We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed three nights to explore the wine area. An excellent location, very short walk to the high street yet it's location was very peaceful and quiet. Raoul and Lucienne were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were clean and comfortable and all the staff, without exception were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were superb and the perfect way to start the day. Plenty of excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk.
We can't think of a single reason to stay anywhere else in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
421
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights while visiting the wine area. Nice breakfast, great place of retreat and relaxation on a 2 minute walk from Franschhoeks main street. The room on the first floor allowed us to open the doors to the balcony and feel outside while keeping our privacy. Very relaxing! Beautiful and clean bathroom and an amazing view on the colourful garden.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Djunovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Another great stay at Plumwood
Location - Fantastic - just a few minutes walk to the main street
Rooms great - as are the bathrooms - Plenty of towels!
Swimming pool is lovely - as are the gardens
Breakfasts - best fruit salad!
A very relaxing location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 47mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This is to confirm that all the rave reviews still hold true !
This is an outstanding guesthouse. Clean, comfortable
with a nice garden and swimming pool. Add an excellent
breakfast and very friendly hosts, what more do you want!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NilsJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Roel & Lucienne have created a beautiful guest house a stones throw away from the village centre
A secluded haven of peace & tranquility. Breakfast terrific, rooms spotless ,staff excellent.
The hands on approach by the owners particularly at breakfast cater for your every need .
Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedorbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked our 8 night stay over Christmas via the internet hoping for the best. We were charmed on arrival and positively delighted with our choice by the time we left. I can only echo all the great reviews on here. Laid back and relaxing but totally attentive and in such a perfect location. My only advice would be to book early because they seem to have a lot of people returning! We were unable to make a short-notice booking a couple of weeks later and stayed elsewhere in Franschhoek - it wasn't a patch on Plumwood!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new villas on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reviewer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

If luxury rooms, great service and location are your thing, then this is the place for you. Incredibly efficient service and great breakfasts. If I were to be a bit critical, it felt a wee bit too polished for me, but that is a very personal thing and I wouldn't hesitate recommending plumwood and it's excellent staff to others.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank curlybap83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 63 in Franschhoek
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing