room keys to the table and our party headed for the room. On the veranda overlooking the pool,vineyards and valley , the delightful housekeeper, Anna, had laid out a beautiful chocolate cake which she made herself. She had gone to a lot of trouble to decorate the table and wrote a card with a gift of wine from the estate. Very lovely touch. The outdoor fireplace is enormous and even though it rained hard we were comfortable under the covered patio and made good use of it chatting late into the night. The staff were delightful and friendly and went beyond the call of duty to resolve any issues. It was a special weekend for us! We took the rest of divine cake home and shared it with other friends. Simply the best cake we had all enjoyed in a long time.

Room Tip: Veranda suite is awesome!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashantha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for one night last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The cottage/room was spacious and comfortable, with its own plunge pool and fireplace. It was too cold to swim, but very cosy with the (gas) fire inside. The view is wonderful. The service was very friendly. Did not eat at the restaurant as it's closed for dinner in the winter months.
Breakfast was tasty, but I would've expected more variety, specially given the price of the accommodation which is not cheap.
But I would love to stay there again in summer and lounge next to the plunge pool looking at the view with a glass of wine in my hand.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilse Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £157 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing