We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent guest house in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 while exploring the winelands area.

Good quality and well run boutique property. Not sure whether to describe it as a hotel or a guest house. It is just a big house that all the guests share – but the owners don’t live there, so it doesn’t have that “guest in someone’s home” feeling (that we find a bit awkward). However, it doesn’t have a restaurant / room service etc which is why it’s not really a hotel in my eyes.

Good room with its own private patio and pool (not much use in June though). Nicely decorated and furnished, but is looking a little tired in areas. It’s a very old building though, so most of this can be written off as “adding character”.

Excellent location for exploring the winelands and within walking distance of lots of good shops and restaurants. Extremely helpful staff for suggesting local wineries and recommending restaurants.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    50
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
366
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

We went on honeymoon and were amazed at the outstanding service that we received from Franklin and Conrad! Our luggage was lost at the airport and Franklin rushed out late at night to purchase us some bathroom essentials at no extra charge and both team members made calls to the airline on our behalf whilst we continued to enjoy our honeymoon.

As well as being a hotel in a fantastic location and with beautiful decor, there were many personal touches included in our stay; rose petals on the bed, complimentary bubbly, a welcoming note and tea lights in the evening, as well as assistance with planning our excursions and making some fantastic dinner reservations.

We were totally delighted with our stay and would highly recommend a stay at this hidden gem in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

Just spent a superb two nights at this Hotel. Conrad, the manager and Franklyn the under manager were both so helpful and obliging and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
.
Our suite was very well appointed, with lovely bed lineen and toiletries and all drinks were included - on our last eveing it was a special treat to return to our bedroom, to be greeted with around 40 candles and a lovely bottle of 'bubbly'.

The Franschoekk, together with its sister hotel, the Constantia in Constantia in Capetwon really are the "last Word and "hidden Gems" for luxurious hospitality!! Just a wonderful experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthportLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

This hotel is as other reviewers have said a hidden gem. Our room was spacious and had an outdoor courtyard. Conrad and the other staff did everything they could to make our stay go without a hitch. This included some good tips for visiting the vineyards and where to eat. We were surprised- though delighted- to arrive back to our room after evenings out to be met by rose petals on the bed, candles and 2 little pots of creme brulee to eat!! On the final night a bottle of bubbly along with all the other treats topped off what was unquestionably near perfect service with attention to detail.
One further point, I managed to leave something in the room which I only spotted 48 hours later- on arrival back in the UK- one phone call to Conrad it was quickly located and it was couriered back to me- very impressed!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2009

We just returned from two weeks in South Africa and one of the highlights was our three night stay at The Franshhoek, which is one of five boutique hotels owned by The Last Word. Everything about those few days was first class - from luxurious accommodations to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

We were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Our room and all common areas were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We stayed in Pool Suite 2 which is the largest of the two pool suites. Interesting concept of private pool. There is actually one pool for both suites. It's 6'-7' wide and runs the length on both suites. Of course, there is a wall between the private courtyards but one could still swim from one area to the other. Interesting possibilities. Other than the size, another bonus to Pool Suite 2 is that water trickles from a fountain into the pool. Very soothing. If you want a pool suite definitely get #2.

Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff did all they could to make our time with them enjoyable but did so without being "over-the-top". Example. One afternoon we took a long, rather arduous hike and got home about cocktail hour. After inquiring about our hike and being informed we were going to sit by the pool, Conrad immediately offered to bring us a tray of snacks and bottle of wine. Both arrived within minutes. There were numerous other nice touches too. Rose pedals on the bed greeted us when we arrived. And after dinner our last night, we opened the door and were welcomed by the soft glow of 20 or so candles and a bottle of bubbles. We were not on our honeymoon but sure felt that way. First class indeed.

Could Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff have done anything to make our stay more relaxing and enjoyable? No. Our only suggestion is that The Last Word make robes and shirts available for sale. We loved the logo on the bathrobes "The Last Word....have it." Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortunesmiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2009

Small hotel with massive charm with a nothing is too much mentality.

As a couple we travel extensively with work and for breaks, probably on average away every other week over the last 5 years, and have not stayed somewhere with the service levels and attention to detail of The Franschhoek.

We had an early flight and were met by Franklin - he informed us that the room was not ready (it was 9am) and would we like to stop off for a coffee and see Stellenbosch - a great idea which we took up and then decided to have a fabulous breakfast.

On arriving at the hotel we were met by a friendly Conrad, who showed us round the property and explained everything about the hotel, town and what we should see/do. We hadn't made any advance bookings so he sorted everything out for us - nothing was too much trouble. His recommendations were spot on!

The hotel only has 8 rooms to maintains a home from home feel, which the staff do everything to maintain - food/drink when you want it, no when they want to make it. The policy of unlimited drinks throughout the day is a great touch and shows that its the customer that matters not the profit margin.

I would have to say the room was excellent, loved the layout and was very impressed with the sprinkling of rose petals on the bed when we arrived and when we left the ladies had gone to town making the room as romantic as they could (took me ages to put out the 30 or so candles). We mentioned to Conrad that we had stayed in a hotel with a pre-loaded ipod and when we next went in the room he had prepared a cool CD with music that was playing.

The hotel has a great location in the town and is idea to explore the surrounding areas.

All in all this is a great place, with great staff, who are always on hand to attend to your needs, superbly led by Conrad. We will definately be revisiting.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaGitanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We have just returned from a three week trip to South Africa. This guest house is the top of our list in the places we stayed. Conrad and his staff do a wonderful job and his knowledge is excellent. He books restaurants for you in advance if you haven't booked them yourself. He arranged a superb wine tasting day for us around various boutique vineyards which we thoroughly enjoyed. On our return someone was always there with drinks and nibbles for us around the pool. The breakfasts were delicious. Our room was delightful and we were sorry to leave. This guest house is part of a group of guest houses called "the last word". If we ever return to this part of the world we will ceretainly choose to stay with this group. Thank you Conrad.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Property: The Last Word Franschhoek
Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing