We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fanstastic stay”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #10 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My Husband and I spent three wonderful nights here in November. We dove straight from the airport and followed the excellent directions given to us and had no problems finding this delightful guest house. It is very centrally located in the small village of Franschhoek, being just one small block back from the main street.
We were warmly welcomed by Lucienne, Roel and Chris and shown to our lovely room. We had booked the Main House Luxury Room and were very happy with our choice. It was spacious and very comfortable with the most fantastic bathroom and delightful balcony which overlooked the mountains to the front of the property. We also had our own large well-stocked mini-bar just outside our room in our own private sitting area.
Below our room was a lovely public living area and there was another in the newer accommodation block behind the pool.
There are two swimming pools but only the main one has sun loungers and parasols. As others have mentioned, the water is very refreshing. What we particularly liked, however, was that there was plenty of shade and it was very peaceful.
The breakfasts were superb with lots of home-made items and the service excellent.
Everything about this place was 5*, the owners and Manager were always present and very approachable, the rooms superb, the gardens beautiful, the breakfasts both delicious and plentiful, the location within walking distance of so many good restaurants and everywhere was very clean. I would feel happy recommending the Plumwood Inn to the most discerning traveller.
Next time we return to the area we would definitely stay at Plumwood again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heb999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We return to this lovely and beautiful Guesthouse since 2009 annually and we will be back again soon!
Over the years we spread the word to our friends of this gem. Everybody that visited this "home away from home" once will be back as a returning guest!
Thank you Lucienne, Roel and Plumwood Inn staff!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Depending on the budget choose the luxury rooms that are the largest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NixwiewegTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We had a great stay at Plumwood. It's a beautiful place with very friendly, helpful staff. Our room was a good size and the bathroom was awesome. It is slightly off the beaten path (only about a block or two) but it's nice because it feels more secluded.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2trvl924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We've just spent 2 night at Plumwood and it deserves the great reviews on here. Very friendly and helpful, especially on recommending a route to take their hire bikes around the vineyards. Its a great way to see the area and also stops you buying too many bottles on the way!
A great spread at breakfast sets you up nicely for a day of wine tasting!
Thank you to Lucienne and Roel, excellent hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigalz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have just returned from our trip to South Africa and one of the highlights was our three night stay at Plumwood Inn - we were greeted on arrival by the charming and friendly Christopher, who settled us in and pointed us in the right direction for the excellent restaurants (previously recommended by him) which lived up to all expectations, especially the Cafe des Artes and French Connection. The Dutch owners were lovely, always ready to give advice and stop for a chat over the delicious breakfasts - the beds were comfy, the towels fluffy and the decore in keeping with the original Plumwood Inn - all in all a most enjoyable stay - thank you everyone!!

Room Tip: I would think any room would be fine, ours had a few steep steps but that was okay for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TenerifeMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We picked the Plumwood Inn before leaving the states and were hoping it was a nice place.... we were more than pleasantly surprised. The owner and manager welcomed us and showed us around their B and B. It is a small place (we prefer), but all is kept very well. We somehow got the room that was separate from the other rooms and was amazing. We had our own sitting area, balcony and all around beautiful room and bathroom. Rains had come the weekend before so the creek was flowing high which only added to our enjoyment. Perfect location as it is 2 blocks off of the main road so it is quiet. Over the top breakfast with all you could want and more. Super nice couple that owns it.... we didn't want to leave!! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wow, what an amazing little spot this is. The place is owner-run, and the additional attention to the guest provided by the owners really makes the difference to the whole experience. The spot is situated less than a 5 min walk from the main strip of restaurants, shops etc.

We went through in Dec 2013 for our first anniversary, and stayed in a luxury room. The room was beautiful, with very nice finishes (especially the bathroom). There are two pools, one of which has a number of loungers around it. The pool is also very well protected (on the weekend we were there, the wind was pumping and yet it was still pleasant being around the pool). For foreign guests, be aware the pool is not heated.

Breakfast was a great spread, with cooked options as well as all the other trimmings (cold meats, pastries, cereals, stewed fruit, fresh fruit salad).

But the thing that really set this place apart for us were the owners. They live on site, and serve the breakfast. They put themselves at the beck and call of the guests, and are fully prepared to go the extra mile for you. They will recommend local restaurants and wine farms depending on your preference, phone ahead for you to make a booking, organise your transport there and back, the list goes one!

One thing for families to be aware of: The B&B is not particularly kid-friendly (I would imagine children would become bored very quickly, and the small pools wouldnt be exciting for them and likely very annoying for other guests seated right next to the pool). There were no children there when we stayed. For us, as a newly married couple, the fact that there are no children was wonderful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendonV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.6 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#6 of 64 in Franschhoek
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £78 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. Nespresso Machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing