We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely -even when it rains!!!”
Review of La Petite Ferme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Petite Ferme
Ranked #17 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancaster
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely -even when it rains!!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2008

we stayed at this hotel in Nov,it was brilliant.We ate lunch in the restaurant after a very informative tour of the cellar and wine tasting.The weather was shocking it rained and rained for the 2 days we stayed,but the lovely cottages with fires and sofa's helped to compensate for the weather.The food was fantastic, the wine was brilliant (so much so i have ordered a case from Tanners for christmas)
Thank you to Mark and staff,

Lynn and Rob Burke
England.

  • Liked — position
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rabLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    122
    29
    16
    12
See reviews for
61
289
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

First of all, I cannot write a review on the hotel as we did not stay there.

We were fortunate enough to experience the wonderful food of La Petite Ferme during a wine tour we were on. My wife and I took a trip around the world and I can honestly say that the best meal of our trip came from this restaurant. We were told by our tour guide that the food was excellent but if we had known that it was this amazing, we would have ordered another meal to take out with us. I had the risotto of the day (pear, gorgonzola) and my wife had the Warm Goats Cheese, porcini & roasted red onion tartlet served with a side of tempura vegetables. I don't recall what the other travelers had but they all enjoyed their meals equally.

Apparently you have to book in advance to get a seating and expect a little wait while there. We didn't wait overly long and that was ok because we enjoyed the decor and the scenery.

I hope this review helps.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capershaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We did not stay at the hotel but visited La Petite Ferme for a tour of the vineyard and lunch.

The owner, Mark actually took on an incredible tour and his passion for the wine was contageous. We were able to sample any and all of what was on offer and had the rare opportunity to test from the barrels in the cellar which was a great experience.

The staff at the restuarant were very knowledgable, the food top-rate and of course, the wines were superb. I recommend the dessert wine that is sold only in the restaurant. It is exsquisite and the views around the grounds are also remarkable.

I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dendenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

La Petite Ferme is set in a stunning location with views from each cottage overlooking the vineyard and Franschoek Valley. Each cottage had its own private terrace and plunge pool with amazing views. Although the bedroom itself was comfortable and nicely decorated the bathroom was in need of updating with some mould and cracked tiles (and lots of ants!).

nevertheless, lunch and breakfast were delicious with good service (they don't do dinner but there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the town itself and Haute Cabriere is just across the road).

  • Liked — the amazing views, the food
  • Disliked — the bathroom and the ants
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PocketRocket76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

My partner took me to La Petite Ferme as a surprise for my 30th birthday. We've been to the restaurant before for lunch, and he surprised me at lunch there again that we are also staying in one of the cottages. But I'll elaborate in 2 sections

The restaurant - The restaurant is wonderfully located on the Franschhoek pass with views over the whole Franscchoek valley and mountains beyond. If you sit on the stoep you have an uninterrupted view of everything. The restaurant is only open for lunch and for breakfast for the residents in teh cottages. Lunch at the restaurant is spectacular and the food exquisite. It can get a bit busy in the summer, but seeing as we were there in the winter, we had fires roaring and a quiet restaurant. I will definitely recommend the restaurant for lunch in the winter & summer, as it's very very good. Make a reservation and go.

The accommodation - The accommodation is very luxurious. Each suite is cottage that has a massive lounge with gas fireplace, with the bedroom next to it, all open plan so that you can lie in bed and watch the fire! A massive bathroom is just off the bedroom with views. The cottage has a big private terrace in front with a splash pool overlooking the vineyards and mountains in the distance. Truly wonderfully located and big. It also has everything you want from a 5 star cottage. We had a wonderful stay at La Petite Ferme and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — the massive cottage with views
  • Disliked — the restaurant not being open in the evening
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mitxcoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swtizerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We arrive here after 1 week of safari, and we were very tired.
The place is perfect if you are looking for relax and romance.
it's also one of the best restaurant in town! It happen we spent a lunch there with the idea to have only 1 dish but we had a 4 course meal and 1 bottle of wine and everything was simply amazing.
The service is ok, they are frendly, they could be more frendly but after all the place and the food is so good that you don't even notice it.
I would strongly recommand it, the room was gorgeous, all white, in a French stuyle, very chic!! We had a very nice stay, part of our honeymoon trip!
if I would be back to Franschhoek (i really hope since it was one of the best thing we experienced in our honeymoon in South Africa), I would definitly come back here!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank DreamingSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2008

La Petite Ferme is a beautiful property perched atop a promontory that permits a stunning view of vineyards and surrounding mountains. While we hoped that our stay would be relaxing, we did not anticipate the languorous attitude of the management staff. Our cabana was without hot water the first night and most of the next day. The management asked us to patiently wait for the water to warm up before it finally had to send for an electrician. The television in the armoir did not properly work because the cable wire was visibly faulty. Although television viewing was hardly a priority, the inattention to an easily correctible matter was disappointing at such a vaunted establishment. Dinner at the hotel was good, but not the culinary experience Frommer and others advertised. For that we recommend Le Quartier Francais or Ruben's. Finally, at check-out, there was a question about our room rate. To satisfy the managment, we were asked to provide the fax confirming the rate we were given, which is not something one would expect from a first-class hotel. On a positive note, one of the management staff, whose name is Arnelle, courteously sent us off with a couple of bottles of wine for our trouble. If one should happen to book at La Petite Ferme, you would want to contact Arnelle, whose cheery demeanor and attentiveness should be the model for the rest of the staff.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globestrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
1.3 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Petite Ferme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Ferme

Property: La Petite Ferme
Address: Pass Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Petite Ferme 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the side of a mountain, overlooking the Franschhoek valley, stand La Petite Ferme Guest Suites, award-winning Restaurant and boutique Winery. La Petite Freme accommodation set amongst vineyards on a working winefarm all boast magnificent views. We have a variety of suites to suit any traveller, from the family holiday to the discerning couple in need of a luxurious experience. Our 4-star, beautifully appointed rooms are warm and cosy for cold, wet winters and equally air conditioned and cool for hot summers, where a dip in the pool is a welcome respite from the midday sun. Continue your experience at our seafront villa, the magnificent La Petite Baleine. Admire uninterrupted views and sunsets over Walker Bay. This is a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Petite Ferme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Petite Ferme Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing