We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit just as good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was another great visit. It is such a pretty hotel with excellent discreet staff,where nothing is too much trouble. Franklin is a pleasant efficient host, and will recommend and book restaurants etc. Franschhoek now has a a wine'train/tram' experience which was very entertaining. Looking forward to the next time!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbaileyBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Last Word. The staff were excellent and accommodating. Conrad and Franklin were the primary staff contacts who assisted in ensuring a great stay. The bar is primarily self serve and was a great meeting spot to chat with traveling companions and other guests. The space reminded me of a very comfortable home. The hotel is located on the Main Street of town and is well placed for daytime and evening walks to shops, pubs and restaurants.

The Eggs Benedict was really well done, make sure you make it to breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The B&B lived up to our expectation.Franklin the Asst Manager was very helpful during our stay.(his approach was not overwhelming,but always efficient).The cooked breakfast was good but the selection of fruit for the starter was the poorest on our trip.Lots of free drinks (which we didn't partake of)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just arriving at The Last Word, my boyfriend and I were treated with the utmost care and shown around as though it completely belonged to us. The welcome is warm and makes you extremely comfortable. The cosiness of the entire place is beyond me... just from the reception room I didnt feel like ever leaving.
The pool area is quaint and small but never really crowded.
The breakfast are is as the pool area but the great thing is you can order breakfast to your room to eat on your outside patio. *(perfect for summer)
On arriving to our room I was blown away by the inviting atmosphere and warm tones. A beautiful king sized bed, a semi walk in closet, a lovely bathroom and cosy lounge area.
For a truly relaxing and special stay, this is the place. Just outside the gate you are walking distance to pretty much everything central franschhoek has to offer.
Just splendid!!!!!! photos to follow

Room Tip: There is a room (which we got) that has a garden patio. spacious and delightful , as well as a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamilah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Having had 2 fantastic stays at The Last Word properties in Constantia and Kommetjie two years ago, we had absolutely no hesitation in booking at the Franschhoek property on this holiday. What a mistake. The most expensive place at which we stayed provided the worst experience and the least value for money. We had exchanged emails with Reservations prior to our arrival but it was obvious that none of this had been passed onto Conrad, who had no idea that we had stayed at their other properties. We had booked a garden view room, but were shown to a room leading directly onto the very compact pool deck. We questioned this and were told there were no garden rooms, despite us showing the reservation confirmation. We were then shown another room...with small patio and small garden - just what we had booked!!! Our room was a nice size, but a little dark and the decor and finish was tired. The bathroom walls had cracked paint on them due to water leaks, and mould marks on wall by the shower, the toilet press flush was down to the plastic, with the silver cover missing. The patio furniture was cheap and uncomfortable (the same furniture as was used on the roof terrace, which could have been made into a fantastic little area for a sundowner) The toiletries were mediocre....surely a brand such as Charlotte Rhys could have been used, or even some of the beautifully presented and fragranced artisan products we have found at other hotels? The property is in a poor location, and our room backed onto a scrapyard, and each morning we were woken to the sounds off lorries revving up and the smell of diesel wafting across our little patio. A very cramped pool area, luckily most of the time we were the only people sunbathing, otherwise it would have been a very cosy experience. The all inclusive experience was worlds away from that experienced at the other two places - we found 1 bottle of warm white wine, one style of wine only and 1 bottle of red wine. No rose wine at all (although Conrad did go and get some the next day which he asked us to keep in our room so that other guests would not see it!!) No sparkling wine at all. 3 Year Old KWV brandy......we went to a pub in town and asked for this and they laughed at us! And one brand only of most premium spirits. The Internet was not working or extremely slow for most of our stay and nothing appeared to be happening to get it repaired. We have business interests in the UK so Internet access is important to us, so we found ourselves going to cafes several times a day to check and send emails....at extra cost to ourselves obviously. The television package appeared to be the most basic and cheapest one that could be bought, with few channels on, and we were very surprised that there was not an iPod docking station in the room as most hotels and b and bs have them as standard now. All in all this is not what we class as an exclusive experience, and neither did it compare in any way to the fantastic experiences we had at the other two properties in Constantia and Kommetjie. We felt so strongly about the place that we tried to find alternative accommodation, but sadly for us we had picked Valentines weekend to stay and everywhere was fully booked, otherwise we would have checked straight out. There were some lovely touches such as candles in the room on the last night, and desserts left at the turndown service, but this does not make up for the above issues. The staff were also friendly and helpful. We did express our disappointment to Head Office, but they were not interested in our issues, and told us that in two years they had had no complaints and 99% of customers thought the brand offered good value. All in all it was a huge disappointment and we will not be returning to, or recommending, The Last Word.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at The Last Word mid Feb this year and what an experience.
This place is in a class of its own. I could not fault our stay, the only downside....I wished we could have stayed longer.

We were greeted by Conrad who went above and beyond to assist us with our first stay in Franschhoek.

We were also lucky enough to also meet Franklin who also never hesitated in making sure we were able to dine at delicious restaurants, packing amazing breakfasts for our early morning departure and just the never ending friendly face.

The rooms are spacious, clean and have everything you could need. We also received a candle-lit room on our last night with champagne on ice - so special for our honeymoon.

The hotel is situated in the main street, but off the road to avoid any noise. I couldn't rate this hotel any higher. We will definitely be back!

Thank you The Last Word!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_qoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was our third stay at The Last Word and is without doubt a haven of luxury in the centre of Franschhoek. Franklin and Conrad are the perfect hosts with nothing being too much trouble and always making you feel welcome.
Breakfast was superb served by the wonderful kitchen staff. Little extra touches always surprised us like champagne in our room on my birthday and dozens of candles on our last night. A truly wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
716 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £242 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing