We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Franschhoek
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Our stay couldn't have been better thanks to the wonderful service provided by Conrad & his team.Conrad - the manager at The Franschhoek is a wonderful person.I was on my honeymoon & it was the most personalized service we received in our entire trip to South Africa.The drinks in the mini bar and also in the hotel lounge are complimentary throughout the day.The hotel couldnt be located in a better locality,it is right in the heart of the city with all the restaraunts in a 5-10mins walking radius,also all the wineyards are in a 30 mins driving radius.

On our last night we were pleasantly surprised when we entered our room to find it decorated with around 15-20 candles burning everywhere (including the bathroom) and lovely rose petals scattered everywhere! Conrad also complimented this with a bottle of wine as a very special gesture.

One of the nights we weren't too hungry to go out & eat a full meal,we thought of just watching a movie in our room,Conrad went out of his way to even make us a large bowl of popcorn !

All in all I would highly recommend The Franschhoek to anybody who visits Franschhoek,as long as Conrad is around it will be the best service you can ever get !
Thank you Conrad for making our stay so very special !

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jainnamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for The Last Word Franschhoek
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

The start of our South Africa trip was two nights at the Franshhoek. The warm and genuine welcome displayed by Conrad and his team gave us a perfect start to our holiday. The room was spacious well appointed and comfortable with a sun room and private pool (though shame it was too cold to use) The public areas are cosy and welcoming, the food just right and the little helpful extras make the stay memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMadmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon in June 2009 while exploring the winelands area.

Good quality and well run boutique property. Not sure whether to describe it as a hotel or a guest house. It is just a big house that all the guests share – but the owners don’t live there, so it doesn’t have that “guest in someone’s home” feeling (that we find a bit awkward). However, it doesn’t have a restaurant / room service etc which is why it’s not really a hotel in my eyes.

Good room with its own private patio and pool (not much use in June though). Nicely decorated and furnished, but is looking a little tired in areas. It’s a very old building though, so most of this can be written off as “adding character”.

Excellent location for exploring the winelands and within walking distance of lots of good shops and restaurants. Extremely helpful staff for suggesting local wineries and recommending restaurants.

Lots of pictures with this review, so please take a look!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We went on honeymoon and were amazed at the outstanding service that we received from Franklin and Conrad! Our luggage was lost at the airport and Franklin rushed out late at night to purchase us some bathroom essentials at no extra charge and both team members made calls to the airline on our behalf whilst we continued to enjoy our honeymoon.

As well as being a hotel in a fantastic location and with beautiful decor, there were many personal touches included in our stay; rose petals on the bed, complimentary bubbly, a welcoming note and tea lights in the evening, as well as assistance with planning our excursions and making some fantastic dinner reservations.

We were totally delighted with our stay and would highly recommend a stay at this hidden gem in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Just spent a superb two nights at this Hotel. Conrad, the manager and Franklyn the under manager were both so helpful and obliging and went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
.
Our suite was very well appointed, with lovely bed lineen and toiletries and all drinks were included - on our last eveing it was a special treat to return to our bedroom, to be greeted with around 40 candles and a lovely bottle of 'bubbly'.

The Franschoekk, together with its sister hotel, the Constantia in Constantia in Capetwon really are the "last Word and "hidden Gems" for luxurious hospitality!! Just a wonderful experience from start to finish!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthportLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

This hotel is as other reviewers have said a hidden gem. Our room was spacious and had an outdoor courtyard. Conrad and the other staff did everything they could to make our stay go without a hitch. This included some good tips for visiting the vineyards and where to eat. We were surprised- though delighted- to arrive back to our room after evenings out to be met by rose petals on the bed, candles and 2 little pots of creme brulee to eat!! On the final night a bottle of bubbly along with all the other treats topped off what was unquestionably near perfect service with attention to detail.
One further point, I managed to leave something in the room which I only spotted 48 hours later- on arrival back in the UK- one phone call to Conrad it was quickly located and it was couriered back to me- very impressed!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-Scanlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

We just returned from two weeks in South Africa and one of the highlights was our three night stay at The Franshhoek, which is one of five boutique hotels owned by The Last Word. Everything about those few days was first class - from luxurious accommodations to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

We were extremely pleased with the accommodations. Our room and all common areas were tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We stayed in Pool Suite 2 which is the largest of the two pool suites. Interesting concept of private pool. There is actually one pool for both suites. It's 6'-7' wide and runs the length on both suites. Of course, there is a wall between the private courtyards but one could still swim from one area to the other. Interesting possibilities. Other than the size, another bonus to Pool Suite 2 is that water trickles from a fountain into the pool. Very soothing. If you want a pool suite definitely get #2.

Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff did all they could to make our time with them enjoyable but did so without being "over-the-top". Example. One afternoon we took a long, rather arduous hike and got home about cocktail hour. After inquiring about our hike and being informed we were going to sit by the pool, Conrad immediately offered to bring us a tray of snacks and bottle of wine. Both arrived within minutes. There were numerous other nice touches too. Rose pedals on the bed greeted us when we arrived. And after dinner our last night, we opened the door and were welcomed by the soft glow of 20 or so candles and a bottle of bubbles. We were not on our honeymoon but sure felt that way. First class indeed.

Could Conrad, Franklin and the rest of the staff have done anything to make our stay more relaxing and enjoyable? No. Our only suggestion is that The Last Word make robes and shirts available for sale. We loved the logo on the bathrobes "The Last Word....have it." Perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortunesmiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.4 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Quartier Francais
Le Quartier Francais
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Franschhoek

Address: 68 Hugenote Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Franschhoek
#3 Luxury Hotel in Franschhoek
#6 Family Hotel in Franschhoek
Price Range: £210 - £527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Franschhoek 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Word Franschhoek is an exclusive five star historic residence in the heart of Franschhoek village, the gourmet capital of South Africa. It’s only a minute’s walk from the many excellent award-winning restaurants and numerous character-filled boutique style shops and galleries. Beautifully restored in the Cape Huguenot tradition, this 5 star boutique hotel has been designed with sumptuous home comforts creating an elegant, sophisticated interior with a handsome mixture of classic and contemporary furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Last Word Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Word Franschhoek Hotel Franschhoek
The Hotel Franschhoek
Franschhoek The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing