We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
503
52
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
52
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barthe main streetthe location is perfectthe main housesouth africaupstairs roomprivate parkingowners and stafflovely placecold meatswithin walking distancethree nightslovely pool areahigh streetperfect hostsour night staycomfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Staying for 3 nights is just about perfect in terms of time in Franschoek.

We'd booked some time ago so were able to bag (in my view) the best room in the house - which was upstairs in the modern and beautifully situated new property. Views were over the well maintained gardens and pool to the mountains beyond. Very peaceful and relaxing.

Breakfast was delightful and enjoyed on the terrace close to the beautiful pool area.

Great to be able to walk to the key restaurants etc within a couple of minutes.

I'd highly recommend Plumwood.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Littlejohn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring Franschoek and the surrounding wine country. Its a great spot with very friendly and helpful owners. Rooms were just fine and very modern and clean with all of the necessary amenities. We would return.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking one of the pools.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USNDALLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very nice stay, rooms spotlessly clean, venue exceptionally well run, close to Main Street in franschhoek, shower really large in standard room. Breakfasts very tasty and lots of coffee to drink. Hosts are exceptionally friendly and always there to provide info. Highly recommended venue, not sorry we booked there.

Room Tip: Standard room upstairs has a nice view of the street and mountains and large shower.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 143Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I chose this guesthouse as I needed to cut back on costs for our holiday, following a few days at a more expensive place in Cape Town. I expected it to be nice but basic, so was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of Plumwood, it's lovely! They have great attention to detail and you will be very comfortable here. Great location just off the high street too. Roel and Lucienne were good fun and very sweet, even giving us some of their delicious homemade fig jam to take away. Couldn't recommend them more

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fantastic boutique hotel. Roel & Lucienne were the perfect hosts, supplying information and help but discreet. The luxury room (8) overlooking the pool had everything and a lovely balcony overlooking the second pool and breakfast room. Great breakfast, so many choices on the buffet, followed by a hot breakfast of your choice. We only stayed two nights, definitely not long enough for this lovely town or Plumwood - hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms overlooking the 2nd pool, definitely such a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillepping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews