We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was our second time at The Last word and it was just as good as the first. It is superbly located for strolling down Franschhoek and walking to restaurants and I would definitely rate this a boutique hotel.

We stayed in one of the pool suites which has just loads of space an enormous bathroom and of course the private pool perfect for cooling off.

The welcome from Franklin and Conrad was superb as was the service from the rest of the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, tea and coffee whenever you want as well as confirming your restaurant reservations. It was my birthday while we were there and when we came back from our meal the room was filled with candles, chocolates and some champagne an example of their thoughtfulness and attention to detail.

Thanks to all and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

This was a nice but straightforward guesthouse, not a boutique hotel as advertised. Staff friendly and helpful but we felt a bit misled and expected more as we spent quite a bit on our last few days on our holiday at this property

If they advertised it as a guesthouse it would make more sense

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psims303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

the last word has 6 rooms-2 with a tiny swimming pool.there is also a small pool and sunbathing area and a roof top deck for drinks.

it is so lovely and comfortable andwellplaced but it is the staff that make it so special.Conrad welcomed us and settled us in and then Franklin was the person who was there to give advice on where best to go
and to make sure everything was 1st class. A wonderful experience.

Room Tip: room with pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a 50th birthday trip to SA. Conrad was amazing and just took care of everything. He suggested restaurants and then booked them for us,(even ensuring that we had good tables with great views etc.) The rooms were large and extremely comfortable with outside areas to relax.
We loved it so much that we cancelled our 3 final nights at the Mount Nelson to go and stay at The Last Word Constantia.Also great and will definately return to both.
Thank you Conrad, Franklin (brilliant too) and all the staff who made our stay in Franschoek so wonderful.
I have stayed at 1 of the more pretentious hotels in Franschoek previously but from now on this is the only hotel in town for me! So relaxed, not stuffy, run with complete efficiency and in a very friendly manner. Can't wait to go back.
PS loved the little bed-time treats!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane11191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here our last 2 nights(of our 12 night) in South Africa on our honeymoon... when we arrived we were greeted by Conrad... although we arrived prior to check-in they were able to accommodate us in no time. Conrad gave us great suggestions on restaurants, wineries, and scheduled us on a private wine tour. The following day we met Franklin who was also very nice. The breakfast that is included every morning is a full breakfast which was great. Everything was perfect...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathg8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just arrived in Franschhoek and was greeted by Frankin. We arrived at 12 yet Franklin was able to accommodate us with an early check in. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and our experience so far has been unbelievable. Thanks so much The Last Word!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Last Word in November. From the moment we arrived we were made incredibly welcome by Conrad who made sure we were comfortable. If we needed advice on anything he would give it, with suggestions for sightseeing, wine tasting, restaurants etc. Nothing is too much. The room and bathroom were fantastically huge, the bed extremely comfortable and having drinks at our private pool after a busy day sightseeing was magical. The only downside was that the pool water was very cold! Drinks and newspapers are complimentary and there is a well stocked minibar in the room and of course tea and coffee making facilities, but the staff are more than happy to make up a tray and bring it to the room! The hotel is quietly situated but everything in the small town of Franschhoek is walkable. If we ever go back to the area we will certainly stay at The Last Word.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curioustoknow_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 12 in Franschhoek
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 12 in Franschhoek
733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 12 in Franschhoek
563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 12 in Franschhoek
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £244 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing