We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious, comfortable and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious, comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Luxuriously spacious facilities, with friendly, hospitable staff paying detailed attention to your every need. The perfect place to switch off and treat yourself. It is located in the heart of the beautiful Franschhoek town, meaning that you can take a leisurely stroll to any of the fabulous eateries or shops.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LezanneMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
371
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

As soon as we arrived we were impressed by the friendly service which continued throughout our two night stay. Franklin made us feel at home and he and Conrad made sure that we were very well looked after. The room was excellent and the food first class. However it was the suberb service and attention to detail which made this such a special part of our holiday. There was nothing they had not thought of.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacchusGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE US
Level Contributor
553 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife & spent 3 nights here in May and had a nice time. The location is good at one end of the main street which contains all the restaurants and shops so a nice walk got us to where we wanted to go. We had a large pool suite that was nicely decorated and even had in-floor heating. My only complaint is related to the shower that had poor water pressure and insufficient hot water. When we both tried to wash our hair in back-to-back showers I ran out of warm water and then had to shave using cold water. The breakfasts were great and the self-serve lobby bar was also nice.
We arrived after 4 days at a safari lodge and were looking forward to using the internet to catch up on work. Problem was their wireless server could not be seen by our Apple portable. This was aggravating. Even though this happened on a Sunday an IT guy did come out and he fixed the problem by changing a setting on their server. He even went to where we were having lunch to tell us the problem was fixed! Clearly the hotel wants to make things right.
We enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed at the Franschhoek for 2 nights in May.
A warm greeting from Franklin and his staff made us feel immediately at home.
Our room was superb and exceeded all expectaions, breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice
Cannot praise Franklin + Conrad highly enough for making our stay so special

Would recommend this hotel to any one and hope to return soon

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alian1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Last Word Franschhoek in May 2011 and were blown away! Our pool suite was gorgeous and each night there was a beautiful turn-down amenity waiting for us. Breakfast (which is included) was amazing- they make the best cappuccinos and it is truly customized service. The location is right on the main street so you really don't need a car unless you want to explore the vinyards int he area (highly reccomended!)

The rooms are spacious and elegant and after peeking into some of the other top hotels in the area we were very happy that we had made the best choice! The GM (Conrad) knows every guest by name and will set you up at all of the best restaurants based on your taste buds. We found that the prices were very reasonable on food and wine vs. what we are used to paying in the states... A 5 star meal and a few glasses of wine for $60 is a steal in my opinion.

The town itself is totally charming and the perfect spot for a honeymoon or a romantic getaway... Our only regret is that our 3 days seemed to fly by too quickly!

The Last Word Franschhoek really has the last word on great service... This is really the sleeper pick of the enitre town for luxury, quality and value.

Room Tip: Stay at LEAST 3 nights and visit a local vineyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenmcclain305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Greeted by Franklin who remembered us from our August 2010 visit. Offered a very refreshing cold white wine, a glass of beer and a chilled coke. Shown to our rooms (1 and 2). No need for explanations as we've been before. Restaurant bookings confirmed for that night and one made for the following night. Franklin, Conrad and team couldn't be more helpful or friendly. With regard to the private pool, yes of course it's going to have leaves and bugs in it (comments from other guests!!) and if you are a proper grown up you wouldn't be spying on your naked neighbours would you!!! We didn't make use of the pool as it was a little chilly at this time of year but a quiet place to chill if you wanted. We tended to sit outside our daughter's room (no 1) and be by the main pool. Hubby did venture in it once but it was cold. Friends from Somerset West came to visit us with a plan that we would stroll into town and have a drink - no need, Franklin made them very welcome and we sat by the main pool (there were no other guests at the hotel at the time so we didn't bother anyone). I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and would certainly stay again if we are lucky enough to visit Franschhoek again. Thank you Franklin, Conrad and the team for a great 4 nights.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Tucked away in Franschhoek, we had the most amazing room opening onto the pool area through a sunroom.
Very close proximity to neighbours, who can get noisy!
Staff were absolutely charming and extremely helpful in recommendations for dinner, visits and route planning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing