We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely stunning guest house”
Review of La Providence Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Providence Farm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning guest house”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This place is incredible! It exceeded our expectations in every way. The grounds are simply stunning - the pictures really don't do it justice. Great location for easy access to loads of vineyards and the main street. Haute Cautiere is very close and is a must do for lunch. The whole region is so beautiful and we thought that this place was the best we saw to stay. If you are considering it - then definitely book here! Fantastic value for money too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massivemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
72
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I can't see how you can not rate your stay 5 stars. The perfect setting, the owner Andy one of the best hosts, prime position, peace and tranquility, all the facilities you need and decorate to perfection.

We always enjoy our holiday in the Gourmet Capital and had some of he best accommodation on our previous visits, but La Petite Providence beat them all. Our own private pool, duck pond with breathtaking views, spacious accommodation and a Gourmet kitchen if you like an evening at home. What more can you ask for?????

Room Tip: Just book the main 2 bedroom cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcellica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

I wrote a review in Dec 2010 but I accidentally erased it and had no time to rewrite one. Well better late than never, because this property is the best accommodation we had on our 35 day vacation across East and South Africa. This place was recommended by a girlfriend from CapeTown.

We had a bit of difficulty locating the property because it is hidden a liitle ways outside of town. The road leading from town to this property is not paved but gravel and dirt road. Although it is only 15 minutes brisk walk from town, you would not want to walk because it is also not lit at night. Safer to drive.

However as we neared the property there is a paved road which also leads to other properties further along. The property is well secured.

After we passed the autogate, we proceeded through a vineyard along a long driveway, at the end of which is an impressive mansion called La Providence. Beside it is a cottage called La Petite Providence.

The owner, Mr Andy Higgins and his lady welcomed us and showed us around the property. The Singapore flag was flying from the flagpole. Mr Higgins had to specially drive to CapeTown to find the flag.

La Providence apparently makes it own wine or rather it provides the grapes to a winery to make it. Guests may wander around the vineyard which incidentally has a tennis court.

La Petite Providence is reminiscient of an old English cottage in the countryside with comfortable large leather furniture and a huge firerplace. Surrounding the building is a verandah with vines and flowers.

Inside is a very large space with a sitting room on one side and a dining room and kitchen on the other side. The cottage is well equipped and very self sufficient. It is like being at home. The dining table seats 6-8 persons. There is even a washing machine. And a safe. But you would have to go to the main building to access the free internet.

There are two bedrooms - one ensuite, the other has a large bathroom beside it. Both bedrooms open out to a heated swimming pool and a lush garden. Since we are only two couples, the cottage was perfect.

If we were a larger group, there is another little self-contained cottage for a couple, on the other side of the pool but not accessible from the pool, and a self-contained studio above the garage in the main building, just half a minute from the cottage, for another couple.

Outside the cottage, in front, is a well kept lawn with a gazebo beside a good-sized duck pond with a fountain in the middle. There were quite a number of ducks. The whole scene was so idyllic and picture perfect we had to have a meal in the gazebo. We bought lunch from town.

When Mr Higgins and his lady heard of it, they immediately brought out linens from the main house and proceeded to set the table for us. We had plates and wine glasses from the cottage.

As we were finishing lunch and having coffee, they brought out a homemade dessert quickly made in their kitchen. It was a trifle with fruits and cream; it was very delicious and it was very sweet of them.

Checking out was very casual; there was no check-out time. We left when it's time to catch our flight. The international airport , half way between Franschhoek and CapeTown, is not far.

La Petite Providence is only available some months of the year. Better to check with the owners when you book.

A bit of information on Franschhoek. It is next door to Stellenbosch, another wine area. I find Franschhoek more charming, much like Margaret River in Western Australia and St Helena in Napa Valley California.

There are excellent restaurants. We dined at The Tasting Room, Le Quartier Francaise. Reservations to be made months ahead. The food presentation is not unlike that of The French Laundry in Yountville Napa Valley California.

Room Tip: Ask for room with swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sweetafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

I spent 3 nights at La Providence's self catering cottage with my sister, mum and dad. The grounds and cottage are absolutely stunning. The cottage itself is very spacious - big enough for 4 adults to live comfortably, with gorgeous furnishings and fresh vases of roses everywhere. The terrace which surrounds the cottage, overlooks the most incredible views, including the large duck pond at the front of the cottage where we were lucky enough to see lots of newborn ducklings! Both bedrooms open onto the garden terrace, where the swimming pool and sun loungers are which is really private and where we really relaxed on days that we weren't out and about in Franschhoek itself which is only a 2min drive down the road. Franschhoek itself is a picture perfect little village full of fantastic restaurants (our favorite being French Connection) and lots of little boutiques.
Overall we felt that we had arrived in Paradise!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Coco27London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa where we were very fortunate to spend some time in Franshhoek at La Providence
We stayed in the 2 bedrommed cottage which was absolutley beautiful as well as being light airy and spacious
We made very good use of the private swimming pool and sunbeds that come with the cottage, each day which was a real treat and also used to take afternoon tea when we arrived back from our travels in the lovely rose covered canopied area by the duck pond.
The view of the Franshhoek countryside which greets you as we opened our front door each time is quite simply stunning and enhanced further by the ducks and thier babys on the duck pond in front of the property!
The furnishings and equipment supplied in the cottage are to a very high quality and extremley comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome.
The town of Franshhoek is only a 3 minute drive down the road and is really lovely - in fact it feels like you on a film set as the setting is so perfect!
If we ever return to South Africa our visit will not be complete without a stay at La Providence - it's probably the nearest we will ever get to staying in paradise.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

My husband booked La Providence based on reviews from Trip Advisor. Unfortunately we both got confused along the way with reviews of La Provence and we ended up booking here.

The wine lands formed part of our 12 day honeymoon to South Africa. And besides the rest of our holiday which was first class, we encountered problems from the start in locating La Providence. It is not marketed very well as holiday accommodation and was difficult to find. We ended up getting directions from a very helpful owner of nearby La Cabriere, who also booked us restaurants over the next few days.

The entrance and grounds of La Providence is very grand. The owner's girlfriend showed us to our accommodation, but we were disappointed with the mews flat we had booked. There was little sunlight, and the tribal decor was very overpowering. There was a balcony but no access to the pool which was part of the cottage.

The lack of cleanliness was apparent immediately, with ringmarks from glasses on the bedside tables, dust, used soaps in the bathroom sink and shower, unfilled bottles of shampoo lying around, dirty floors with dead flies, and stained dog-earred magazines from previous guests dating months back. I started to become a bit paranoid by this point, and shook the bath towels into the bath to find lots of beasties falling out. Yuk!

Food was left in the fridge for us, and a bottle of wine, but the place lacked any sense of service, we had pretty much booked a dirty self catered cottage for our honeymoon. We both got food poisoning in the 4 nights we spent here, surprising, considering the town is known for its excellence in food.

When we did knock on the main door one evening to get help in cancelling a restaurant due to our illness, we felt like 2 gooseberries as we were obviously disturbing the owner and girlfriend in their dressing gowns - and we were the honeymooners!

The biggest disappointment came for us after we arrived back home. The owner had found a shutter broken, and automatically blamed us for the damage. We had not caused any damage to the property and were disappointed he did not consider weather or other members of staff before deducting our bank account WITHOUT permission.

Surely a 5 star rated establishment would not have carried out in this way, and have let such neglect occur in an otherwise beautiful setting?

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Overall dirtiness
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HelenaAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence44, Manager at La Providence Farm, responded to this review, 19 May 2015
Dear Helena, we are very sorry about your terrible experience years ago!!
La Providence Farm Franschhoek changed ownership and Management in 2014.
Have a look at the up dated web site and the changes that have been made!!
You will be surprised !!
Regards Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2007

This is a 5 star establishment with the option of either The Mews cottage or The Cottage. It is the ultimate in luxury and relaxation.

We were booked on a b&b basis to stay in the Mews which is a self-contained cottage above the garages of the main wine estate. The room is decorated in very bold colours and what I imagine to be french provence style. Very spacious and tasteful. There is a small kitchen with all that you require, although breakfast can be prepared for you. I did think from the website that use of the pool was included, but apparently if there are guests in the cottage, this is not the case.

We were so fortunate as there were no guests in the self-catering, two bedroom cottage, and so we were upgraded to the cottage. This has two large double bedrooms with their own bathrooms, a huge kitchen, dining and lounge area. Again all decorated very beautifully in a provence style. The cottage is enormous with every detail thought of. It has its own private garden and swimming pool.

The estate is a 'boutique wine estate' known as La Petite Providence, owned by Andy and Ana Higgins. The setting with Franschhoek mountains surrounding the property, as well as vineyards and loads of roses, is absolutely stunning. Andy will arrange dinner bookings for you and makes sure all your needs are taken care of. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and Maureen will cook you breakfast and take care of your laundry and anything else you need help with.

There is also office for guests if you require internet etc.

This was such a beautiful place that we were happy to just relax around the pool, enjoy the cottage and the setting. As Franschhoek is one of my most favourite places we will definitely return to this gem.

  • Liked — The setting, the luxury and totally relaxing
  • Disliked — I would have been disappointed not to be able to use the pool if we stayed in the Mews
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank UKIngwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.3 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Residence
La Residence
#7 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.8 mi away
Mont Rochelle
Mont Rochelle
#6 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Providence Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Providence Farm

Property: La Providence Farm
Address: Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Providence Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated behind the historical Huguenot Monument and Museum, and within 5 minute walking distance from the town center. Laying beneath the impressive Middagkrans Mountains, and a short drive up the Franschhoek pass to one of the most surreal views of the town and valley, is La Providence Farm/Guesthouse! Set amongst a picturesque garden of roses and other indigenous plant, a hectare of vineyards and a Cypress avenue, as you enter the farm. The farm consists of 7 guestrooms, with a very modern and sophisticated interior. The old farm house buildings gives you a sense of time gone by. Each room has its own Nescafe coffee machine, a mini fridge where one can sit on your terrace and enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon as the sunsets!! There is an entertainment area for our guests, a short walk from the rooms where one can enjoy a swim in our 12m pool, or laze about on a sunbed and admire the view of the mountains or vineyard. There is a bar with a wooden deck leading out to the pool, or in the evening sit in boma around a fire and enjoy the Milk way with a glass of 'Lewenslust' our local house wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Providence Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing