We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We have just returned from a three week trip to South Africa. This guest house is the top of our list in the places we stayed. Conrad and his staff do a wonderful job and his knowledge is excellent. He books restaurants for you in advance if you haven't booked them yourself. He arranged a superb wine tasting day for us around various boutique vineyards which we thoroughly enjoyed. On our return someone was always there with drinks and nibbles for us around the pool. The breakfasts were delicious. Our room was delightful and we were sorry to leave. This guest house is part of a group of guest houses called "the last word". If we ever return to this part of the world we will ceretainly choose to stay with this group. Thank you Conrad.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

My husband and I stayed in The Franschhoek early this month and had an absolutely fabulous stay. Conrad and the team couldn't do enough for us, and our room was beautiful. We are fairly high end travellers with very high expectations - all of which were met and exceeded here. A & K

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights and found the place fabulous. I have to admit that I am normally a big name/5* place adict but having booked this (honestly without realising it was a small guest house) I am a complete convert. Conrad, the manager cannot do enough for you and Franklin who's role is not clear is also wonderful! The room was stunning (although for 2 friends probably not perfect bathroom wise if you want privacy....) - great size, great facilities and absolutely perfectly prepared. The pool is small but beautiful (I think one room here might have it's own pool which I suspect is lovely). The feel of the place is really like a guest house and you very quickly feel at home. Location wise it couldn't be better for the center of franschoek and the great vineyards and restaurants. One of the best places I've stayed in terms of quality of rooms, service and location - if you have the chance to stay here you should....Conrad and his team run a really special place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

The place is absolutely fantastic, we booked a superior room with private swimming pool, it was just perfect, very relaxing, very exclusive. The manager Conrad and his team are the cherry on top of the cake; they were very helpful, everything was looked after and the details were just perfect. Thank you so much, we loved it. I have to say Conrad is brilliant and I have never received such level of service in any 5 stars hotel around the world that I have stayed in. The village is very cute and all the wineries are very enjoyable, beautiful food and restaurants, I would recommend to anyone to stay in Franschhoek at The Franschhoek; it's just an experience that everyone should have to reconcile yourselves with all the bad service you might have had before. Merci!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouros2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

An excellent stay from start to finish. Conrad is an excellent host and the hotel is divine. The rooms are spacious and very tastefully decorated. The hotel has a beautiful little pool whichis a great place to chill out after a days winetasting. The breakfast is very good and the staff charming. Perfect location. Excellent value. THE place to stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DublinSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

This is a small hotel (just 6 rooms) in a great location with all of Franschhoek and it's many shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Like many others who have submitted a review the thing that made our stay here was the manager Conrad. He made you feel very welcome and always took the time to give you excellent recommendations about where to visit. Nothing was too much trouble for him or the staff.

The room we had (the honeymoon suite) was huge and opened out onto the pool. It was just a shame there was no outdoor private seating area.

The only thing which lets this place down is the communal areas which I think could be improved and made more stylish - especially the roof terrace which could be really cool.

However for the location and for all Conrads advice I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

this is a small hotel- 6 rooms only. we stayed in a standard room which was enormous by normal standards (large room, private patio garden and spacious bathroom), and way bigger than the suite we had the year before at the quartier francais. Conrad the manager is on hand to make sure every part of your stay runs smoothly- without being simpering and intrusive. Basically, if you're choosing between here and the quartier- go with the Franschhoek. The only downside was that the pool is quite small- but then you're unlikely to be here for the pool...

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £209 - £548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing