We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
504
52
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
52
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar the main street the location is perfect the main house south africa upstairs room private parking owners and staff lovely place cold meats within walking distance three nights lovely pool area high street perfect hosts our night stay comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I chose this guesthouse as I needed to cut back on costs for our holiday, following a few days at a more expensive place in Cape Town. I expected it to be nice but basic, so was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of Plumwood, it's lovely! They have great attention to detail and you will be very comfortable here. Great location just off the high street too. Roel and Lucienne were good fun and very sweet, even giving us some of their delicious homemade fig jam to take away. Couldn't recommend them more

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel. Roel & Lucienne were the perfect hosts, supplying information and help but discreet. The luxury room (8) overlooking the pool had everything and a lovely balcony overlooking the second pool and breakfast room. Great breakfast, so many choices on the buffet, followed by a hot breakfast of your choice. We only stayed two nights, definitely not long enough for this lovely town or Plumwood - hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the 2nd pool, definitely such a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillepping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Third stay in as many years, tried to book in previous years but we discovered it soon gets booked up.. so book early! Nothing original to add to the many positive reviews posted here. The high standards of comfort and care are maintained by the friendly and helpful hosts Roel & Lucienne, together with their staff. Excellent guesthouse and a really convenient location.

Room Tip: Luxury balcony room for beautiful views of the surrounding mountains.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

In common with many of the other guests, we were returnees to Plumwood this year. We came back because we were impressed by the comfort and service and nothing has changed on that front.

The 11 rooms are spread between 2 contemporary villas and the original house. The house rooms are more traditional and the villas feature modern rooms with all the amenities you would expect. Modernity suits us, so we were pleased to be in a villa room this year. We found our suite very comfortable, with a large balcony overlooking the mountains. If you want more traditional, then pick a room in the house, which will be less expensive.

The property is quite extensive, with 2 pools, one of which is quite large, surrounded by comfy loungers, in a pleasant garden. There is a breakfast room/lounge by the pool, with coffee, tea and water available all day and an honesty bar for drinks and snacks. Breakfast is good, with most things you might want on offer and cooked to order hot food. Lucienne and Roel, the owners, are very hands on at breakfast and throughout the morning making sure the guests’ needs are met.

Plumwood has a loyal customer base for good reason. It is a comfortable oasis to return to after a busy day “being a tourist” and it is run by people who care about their guests and their needs. Book early if you want January or February – many visitors book for the next year on departure!

Room Tip: Villa rooms are modern and very comfortable
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Plumwood Inn is a fantastic place to stay in Franschoek.

You will find very welcoming hosts, a beautiful room, lovely pool area and wonderful breakfasts.

We were particularly impressed with all the little added touches to make our stay more special- umbrellas left outside our door as we woke up in the morning when it was a little drizzly, a fully stocked honesty bar and facilities to enjoy all afternoon while enjoying the pool are just a couple of examples.

The owners were very helpful and provided tips for the rest of our stay.

We highly recommended Plumwood Inn for your stay in Franschoek. Thank-you again to the owners for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooooodsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews