We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gable Manor Guest House
Ranked #47 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is in a quiet area towards the hills, but all of Franschhoek is
in walking distance. The rooms are beautifully decorated and we loved the breakfast buffet.
Thanks to Jason who helped us with the reservations of the very good restaurants in and around Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

A Beautiful Cape dutch style B&B is Well situated on a quiet road with secure free parking,
all the staff are pleasant & helpful.
The rooms are massive with a honesty bar downstairs in lounge.
Free to use the computer & free WiFi.
We definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is quiet, good a/c unit,good TV & good for people who can not get up the stairs Room 5 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here with my family for two nights and would thoroughly recommend to everyone. Our rooms were large, airy and spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Sprigs of lavender decorated the room, which was a nice extra touch. We were made to feel very welcome by Don and the rest of the staff, who were happy to take the time to talk to us and to recommend restaurants and wine farms. The breakfast was served with a smile and we were pleased to be able to choose between a cooked breakfast and continental. Again, I felt the staff went out of their way to please - presenting us with freshly baked muffins as an extra at breakfast. The oustide area is very pretty complete with refreshing, secluded swimming pool.
Extremely highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRL187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here with friends in August 12 and was keen to return when I travelled to S Africa with my sister and elderly mother in April 13. Samantha, Don, Thelma and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We were welcomed warmly and treated very well indeed. The rooms are spacious and spotless - the little lavender sprigs and turning down of the beds adds to the quality of service. The B&B is secure and safe and in a pleasant residential area at one end of the village.
Breakfast is a treat taken in a separate garden room overlooking the pool - when we were there (late summer in SA) the hibiscus flowers and lemon tree made the scene especially pretty. The cook goes to great length to make breakfast special - home made muffins, wonderful fruit salad, meats, cheeses and then the "full English" DELICIOUS!
Restaurant recommendations are The French Connection Bistro and less formal, Cal Cachio pizza place - within easy walking distance too. Samantha was kind enough to arrange a taxi for us to the French Connection and the staff there phoned the taxi for us for the return trip to Gable Manor.
If you enjoy a little cheese with your wine tasting, try Fairview and then nip next door for a high class chocolate tasting treat!
Altogether a great stay!
Thank you
Helen

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at Gable Manor for 3 days whilst in town for a wedding, and it was perfect. Well situated on a quiet street. Lovely amenities, and a massive room! Breakfast is definitely worth writing home about, great eggs. I'd definitely come back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the basic room, which was ample for my needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A very nice B&B with free parking, free wi-fee in a very nice little town with very nice people and super nice restaurants.
A lot of wine yards located very near this town.
Next time you go to this town, order a room at Gable manor Guest House.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hultgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Gable Manor for 3 nights at the start of a 15 night holiday in the Western Cape and were very happy with our choice.

It is in a lovely quiet residential area of Franschhoek,yet within walking distance of the main street and the restaurants.

We had a lovely room with a good bathroom. Breakfast was also very good, and the owner Don arranged all our restaurant bookings in advance of our arrival.

Whilst chatting to Don on our departure it transpired we had stayed in the same room referred to in the less complimentary review dated March 12th. It is an attic room but, in my opinion, very spacious and comfortable.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John5672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#30 of 64 in Franschhoek
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £117 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing