We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Plumwood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumwood Inn
Ranked #6 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to go away for the weekend. It was my husband's birthday the next day and I wanted to make it special for him. I immediately went on to Tripadvisor because I trust their reviews, when I came across Plumwood Inn. Everyone gave such great reviews of this place, we just knew that we had to go and experience it for ourselves. Needless to say, we were blown away when we saw the place! Our room was so massive and luxurious. It had everything in that we needed, our own fireplace, air conditioner, bar fridge, massive bathroom with bath and shower, shower had jet sprays, hairdryer, gowns, loads of clean towels...need I say more? Definitely a place for couples, very romantic and quiet, and the view from our room was to die for! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was exceptional! We will definitely be going back there for more and will most certainly recommend Plumwood Inn to all our family and friends!

Room Tip: Upper level, beautiful views from your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Melody02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    51
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
417
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Plumwood Inn this past June and were so happy we found this B&B. Since it was off-season, our room was a good value. It comes with a fully secure parking spot and a hearty breakfast. The pool and garden would be really nice to join in the sunny season. The rooms have a modern design and are impeccably clean. The bathroom was very nicely design with glass and full bathtub and two separate sinks. The location is perfect...in walking distance to some of the best restaurants in town. What really stood out to us was the owner of the B&B - he gave us great recommendations, booked us a restaurant rez, printed out tickets for us. I would fully recommend Plumwood to any of my friends and family. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clhagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We booked here becasue of the great trip advisor reviews and werent dissapointed.

Our room was spacious with a lovely bathroom and fantastic shower.

The hosts were always on hand with questions and couldnt have been more help with maps of the town - great suggestions on where to eat and where to book in advance. We also arranged for some laundry to be done and again this was performed quickly and to a very high standard.

There were loads of options at breakfast - although we had eaten so much in our stay in Francheok we didnt make great use of this!

Room Tip: We aske for a room with a balcony with a view - partly due to other trip advisor recs and it was a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haeadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We staying here for three nights and I have go to say its a fabulous place to stay. We staying in the main house and our room had everything you needed and was very comfortable. Loved the honesty bar filled with lovely goodies. Our bathroom was beautiful and had a wonderful shower.
The property is very well situated and sits away from the high street hustle and bustle of a busy high street. Short walk to the lovely restaurants which are plentiful. Roel and Lucienne could not of been more helpful, with tips on where to eat and what to see. The breakfast are wonderful and with a very extensive range you are spoilt for choice. I can highly recommend this bed and breakfast and you will NOT be disappointed. And may I say that Chris is an absolute gem he is so helpful. Baie Dankie Chris. As are all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house which is very traditional and I loved it. The new villas are also great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank susanashton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in April. Weather was extremely hot so we made good use of the lovely pool. Air con and wifi worked very well and it's incredibly comfortable and we had a beautiful view from the balcony of our room.
Breakfast was varied and delicious and the owners very helpful. We'd go back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank baldnavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a lovely place to stay, it is really central, we walked in and out of town everyday it was great not too have to drive to and from dinner in the evenings. The rooms are lovely and very clean, the service is excellent and the staff are a pleasure to deal with, my husband and I were upgraded to a more expensive and nicer room free of charge because they were not busy, we were taken to a really spacious room with a great view and a little balcony, the room also had beautiful, big bathroom with a great shower and big bath. We had a great experience and would most definitely recommend the Plumwood Inn to anyone looking for great accommodation in Franschhoek!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cylie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our 2nd stay in Franschhooek, and can honestly stay next time we come back, will try to make sure we get a room here - it really is an outstanding guest house.

We made the initial booking months ago, and the comms from the team were friendly and informative, making sure we had booked the type of room we wanted (we had mistakenly gone for a traditional room but had then opted for one of the newer Villas instead of the main house - the Villa was a great choice although the main house does look lovely in a more traditional way) and suggestions on trips and places to eat - we couldn't wait to arrive, and were not disappointed!

Check in was very personal as we were asked about what sort of food we liked and given even more recommendations for restaurants and things to do, as well as a tour round the lovely property and gardens, with an explanation about the lounges, and the honour bar etc - we felt really welcome from the start.

The upstairs Villa Room was stunning, it was large, bright and sunny, and with contemporary black and white decor, high quality fittings, spotless huge bathroom and a full wall of white shutters opening onto a stunning large balcony with uninterrupted views over the mountains, it was also only few short steps down to the pool.

In the morning, you could help yourself to a varied cold buffet or the owners would cook a hot breakfast to order, whilst stopping for a chat and checking if we had dinner reservations ! (it can be difficult to get a table in some places without one) and were quick to confirm our bookings - we were able to get a table every night at some stunning restaurants (which are also very good value compared to prices at home!)

The location of the Plumwood is also ideal - one block behind the main street so only a couple of minutes walk (up a well lit street) to be in the centre of the village - we were also only a 20min walk along a quiet tree lined road from the Mont Rochelle Vineyard which does a lovely picnic - it was great not to worry about the car with all the wine tasting. We didn't touch the car the entire time we were there as also took full advantage of the great new Franschhoek Wine Tram!

Thought it was amazing value for money for overall quality, location and experience. We stayed 4 nights here and it was the same price as what we paid for 3 nights at a guest house in Stellenbosch this trip - the Plumwood wins hands down for our next stay in the Winelands!

Room Tip: The Villas are stunning, request one upstairs for a great view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cruzkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.1 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#7 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 63 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumwood Inn

Property: Plumwood Inn
Address: 11 Cabriere Street | 11 Cabriere Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Plumwood Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between towering mountains, met with magnificent vineyards at the slopes, you’ll find the cosy yet romantic retreat of Plumwood Inn. Mornings on the terrace, with full-on alfresco breakfasts, introduces you to a day of adventure filled exploring of the nearby village centre, literally a two minute stroll from the guesthouse, set in a magnificent cosmopolitan atmosphere. Plumwood Inn – a winning formula of great location, comfortable accommodation and genuine hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Plumwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumwood Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing