We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done The Franschhoek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2008

Arrived at The Franschhoek at 9.15am after driving up from Capetown. We asked Conrad the Manager if it was possible to leave our bags as we had a wine tour booked through Rochelle tours and he was brilliant . He arranged to have our bags collected from our car and offered us some breakfast, even though our check in time was later in the afternoon. Conrad even reserved us a table at a resturant.

The house was very clean and room was what you would expect from The Franschhoek.. Spent a lovely hour with sundowners and nibbles at the pool.

If you are looking for something just that little bit special without the pomp of larger hotels then The Franschhoek will suit you well. We stayed at six 4/5star hotels in SA during a 2 week period and the Franschhoek without a doubt is one to remember and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Durhamlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

483 - 489 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2008

Having been here last year I was really looking forward to another first rate stay, how wrong could I be. We arrived at about 11 am which is not normally a problem but I did not bank on the fact that Conrad the Manager was off for the weekend. We were sent off down town which was not a problem for us but on returning at 2.30 pm our room was still not available. We were then shown to a room which still had numerous members of staff in it cleaning and I then pointed out that the luggage in the room was not mine. That was because it was not our room. We were then shown to our room to find our luggage going out the door to the other room. After the room fiasco was settled things really started to go downhill. Rooms were not being made up until 2 or 3 pm in the afternoon and it was hard to locate any member of staff if you required something. No newspapers were provided, no afternoon tea and no nibbles with drinks unless requested all of which are provided by the last word group. The toilet in the main area of the house needed checking and there were dead flowers in the house all weekend. The pool funiture was dirty and of poor quality and needed attention. Breakfast was of poor quality considering the others that I had at other last word properties, coffee in thermos jugs!! just pure laziness. I am sure that with the return of Conrad things will improve but what a disappointment as a returning guest.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug196326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLastWordRetreats, Management at The Last Word Franschhoek, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2008

The issues at hand boil down to one of management and the fact that Conrad, our manager at Franschhoek, was on leave when travelbug196326 returned for their second stay. Their praise for Conrad is wonderful and obviously with him not being around this added to their disappointment.

During their stay our trainee manager, Peter, was on duty. He is part of an upliftment and developmental program that we are involved in with the EISS (Educational Institute for Service Studies). The program includes previously disadvantaged individuals for mentoring and development in the hospitality industry, a noble cause much needed in our country.

We humbly apologize for the perceived lack of professionalism on the part of our management. The matters have been attended to in a positive manner and Peter has become quite an asset to The Franschhoek of late.

We apologize that our learning experience came at the expense of travelbug196326.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Stayed here for 1 night, wish it could have been more. Arrived at 16:00 after traveling down from the Karoo National Park so it was a long day, It was a great feeling to be met by Conrad with our names and shown straight to our room which was wonderful.

Nothing was too much trouble and some lovely restaurants were recommended. We ate at Reubans, which was very nice.

The room we stayed in was one of the best I have stayed in. Everything just felt good.

Next morning the staff looked after us and the breakfast was huge. I would recommend the Franschhoek to all my friends and family. We will be returning in January and I am looking forward to it all ready.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Graeme03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

We would just like to reiterate the other reviews on TA. This is a fabulous boutique hotel in a beautiful town. The rooms were fantastic. The staff were exceptionally friendly especially Conrad whose knowledge of the area was a great help. He also recommended and booked 2 very nice restaurants for us in Cape Town. This truly is a gem and we haven't even mentioned the complimentary bar and mini bar!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JinskyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Lovely quiet boutique hotel.

The rooms are large and top notch. The service is impeccable, friendly and so helpful. The breakfasts are magnificent. We had our own private garden room.

Watching the sunset with a sundowner on the roof terrace was magical.

This is a wonderful base to explore Franschhoek and its surrounding winelands.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CatherineN_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We had the very great pleasure of staying at this small boutique hotel for 3 days in August and we had a fabulous time. We had spent the first few days in Capetown (Camps Bay) which was all good but the tranquility of Franschoek, coupled with the great food and wine locally and the excellent accommodation and service in the hotel made this a most memorable part of our honeymoon.

Conrad is an absolute gem of a "host" or general manager. His relaxed but enthusiastic style is just right for the place and allows his guest to have the most possible enjoyment out of the town and the winelands. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful - you only had to put a foot near the pool and someone rushed out to take a drinks order - all complimentary!

The rooms are beautifully furnished and with every possible amenity and gadget. This is really a case of spoiling and I have not received better in the Savoy in London or the Mandarin in
HK.

So we have no hesitaiton in strongly recommending The Franschoek to future travellers - just take your Alker Seltzer as there is just too much good food and wine on offer.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank penarthguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We were lucky enough to stay at the Franschhoek for 3 nights in July. Our trip coincided with the bastille day celebrations - a bit surreal, but a real hoot watching people stagger about wearing red beaming faces and french berets! The atmosphere was brilliant and very good-natured.

The hotel is small and fantastically situated in the town itself - moments from the many good bars and restaurants. Our room was fabulous. It was really well decorated in an elegant country style, very spacious with one of the comfiest beds I've ever crashed out in, a big bath in the room and an adjoining private conservatory which lead to the pool.

What really stood out was the hospitality of the Franschhoek hotel. Staff were super friendly, but not in a forced or scripted way, and offered very helpful, unbiased information about local wineries and attractions. The concierge/ manager was exceptional and made us feel very welcome and as if nothing would have been too much trouble. We definitely got more out of our stay thanks to his generous input.

Drinks were complimentary, from the very well stocked mini bar in our room and the resident's self-service bar. The bar was a really great idea and nice way to meet other guests.

There was a little building work underway during our stay (I think another pool area is being constructed), but it was out of sight and didn't interfere with a our relaxed and enjoyable visit.

I must confess that we didn't arrive with high expectations of the wine lands, although we thought it would be pleasant enough for a few days on our month-long trip. However, we were blown away by the beauty of the scenery, diversity of vineyards (from traditional and gorgeous Boschendal, to the modern sophistication and no-expense spared design of Graham Beck) and warm welcome.

I can't recommend the Franschhoek - and this area - highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank july_in_south_africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £243 - £573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing