We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely return to this wonderful oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will definitely return to this wonderful oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by name on our arrival by the wonderful and seemingly ever present Conrad, who together with the rest of his team made our stay perfect. Our room was delightful with lovely seating areas and toiletries.
The pillow was a bit hard for me, but it was no trouble to replace it with a feather one. Really the attention to our comfort and enjoyment was first class. Conrad recommended 2 restaurants the Bon Vivant and Reuban's which we enjoyed thoroughly. He also rang ahead to TLW Constantia and they booked a restaurant to suit our tastes which was really thoughtful
My husband and I can't wait to make a return visit and it has spoilt us for anywhere else. One comment in the visitors' book asked why there weren't B&Bs like this in the Yorkshire Dales,can anybody suggest one?!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    49
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
365
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourton-on-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second visit to TLW Franschhoek, having originally stayed there in Dec 2009. I did not do a TA entry on that occassion because I loved it so much that I did not want to share it with other people. I now realise how selfish this was and so will try to make amends with this entry. 

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but due to problems with our Camps Bay acommodation we extended to 6 nights. The Last Words willingness to assist with our accommodation problems was outstanding and also included arranging 2 nights at TLW Constantia (see separate entry).

From the very first moment of arrival, Conrad and his team cannot do enough for you ensuring that you have a fantastic stay. Their advice on restaurants and sightseeing should not be ignored as they give such accurate information across all categories.  The team are perfect hosts from the personally cooked breakfasts to the evening sun downers. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

A good example of this was that we had a puncture on our hire car and Franklin arranged for Ellis to change the wheel and take the punctured tyre to Paarl, collected a replacement, fitted it and charged us less than £20 for doing it.   This could have messed up our whole day but the support they provided to us was first class. 

We had a pool room which was a good size with big bathrooms and a lovely private patio for sun bathing and relaxing. The rooms are spacious and have lovely touches which I will not describe as they are great to discover for yourself. 

Our latest stay at The Last Word was again a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small, truly boutique, hotel. If you like personal, intimate places to stay then I highly recommend the 'The Last Word' as you know that everything is special with outstanding service. If you like big corporate hotels this is not the place for you. 

We will be back. 

Room Tip: Every room is special but a pool room has additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed there 4 nights and were very impressed with the attention to detail, and the 'home from home' atmosphere in the facility. Nothing was too much trouble for Franklin, with suggestions, and offers to make reservations for us wherever we wanted to go. The fitout to the rooms, considering the age of the building was excellent. The Last Word in Constantia was the next stop.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrub001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, aus
Level Contributor
150 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second visit to The Last Word at Franschhoek. We stayed last Christmas and enjoyed it so much we decided to visit again. We booked a room with a private plunge pool which, whilst pricey, was just lovely. Overall we had a fabulous stay here and wish it had been longer.

The staff are very pleasant and welcoming. All drinks are included in the room rate which is a nice touch. Food at breakfast (the only meal we had this trip) was great although staff really should learn to make a proper coffee - that said, the whole of South Africa needs to learn to make coffee!

Our room was spacious and very well appointed and there was free wifi throughout the property. Some elements of the room did seem a little tired though and this should be rectified based on the rates being charged.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and that's what makes the experience here. A really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivinghoe beacon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our three night stay at The Last Word after exploring Cape Town was a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small hotel. Being able to walk down the main street safely to all the restaurants is a big bonus, no shortage of places to eat although some get booked up very quickly in high season. The rooms are amazing especially the pool suites with lots of attention to detail. If you like personal small places to stay then I recommend the 'The Last Word' you know that all rooms are special with good service. I agree with one of the reviews it is expensive but we felt it was worth spending that bit more for our first visit to S Africa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mapinBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at "The Last Word" in Franschhoek for three nights at the end of a great two & a half weeks touring in Cape Province and unknowlingly we had kept the very best until last. We can't praise this small hotel enough from the warmth of Franklin's welcome as Senior staff member, to the beauty of our pool room (Room No. 2 - excellent), the fabulous breakfast, the homely but quality decor, the honesty bar a lovely touch. The staff could not do enough for us without being 'in your face' - they arranged three evening meals for us at first class local restuarants within walking distance - they arranged a day out touring vinyards using the hotels own vehicle and taking us where ever we wanted to go. Three words describe this venue and hotel - TRULY FIRST CLASS. Thank you Franklin we do hope to return.

Room Tip: They have two pool rooms each having their own private plunge pools and patio - Rooms 1 and 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j4gun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our short two night stay was wonderful. Somewhat expensive, but worth it.
Both Conrad and Franklin provide superb personal service, always available to assist, and constantly looking for ways to make our stay more comfortable.
From the rose petals on our bed on arrival, creme-brule waiting for us on our return from a memorable dinner at Grande Provence, to a small champagne awaiting us the next night, the level of attention to detail was outstanding.
In addition, free internet, free wi-fi and refreshments on call.
And finally, the breakfast was excellent. Even some of my favourite, pickled fish, on offer one morning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing