We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chambres Guest House
Ranked #27 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2012

This boutique B@B was booked for us by our UK based travel consultant,we are touring South Africa started in Cape town and ending by a game park.The visit to Franschoek met with all our expectations and this B@B had all the facilities needed IE lovely main building ,well appointed gardens and pool area great breakfast cooked by the owner .The location makes it easy to safely walk around town and have great meals.The only remark I would make,was that our room could do with some refreshment as far as the stained carpet and arm chairs are concerned.All other facilties and services are excellent

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Godwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Dear Godwin

We have used the heavy-duty cleaner to remove the scuff marks (not stains) from the carpet, which has come up beautifully, so thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012

We recently spent two nights at Les Chambres on a weekend break in Franschoek and can recommend it very highly. Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated, clean, and the bed extremely comfortable. The room was also private and quiet, with its own small terrace and we liked the fact that it was not part of the main house, so it was more like a mini boutique hotel. The main house is an old Cape Dutch style house, well maintained, and again, tastefully and sympathetically decorated. It is set in the most lovely garden filled with flowers and fruit trees and has off-road parking. Bill, the owner, was friendly, helpful with recommendations, and service was prompt and efficient. Breakfast is served either in the dining room or on a pretty terrace outside. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was a winner! Location-wise Les Chambres is perfectly situated in the town, on a pleasant road just off the high street, so that you can easily walk (and stumble home) from the fabulous restaurants/shops/galleries in the little town. All the other main attractions of the area (mainly wine estates) only a 10-15 minute drive away. Overall a lovely place to stay for a very fair price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I have just had 2 nights here and absolutely loved it. Bill was so helpful and friendly and the bed and breakfast itself was so comfortable, pretty and perfectly located. Breakfast was superb in pretty gardens. Have never done a review before, but this was necessary. Quality!

Room Tip: All rooms are simalar, very very clean, comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceinwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed three nights at Les Chambres Guesthouse and I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are of a good size, clean, with tea and coffee making facilities and a really nice bathroom. Breakfast was very good - continental style and cooked breakfast.
Weather was not very good (rainy and cold) so I even used the heater in the room plus there was a really nice fire in the main lounge. The lounge has a TV and wireless internet access - both not available in the room. Beautiful garden and swimming pool but unfortunately the weather did not do either justice.
I didn't hire a car as I wanted to do some wine tasting but I would recommend hiring one even if just to get to Franschhoek. Bill did recommend a good tour company for the wine tasting tour and it was excellent - you need to book this in advance as they need minimum numbers and therefore do the tours on demand. However, by not having a car I really explored Franschhoek itself and it's a lovely small town with some wine estates within about a 20 minute walk from the guest house. The guest house is extremely well situated only minutes from the main street.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only four rooms at the guest house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

What a joy and pleasure to stay at this great guest house ,even if it was such a short visit. Bill made us feel so welcome ,the rooms are clean neat and tastefully decorated. The bathrooms are beautiful and the atmosfhere great. .We will most certainly return
Riaan&Liz Roux Umhlanga Rocks Natal

Room Tip: Room wirh fire place so romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We recently spent a night at Les Chambres Guest House. We live in the Western Cape, so didn't spend a lot of time meandering through town, but rather just relaxed in the lounge at Les Chambres - we each had a great novel, and Bill kept the lounge fire crackling. It was warm and cozy. Two beautiful cats kept us company - sleeping on the lounge floor by the fire, without demanding attention of needing to be entertained.

I had booked room 2, with a fireplace, which was wonderful! When we got back from dinner in town, we built a fire in the room, and kept that going til we fell asleep. The rooms (and bathrooms) also have underfloor heating (be sure to turn that on right away when arriving, and by bedtime the cool edge will be gone). Wall AC/heater units are also available.

Breakfast was terrific. Bill offers both a cold buffet and hot, cooked eggs/toast.

A great place - would definitely recommend to friends and family alike.

Room Tip: In the winter, ask for the fireplace room if it's available (Room 2).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

SO COZY and great value! The hotel itself is in a charming old building with a lovely garden and pool area. The main house has porches with lots of comfy seating for your morning coffee or nightcap. There is a fireplace inside in the lounge. The rooms have everything you'd expect and need, and the decor is charming. The ownder puts out a really nice breakfast spread and offers made to order cooked items as well. He's very easy going and is more than happy to make suggestions on what to see and do and where to eat. Though, contact him in advance of your trip. Dinner reservations are strongly reccommended. It is situated only a fe wminutes walk to Heugenot Street (main strip) with all the restaurants and shopping.

The details: The bathrooms have stand up showers and tubs with hair dryers and all the toilettries you may need. There are heated floors in the bathroom and sleeping area (!!), as well as an air conditioning/heating unit. The room is spacious with lots of storage and the beds are comfy. Only drawbacks are the rooms have no TV and they have a slight ant problem. Mostly found them in the bathroom and in the main house - likely due to the hmidity and the gardens outside. Tiny ants, yes.. but I even found some in the home made granola at the breakfast bar. Also, the shops close up tight right at 5:00 and the restaurants don't go into dinner service until around 7:00 (don't forget your reservation).

There is a good mix of high end art gallery type shops, to souvenier shops - nothing junky here and prices are a bit lower than capetown. Lots of yummy bakeries, coffee and chocolate shops. We had dinner at Taki's Pub on the first night (have the Mousakka) and at Dutch East (Fusion cuisine) on our second night. Great mid-priced options, though there are some more upscale options as well.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are similar. Nice small B&B, very quiet - great place to spend a few nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Molly4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillStemp, Owner at Les Chambres Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but I'm sorry about the ant problem.

At this time of year there are always more ants around as they try to find somewhere dry when it has been raining. Every year it is an ongoing issue and for the most part we manage to keep them away. But having said this, there is no excuse for finding ants on the buffet and I will redouble my efforts to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

Thank you for the review and I hope to see you again in the future.

Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.2 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Petit Paris Guest House
Le Petit Paris Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 64 in Franschhoek
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Fontaine Guest House
La Fontaine Guest House
#23 of 64 in Franschhoek
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 64 in Franschhoek
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres Guest House

Address: 3 Berg Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £125 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming old Victorian house that has been lovingly restored provides the setting and attentive hosts provide the rest. Les Chambres is situated within easy walking distance of the main road and is less than two minutes' walk from the top Cape Winelands restaurants.Spacious and comfortable rooms, together with personal service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Les Chambres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing