We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put Franschhoek on your bucket list.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Put Franschhoek on your bucket list.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights at The Last Word & from the moment you arrive you know you have selected the perfect location in every way. Conrad the GM makes everything so easy from check-in to dinner reservations to site seeing suggestions. Centrally located & walking distance from good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyF240741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    51
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
372
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Only had the pleasure of staying here for two nights, but was probably the best hotel we stayed in during our 2 week trip to South Africa. The service was outstanding, from the moment we arrived. We arrived late in the afternoon and Franklin had gone out of his way to book us a table for dinner at a great restaurant just to make sure we didn't miss out. Also the little touches like amazing deserts waiting for you on your bed rather than just a chocolate. Great wine included in your stay, amazing rooms that are really stylish and comfortable... we were really sad to leave in the end!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akshay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you dont like stylish, quiet, comfortable environments, then do not stay! ! Conrad and Franklin
(Mostle dealt with Conrad) were fantastic, nothing
was too much trouble. Very conformable stay and will most certainly be back.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuthberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly recommend it. Franshhoek is full of places that rely on outdated, stuffy reputations and attract similar clientele. This place is so understated - the service is so sleek and little touches like finding a bathrobe and mini dessert on your bed when you come in are lovely. Great varied breakfast - lots of healthy options and Franklin is a wealth of information about the area. Lovely little pool area, comfy and spacious rooms. Highly recommend it.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank E_Whyte_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a superb small hotel with a perfect location to be able to walk through Franschhoek.
The team, led by Franklin are one of the best you'll find. Courteous, delightful and charming with a commitment to ensure that every aspect of your stay is memorable. Great breakfasts, served with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. Franklin is a top quality front man with a great knowledge of the town and surrounding area and made our stay so enjoyable.
Great bar in the lounge with a good selection of wines and spirits and recently renovated making the the whole place feel fresh and light.
Will return without doubt. No need to consider anywhere else !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely big room. Amazing service going above and beyond at every step. Great brekkie, buffet and cooked. Spot on location so you can walk the town centre. Cannot recommend enough.

They even put little candles and chocolates in our room at night!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trebmallien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel to learn that it had suffered flooding and was under renovation.... Not to worry, it just meant the rooms were brand new and the hotel is furnished with new luxury.

Franklin and Conrad both greeted us on arrival and couldn't do enough during our stay. Want to eat out? They will arrange it. Want breakfast on your private patio? They will deliver it.

Complementary drinks (wine / beer included) are in your minibar and the reception area but going out for wine tasting (hotel recommended great tasting venues) is a must.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely stop here again,

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#5 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing