We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I don't give five stars lightly. This place really is the last word in fine service and style. Franklin and Conrad looked after us perfectly, assisted by a great team. Just six delightful bedrooms this is a perfect, tranquil spot in a wonderfully tranquil place. Service was the best. They anticipated our every need and recommended excellent restaurants. The complimentary bar was well stocked, as was the complementary mini bar in the room. Breakfast was one of the best ever. The mushrooms on toast were amazing! This was recommended by Cape Tours. Another excellent choice. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for The Last Word Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

341 - 347 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I had a little romantic getaway to the winelands and chose to stay at The Last Word as it is so central, quite luxurious and intimate. It was perfect for us as we wanted to be independent and had planned most of our wineland stops ahead of our stay. So we could come and go as needed and the hotel facilities are top notch and very user friendly including lovely small honor bar with Cape wines. The service was impeccable including a ridiculously romantic turndown with amazing mini desserts, candles and champagne. I must commend their general manager as we heard him giving fantastic and detailed advice to guests about where to go and what to do as well as booking it all for them. He is an amazing resource if you need him but is low key if you do not. He is an amazing people person. I would definitely stay at the Last Word again as a couple - we could walk to restaurants at night which is always a treat. The bedroom was huge with a private pool and large bathroom with his and her bathtub pillows! Who knew?

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyRuth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Two nights in wet and windy Frankshoek was uplifted by a stay at this lovely hotel. The staff were attentive but not intrusive, breakfast was anything you might have wanted and the room (particularly the underfloor heating, given the weather) perfect. The attention to detail and level of service were outstanding. As someone who spends a large part of the year staying in business hotels, I can be fussy, but I was seriously impressed.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights at The Last Word and were absolutely blown away by the friendliness, professionalism and personal service of the staff. The last night my husband wasn't feeling to well so we decided to stay in and watch DVD's - to our amazement Conrad arrived with some popcorn and biltong to nibble on before we ordered a pizza! Thank you Conrad and staff for everything!!! Will definitely be back!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

A little gem of a B and B just a few yards from the Main Street of Franschhoek. The rooms are very good , each with a private outside seating area. There is a spacious breakfast room and lounge for guests, together with a good swimming pool, outside seating area and a decking balcony on the roof of the hotel, ideal for watching the sun set over the mountains surrounding the town.
The breakfasts are good and there is an extensive complimentary bar open all the time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They gave us excellent advice on which of the town's many restaurants to visit for dinner and were happy to make the reservations for us. We tried 'The French Connection', 'Le Bon Vivant' and 'The Grill Room' - all served excellent food and were very good value.

If time allows, take a tour of some of the local vineyards. The tour uses a charming if ancient bus and tram and operates as a hop on hop off service visiting about six vineyards as well as a very interesting Huguenot museum. Our favourite vineyards were the Rickerty Bridge and the Dieu Donne, with its lovely views. Both had wine tasting included in the price of the tour. The tour leaves from just a few yards from the front gate of The Last Word. We also visited the extraordinary and emaculate Motor Museum. This has to be seen to be believed. We would certainly stay at the Last Word again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sgbiehmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Having just stayed at the Last Word in Constantia we were looking forward to visiting another hotel in the group.

It has a lovely feel, and also great service. Conrad provided good resturant recommendations, and also is obviously extremely knowledgeable about the area.
The hotel is a fantastic location, easy walking distance to the town and resturants.
Unfortunately we didn't have the best weather on our stay, however, there were a large selection of DVD's to choose from + board games to keep you occupied if you've had enough wine.

Being super pickey the level of detail wasn't quite as good as Constatia...little things, breakfast wasn't quite as good, the fresh milk that is provided in the room for teas & coffee's (which, don't get me wrong is a fantastic detail) had already been opened by the previous guests so hadn't been checked before we arrived.

Our room was a tad dark, however in fairness this might be because we didn't have the best weather on our visit and sadly can't remember what number room it was!
So, as I say, just being super pickey!

Overall we had a fantastic stay, and lovely intimate feel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anglo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

One reason we had a less than completely positive opinion of this place was, perhaps, because we were the only guests for 2 of our 3 night stay. We also thought our bathroom was tired, the walk in shower in particular needed some reparations, and I would have preferred a bathroom door rather than it being open plan on the bedroom. (Don't worry, there was a toilet door!)

We had chosen The Last Word because it was presented as being literally the last word in accommodation, but on our trip of South Africa we had rooms larger and more luxurious than here. We also found the service uneasy. When Conrad was around, there was someone to intervene, but on several occasions we had to bang on, or shout through, the door to the kitchen to get any attention at breakfast, and then to get refills of coffee etc.

Having said that, it is wonderfully located in walking distance of all restaurants in Franschhoek, and the complimentary beverages were very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 476David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £149 - £479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing