We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Word Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Fabulous small hotel in the heart of Franschhoek offering a five star service with a warm, friendly and personal touch. Rooms were beautiful, stylish and contained everything one needed. Beds were heavenly and the under floor heating was a luxurious touch which came in useful as the weather was cold during our stay. Franklin could not do enough to help us and was always available to assist with any query we had. He was also a great source of information for places to eat and things to do in the area. Breakfast was delicious with a surprisingly large array of food to choose from. All the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable stay. The complimentary drinks in the lounge and in the room, mini desserts left in the bedroom in the evening, and the endless supply of hot drinks and goodies for which no extra charge is made set this hotel apart from the rest. Could not provide any better recommendation for anyone wishing to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Stevely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    48
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
359
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Last Word. We were greeted warmly on arrival by Franklin who took us on a small tour of the hotel's grounds and facilities before taking us to our room. Both Franklin and Conrad were most helpful in recommending wineries and restaurants to visit and we had a table at French Connection pre-booked for our arrival night. A really nice touch and something that wasn't at all pushed on us, it was purely provisional and we were under no obligation to accept.

The rooms were fantastic, really modern and well kept. A problem with a hairdryer was sorted immediately following a quick phone call. Breakfast was very good, a large continental selection and hot food made to order as well.

My favourite part of this hotel though, were all the little quirks and treats that set it above others. Instead of chocolates we were given ramekins of desserts when we returned to our rooms of an evening and we had complimentary red and white house wines and sherry in our rooms and at the bar. Made you feel right at home!

All in all, it was a great stay and I would thoroughly recommend The Last Word to anyone looking for accomodation in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Lovely rooms, great service, friendly staff, excellent location. A definite reccommendation when coming to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseComments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Fantastic welcome and lovely room with petals on the bed. Excellent room with enclosed patio and direct access to pool. The hotel had made a reservation at the French Connection restaurant for our evening meal. We were given details on some wineries to visit by the helpful staff. However some service issues. Firstly the air conditioning unit stopped working at 9 pm and we were unable to contact anybody by phone to sort the problem out. There was nobody around when I searched but after about 15 mins the manager eventually phoned us and then came and rectified the problem. Secondly we left a breakfast order on the door for in room breakfast. However we sat and waited the next day and no breakfast arrived. We looked on the door and the order was still there!! This was a lovely hotel and we would stay again but the management needs to address these few niggles

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SassySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We arrived in the rain but were greeted very warmly by Franklin. We had one of the rooms in the outside building but it was more like a flat, and was beautifully decorated. The staff were all extremely polite and helpful, we really were made to feel as though we were in our own home. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the town. We would love to come back her and would recommend it to anyone. Thanks Imagine Africa for finding this little gem for us!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by name on our arrival by the wonderful and seemingly ever present Conrad, who together with the rest of his team made our stay perfect. Our room was delightful with lovely seating areas and toiletries.
The pillow was a bit hard for me, but it was no trouble to replace it with a feather one. Really the attention to our comfort and enjoyment was first class. Conrad recommended 2 restaurants the Bon Vivant and Reuban's which we enjoyed thoroughly. He also rang ahead to TLW Constantia and they booked a restaurant to suit our tastes which was really thoughtful
My husband and I can't wait to make a return visit and it has spoilt us for anywhere else. One comment in the visitors' book asked why there weren't B&Bs like this in the Yorkshire Dales,can anybody suggest one?!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-Dunsmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our second visit to TLW Franschhoek, having originally stayed there in Dec 2009. I did not do a TA entry on that occassion because I loved it so much that I did not want to share it with other people. I now realise how selfish this was and so will try to make amends with this entry. 

We were originally booked in for 4 nights but due to problems with our Camps Bay acommodation we extended to 6 nights. The Last Words willingness to assist with our accommodation problems was outstanding and also included arranging 2 nights at TLW Constantia (see separate entry).

From the very first moment of arrival, Conrad and his team cannot do enough for you ensuring that you have a fantastic stay. Their advice on restaurants and sightseeing should not be ignored as they give such accurate information across all categories.  The team are perfect hosts from the personally cooked breakfasts to the evening sun downers. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

A good example of this was that we had a puncture on our hire car and Franklin arranged for Ellis to change the wheel and take the punctured tyre to Paarl, collected a replacement, fitted it and charged us less than £20 for doing it.   This could have messed up our whole day but the support they provided to us was first class. 

We had a pool room which was a good size with big bathrooms and a lovely private patio for sun bathing and relaxing. The rooms are spacious and have lovely touches which I will not describe as they are great to discover for yourself. 

Our latest stay at The Last Word was again a truly delightful experience. Conrad and Franklin are perfect hosts who make you feel very special in this small, truly boutique, hotel. If you like personal, intimate places to stay then I highly recommend the 'The Last Word' as you know that everything is special with outstanding service. If you like big corporate hotels this is not the place for you. 

We will be back. 

Room Tip: Every room is special but a pool room has additional privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#4 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing