We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant guest house.. you will love breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gable Manor Guest House
Ranked #47 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We so enjoyed our stay at the Gable Manor. Our hosts were kind and helpful. Even made dinner and golf reservations for us. The rooms are large and very comfortable. Nice large beds. The bathrooms are beautiful and well furnished. We would stay there again if if the area and would recommend it to our friendsl They are known for their breakfasts and you will not be dissapointed. Free internet usage in the parlor was excellant Good safe off road parking.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank bevandbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2009

Gable Manor Guest House is an all round great place to stay in Franschhoek.
The rooms are luxurious, spacious, very clean and well mantained. Has excellent decor and serves a delectable breakfast included in the daily rates. We found the owners very knowledgeable about the area, restaurants and helpful with advice on places to visit.
It's definitely a Guest House to recommend.Natália and Roger

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natssilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

By good luck (and Portfolio) we were fortunate to stay in Gable Manor Guest House for a few days. It was a revelation, a very positive one. The comfortable rooms, personal service, advice and food were all excellent but what made it a truly Home from Home was the superb little features that are rarely met in hotels or guest house. These included wonderfully sensitive items in the bedroom, such as little towels wrapped with a sprig of lavender, a variety of magazines to read, as well as the customary tea/coffee maker, tv, etc.
The breakfasts were to die for - well presented, well cooked, wide variety ,

Overall the Gable Manor Guest House is undoubtedly the best guest house we have ever stayed in because of all these little features.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Attended annual literary book fair and stayed one night. Lovely B & B would definitely stay there again. Delicious breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Travelling for business can be tiresome, even stressful when accompanied by important clients from overseas, especially if the country of origin is France. One always worries whether they are comfortable, do they like the place, are they happy with the choice of accommodation etc? Well, no need to worry about any of these when staying at Gable Manor! Not only is the place exquisite, offering the best value for money that I have found in a long time (& my line of work requires a lot of travelling) but also the hosts, Marlyn & Don Carroll, are incredibly welcoming, very friendly & always willing to get out of their way to ensure their guests enjoy their stay to the full. Sadly, our busy schedule did not allow us to indulge for too long, but we will definitely be back, this time for a holiday. Congratulations to Marlyn & Don for their efforts & enthusiasm in making Gable Manor such a wonderful place. Thank you. With fondest regards, Anca Ghetea - Carpathia Consulting (Pty) Ltd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Countess-Dracula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jcg27, Owner at Gable Manor Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2009

Dear Anca,

Thanks for this stunning review - you have a great way with words.

Keep well and hope to see you here again soon.

Best wishes, Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The service and the building where simply spotless, the service was fabulous and the owner extremely helpful and friendly.

We had a marvelous stay at the Gable Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crufede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Pure luxury, peace & tranquility are the hallmarks of this wonderful establishment which also offers probably the best breakfast in South Africa. Well done to all concerned and can't wait to come back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wysebarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#31 of 64 in Franschhoek
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £117 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing