We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gable Manor Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Leeu Estates(Franschhoek)
US$642
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$550
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mont Rochelle(Franschhoek)
US$438
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa(Franschhoek)(Great Value!)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Leeu House(Franschhoek)
US$522
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$447
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Residence(Franschhoek)
US$865
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
99
18
10
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
18
10
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebreakfast roombasic amenitiesnice loungefresh lavenderguest loungestayed for four nightscooked breakfastcape towncold buffetthe main streetmin walkroom was largelittle gemattention to detailhome from homefirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My husband and I returned to Franschhoek to escape the long cold winter! We were not disappointed! Not only did we get much needed sun but were able to relax by a wonderful clear and clean pool, get drinks from the honesty bar without having to move from the poolside have wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts and get the best nights sleep in South Africa! We chatted to some really interesting people who were also guests and made a few new friends. Don made all our reservations for dinner and we were able to choose a different restaurant each night. Gable Manor is a short walk to town and although we hired a car we often chose to walk into town instead (must be a English thing!) I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Our overall comment in addition to our high rankings above is: consistantly good.
Friendly and accommodating management always appear to have their fingers on the local pulse of Franschhoek village and know exactly what's going on that's of interest or importantance to visitors.

But for us a key differentiator is this guest house's position and proximity to the top restaurants and shops (15-20 mins?) - we walk there and back, day or evening (we're retired, so evening return for us is 9.00 ish). It's just the right 'constitutional' distance after Franschhoke's fine dining. And the local buildings, trees and gardens you pass by, are quite beautiful and never boring, and all with that panoramic mountain backdrop.

But guests beware, Gable Manor's breakfasts are elegant, delicious - and consistantly quite excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Gable Manor as part of a surprise weekend for my birthday. Whilst it wasn't my husband's first choice, judging from the rather misleading Gable Manor website it seemed like a good option, as the preferred accomodation choices were already fully booked. To say that we were utterly disappointed is an understatement.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a surly woman who opened the gate for us with barely a greeting, let alone a smile. She proceeded to direct us down a small driveway with linen hanging on various lines and into an awkward parking bay on a slope in front of a garage and told not to block the entrance to the garage, as it was reserved for someone else. Whilst she signed us in (with still no smile in sight), she stated that she sometimes does the owner a 'favour' by helping out from time to time with guests arriving and departing. The accomodation, although clean and tidy, was gloomy and about the size of a broom closet - otherwise known as "The Mushroom" - with a glimmer of a mountain view through a tiny window in the distance once you could see past the tree right outside. There were two very curt signs in the room - one stating "No smoking" and another about not eating take away food in the room and not spilling red wine on the carpet as it is 'difficult and expensive to clean' - all of which made us feel even more "welcome and appreciated" as guests (not that we smoke). I can hardly say that the accommodation was worth the price we paid. The decor is similar to that found in retirement homes, perhaps there was one in the area that closed down, so they got a good deal on furnishings - my husband and I are both in our 30's. During our stay, we encountered several other people who appeared to work at Gable Manor, all of whom were miserable and unfriendly.
Apart from the accommodation, our weekend in Franschhoek was magical. Any future visits however, of which there will be many as we love the area, will certainly not include Gable Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrippinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed two nights at this guest house and it was a pleasant stay. The location is good, not right in town, it is about 10 minutes walk or a short drive to the main shopping area.
Our room was nice, clean and functional.
There is a small pool which unfortunately we didn't get time to use and the gardens are well maintained.
The owners and staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
The best part of our stay was the breakfast, there was a super choice of cold buffet and cooked items to order.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We got married at Gable Manor 3 years ago. Not only is the setting exquisite and the rooms beautiful, but Marlyn, Don and Thelma are wonderful hosts. They took care of all the little details that made this stay, and the last absolutely perfect. On recognising that the town was getting full, and not being able to reach us, Don made dinner reservations to avoid disappointment. The room was light and airy and had lots of lovely touches like luxury toiletries, bathrobes and fresh roses.

Franschhoek is wonderful and we will definitely return to Gable Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dani35Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews