We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gable Manor Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Last Word Franschhoek(Franschhoek)
US$364
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$331
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$649
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$543
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$876
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$838
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
99
18
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
18
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseb bbreakfast roombasic amenitiesnice loungefresh lavenderguest loungestayed for four nightscooked breakfastcape towncold buffetthe main streetmin walkroom was largelittle gemattention to detailhome from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Great stay in this lovely guest house ,situated on a quiet street it was a pleasure to hear just the birds sing each morning. Marlyn, Don, and staff were most helpful in giving me advice on
wine trails and advice on other places of interest. And indeed I felt so at home here and welcome.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, I can still smell the lavender and the breakfast was first class.
To say I will be back is most definite, and would recommend to anyone visiting the area.
Thanks to all at Gable Manor George.

Room Tip: All rooms are good value and five star condition
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Hi George C,

Thanks for this lovely review - we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us.
Don & Marlyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is in a quiet area towards the hills, but all of Franschhoek is
in walking distance. The rooms are beautifully decorated and we loved the breakfast buffet.
Thanks to Jason who helped us with the reservations of the very good restaurants in and around Franschhoek.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A Beautiful Cape dutch style B&B is Well situated on a quiet road with secure free parking,
all the staff are pleasant & helpful.
The rooms are massive with a honesty bar downstairs in lounge.
Free to use the computer & free WiFi.
We definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is quiet, good a/c unit,good TV & good for people who can not get up the stairs Room 5 is quiet, good a/c unit,TV,Kettle & chilled water for hot days
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed here with my family for two nights and would thoroughly recommend to everyone. Our rooms were large, airy and spotless and the beds extremely comfortable. Sprigs of lavender decorated the room, which was a nice extra touch. We were made to feel very welcome by Don and the rest of the staff, who were happy to take the time to talk to us and to recommend restaurants and wine farms. The breakfast was served with a smile and we were pleased to be able to choose between a cooked breakfast and continental. Again, I felt the staff went out of their way to please - presenting us with freshly baked muffins as an extra at breakfast. The oustide area is very pretty complete with refreshing, secluded swimming pool.
Extremely highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRL187514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed here with friends in August 12 and was keen to return when I travelled to S Africa with my sister and elderly mother in April 13. Samantha, Don, Thelma and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We were welcomed warmly and treated very well indeed. The rooms are spacious and spotless - the little lavender sprigs and turning down of the beds adds to the quality of service. The B&B is secure and safe and in a pleasant residential area at one end of the village.
Breakfast is a treat taken in a separate garden room overlooking the pool - when we were there (late summer in SA) the hibiscus flowers and lemon tree made the scene especially pretty. The cook goes to great length to make breakfast special - home made muffins, wonderful fruit salad, meats, cheeses and then the "full English" DELICIOUS!
Restaurant recommendations are The French Connection Bistro and less formal, Cal Cachio pizza place - within easy walking distance too. Samantha was kind enough to arrange a taxi for us to the French Connection and the staff there phoned the taxi for us for the return trip to Gable Manor.
If you enjoy a little cheese with your wine tasting, try Fairview and then nip next door for a high class chocolate tasting treat!
Altogether a great stay!
Thank you
Helen

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews