We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveller rating
528
54
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
54
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar the main street large balcony the main house south africa upstairs room first floor underfloor heating within walking distance perfect location three nights heated floors perfect hosts guest house high street breakfast room secure parking
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 588 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We staying here for three nights and I have go to say its a fabulous place to stay. We staying in the main house and our room had everything you needed and was very comfortable. Loved the honesty bar filled with lovely goodies. Our bathroom was beautiful and had a wonderful shower.
The property is very well situated and sits away from the high street hustle and bustle of a busy high street. Short walk to the lovely restaurants which are plentiful. Roel and Lucienne could not of been more helpful, with tips on where to eat and what to see. The breakfast are wonderful and with a very extensive range you are spoilt for choice. I can highly recommend this bed and breakfast and you will NOT be disappointed. And may I say that Chris is an absolute gem he is so helpful. Baie Dankie Chris. As are all the staff.

Room tip: We stayed in the main house which is very traditional and I loved it. The new villas are also great and very modern. It does not matter where you stay here it is all great
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights in April. Weather was extremely hot so we made good use of the lovely pool. Air con and wifi worked very well and it's incredibly comfortable and we had a beautiful view from the balcony of our room.
Breakfast was varied and delicious and the owners very helpful. We'd go back.

Date of stay: April 2014
6  Thank baldnavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay, it is really central, we walked in and out of town everyday it was great not too have to drive to and from dinner in the evenings. The rooms are lovely and very clean, the service is excellent and the staff are a pleasure to deal with, my husband and I were upgraded to a more expensive and nicer room free of charge because they were not busy, we were taken to a really spacious room with a great view and a little balcony, the room also had beautiful, big bathroom with a great shower and big bath. We had a great experience and would most definitely recommend the Plumwood Inn to anyone looking for great accommodation in Franschhoek!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay in Franschhooek, and can honestly stay next time we come back, will try to make sure we get a room here - it really is an outstanding guest house.

We made the initial booking months ago, and the comms from the team were friendly and informative, making sure we had booked the type of room we wanted (we had mistakenly gone for a traditional room but had then opted for one of the newer Villas instead of the main house - the Villa was a great choice although the main house does look lovely in a more traditional way) and suggestions on trips and places to eat - we couldn't wait to arrive, and were not disappointed!

Check in was very personal as we were asked about what sort of food we liked and given even more recommendations for restaurants and things to do, as well as a tour round the lovely property and gardens, with an explanation about the lounges, and the honour bar etc - we felt really welcome from the start.

The upstairs Villa Room was stunning, it was large, bright and sunny, and with contemporary black and white decor, high quality fittings, spotless huge bathroom and a full wall of white shutters opening onto a stunning large balcony with uninterrupted views over the mountains, it was also only few short steps down to the pool.

In the morning, you could help yourself to a varied cold buffet or the owners would cook a hot breakfast to order, whilst stopping for a chat and checking if we had dinner reservations ! (it can be difficult to get a table in some places without one) and were quick to confirm our bookings - we were able to get a table every night at some stunning restaurants (which are also very good value compared to prices at home!)

The location of the Plumwood is also ideal - one block behind the main street so only a couple of minutes walk (up a well lit street) to be in the centre of the village - we were also only a 20min walk along a quiet tree lined road from the Mont Rochelle Vineyard which does a lovely picnic - it was great not to worry about the car with all the wine tasting. We didn't touch the car the entire time we were there as also took full advantage of the great new Franschhoek Wine Tram!

Thought it was amazing value for money for overall quality, location and experience. We stayed 4 nights here and it was the same price as what we paid for 3 nights at a guest house in Stellenbosch this trip - the Plumwood wins hands down for our next stay in the Winelands!

Room tip: The Villas are stunning, request one upstairs for a great view of the mountains
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cruzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I really liked the Plumwood Inn. It was, in fact, the nicest place we stayed in South Africa. The rooms are warm and inviting, and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower. The location is great for exploring Franschhoek. The gardens are beautiful. The breakfast was great. The owners were helpful in providing restaurant recommendations and ideas for things to see and do. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews