We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and roomy bed and breakfast in a delightful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gable Manor Guest House
Ranked #45 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Gable Manor is has a delightful garden and pool, with a well stocked "honesty" bar. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean. the only meal served is breakfast but that is very good. It's only a short walk - 10 minutes into town where there are many excellent restaurants. The rooms are spacious and if mine was anything to go by - min suites as I had seperate lounge, bedroom and bathroom. There is free wi-fi plus a PC in the main guest lounge. Althoiugh I was on business and so had little time to explore, ther are many vineyards to visit within the area most of which have their own restaurants. There is also the Hugenot Memorial in the town which I found interesting.
Overall,I had a very pleasant stay and will be very happy if I have the chance to return, this time with my wife for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

6-star BnB Guest House - justifiably wins awards regularly. Epic views around the valley and mountains, almost every need has been anticipated and accommodated; delightful staff, super-secure, and truly home from home; breakfast is so good, it's entirely natural to try to eat everything. Beautiful lounge and honesty bar, nice pool, secure parking.
Beware it's two or three blocks back from the main street, and walking to the restaurants after dark is not advised.
Only two suggestions for the bedrooms - an i-Pod dock, and a phone.
Otherwise spot-on!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

i visited Cape Town with my husband recently and found this little jewel in the heart of Franchhoek. The accommodation was fantastic. The rooms had all the luxuries you would find in a 5 star hotel. There was a beautiful garden with a crystal clear pool and a lovely lounge area. The breakfast set us up for the whole day and Don and Marlyn, the hosts, booked us into the most fantastic restaurants in the area. We tasted the best wine of the region and were able to walk into the town to browse the many shop and art galleries. The area was so safe and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norwoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

My husband and I returned to Franschhoek to escape the long cold winter! We were not disappointed! Not only did we get much needed sun but were able to relax by a wonderful clear and clean pool, get drinks from the honesty bar without having to move from the poolside have wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts and get the best nights sleep in South Africa! We chatted to some really interesting people who were also guests and made a few new friends. Don made all our reservations for dinner and we were able to choose a different restaurant each night. Gable Manor is a short walk to town and although we hired a car we often chose to walk into town instead (must be a English thing!) I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trickie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Our overall comment in addition to our high rankings above is: consistantly good.
Friendly and accommodating management always appear to have their fingers on the local pulse of Franschhoek village and know exactly what's going on that's of interest or importantance to visitors.

But for us a key differentiator is this guest house's position and proximity to the top restaurants and shops (15-20 mins?) - we walk there and back, day or evening (we're retired, so evening return for us is 9.00 ish). It's just the right 'constitutional' distance after Franschhoke's fine dining. And the local buildings, trees and gardens you pass by, are quite beautiful and never boring, and all with that panoramic mountain backdrop.

But guests beware, Gable Manor's breakfasts are elegant, delicious - and consistantly quite excellent!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Gable Manor as part of a surprise weekend for my birthday. Whilst it wasn't my husband's first choice, judging from the rather misleading Gable Manor website it seemed like a good option, as the preferred accomodation choices were already fully booked. To say that we were utterly disappointed is an understatement.
Upon arrival, we were greeted by a surly woman who opened the gate for us with barely a greeting, let alone a smile. She proceeded to direct us down a small driveway with linen hanging on various lines and into an awkward parking bay on a slope in front of a garage and told not to block the entrance to the garage, as it was reserved for someone else. Whilst she signed us in (with still no smile in sight), she stated that she sometimes does the owner a 'favour' by helping out from time to time with guests arriving and departing. The accomodation, although clean and tidy, was gloomy and about the size of a broom closet - otherwise known as "The Mushroom" - with a glimmer of a mountain view through a tiny window in the distance once you could see past the tree right outside. There were two very curt signs in the room - one stating "No smoking" and another about not eating take away food in the room and not spilling red wine on the carpet as it is 'difficult and expensive to clean' - all of which made us feel even more "welcome and appreciated" as guests (not that we smoke). I can hardly say that the accommodation was worth the price we paid. The decor is similar to that found in retirement homes, perhaps there was one in the area that closed down, so they got a good deal on furnishings - my husband and I are both in our 30's. During our stay, we encountered several other people who appeared to work at Gable Manor, all of whom were miserable and unfriendly.
Apart from the accommodation, our weekend in Franschhoek was magical. Any future visits however, of which there will be many as we love the area, will certainly not include Gable Manor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTrippinCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We stayed two nights at this guest house and it was a pleasant stay. The location is good, not right in town, it is about 10 minutes walk or a short drive to the main shopping area.
Our room was nice, clean and functional.
There is a small pool which unfortunately we didn't get time to use and the gardens are well maintained.
The owners and staff were friendly and knowledgeable.
The best part of our stay was the breakfast, there was a super choice of cold buffet and cooked items to order.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
Le Manoir de Brendel Estate
#30 of 64 in Franschhoek
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gable Manor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gable Manor Guest House

Address: 4 Malherbe Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £116 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gable Manor Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Gable Manor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing