We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted in walking distance of where we wanted to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely rooms, great service, friendly staff, excellent location. A definite reccommendation when coming to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

Fantastic welcome and lovely room with petals on the bed. Excellent room with enclosed patio and direct access to pool. The hotel had made a reservation at the French Connection restaurant for our evening meal. We were given details on some wineries to visit by the helpful staff. However some service issues. Firstly the air conditioning unit stopped working at 9 pm and we were unable to contact anybody by phone to sort the problem out. There was nobody around when I searched but after about 15 mins the manager eventually phoned us and then came and rectified the problem. Secondly we left a breakfast order on the door for in room breakfast. However we sat and waited the next day and no breakfast arrived. We looked on the door and the order was still there!! This was a lovely hotel and we would stay again but the management needs to address these few niggles

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We arrived in the rain but were greeted very warmly by Franklin. We had one of the rooms in the outside building but it was more like a flat, and was beautifully decorated. The staff were all extremely polite and helpful, we really were made to feel as though we were in our own home. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the town. We would love to come back her and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Imagine Africa for finding this little gem for us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were greeted by name on our arrival by the wonderful and seemingly ever present Conrad, who together with the rest of his team made our stay perfect. Our room was delightful with lovely seating areas and toiletries.
The pillow was a bit hard for me, but it was no trouble to replace it with a feather one. Really the attention to our comfort and enjoyment was first class. Conrad recommended 2 restaurants the Bon Vivant and Reuban's which we enjoyed thoroughly. He also rang ahead to TLW Constantia and they booked a restaurant to suit our tastes which was really thoughtful
My husband and I can't wait to make a return visit and it has spoilt us for anywhere else. One comment in the visitors' book asked why there weren't B&Bs like this in the Yorkshire Dales,can anybody suggest one?!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second visit to TLW Franschhoek, having originally stayed there in Dec 2009. I did not do a TA entry on that occassion because I loved it so much that I did not want to share it with other people. I now realise how selfish this was and so will try to make amends with this entry. 

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but due to problems with our Camps Bay acommodation we extended to 6 nights. The Last Words willingness to assist with our accommodation problems was outstanding and also included arranging 2 nights at TLW Constantia (see separate entry).

From the very first moment of arrival, Conrad and his team cannot do enough for you ensuring that you have a fantastic stay. Their advice on restaurants and sightseeing should not be ignored as they give such accurate information across all categories.  The team are perfect hosts from the personally cooked breakfasts to the evening sun downers. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

A good example of this was that we had a puncture on our hire car and Franklin arranged for Ellis to change the wheel and take the punctured tyre to Paarl, collected a replacement, fitted it and charged us less than £20 for doing it.   This could have messed up our whole day but the support they provided to us was first class. 

We had a pool room which was a good size with big bathrooms and a lovely private patio for sun bathing and relaxing. The rooms are spacious and have lovely touches which I will not describe as they are great to discover for yourself. 

Our latest stay at The Last Word was again a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small, truly boutique, hotel. If you like personal, intimate places to stay then I highly recommend the 'The Last Word' as you know that everything is special with outstanding service. If you like big corporate hotels this is not the place for you. 

We will be back. 

Room Tip: Every room is special but a pool room has additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebTwoHoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed there 4 nights and were very impressed with the attention to detail, and the 'home from home' atmosphere in the facility. Nothing was too much trouble for Franklin, with suggestions, and offers to make reservations for us wherever we wanted to go. The fitout to the rooms, considering the age of the building was excellent. The Last Word in Constantia was the next stop.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrub001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This was our second visit to The Last Word at Franschhoek. We stayed last Christmas and enjoyed it so much we decided to visit again. We booked a room with a private plunge pool which, whilst pricey, was just lovely. Overall we had a fabulous stay here and wish it had been longer.

The staff are very pleasant and welcoming. All drinks are included in the room rate which is a nice touch. Food at breakfast (the only meal we had this trip) was great although staff really should learn to make a proper coffee - that said, the whole of South Africa needs to learn to make coffee!

Our room was spacious and very well appointed and there was free wifi throughout the property. Some elements of the room did seem a little tired though and this should be rectified based on the rates being charged.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and that's what makes the experience here. A really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £207 - £551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing