We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Chamonix Wine Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chamonix Wine Farm
Reviewed 24 January 2013

After a really challenging week camping in the Northern Cape and Kgalagadi Park, it was so nice to arrive in Franschoek and spend some time relaxing in the Troika cottage at Chamonix. Everything was clean, the staff was friendly, and the culinary experiences at the winery and at the incredible restaurants and bistros in town were a real treat after eating nasty braai packs and PB&Js for a week. It's close enough to town to walk and we felt very safe. I highly recommend Chamonix to anyone looking for a restful (and delicious) getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Troika self-catering cottage and had a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaskan_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

We, 3 students, stayed in the 4 person cottage (white, green roof) as presented in the pictures. We had the second cottage in the first row. There weren't any visitors in the other cottages, not that we've noticed in any case. We had done some shopping for a braai and as we arrived, we immediately started the fire. The terrace, under the porch, is really cosy. It can only give place to 4 persons. This in combination with some nice food, a fire, some good wine and the beautiful view made it a wonderful evening. The equipment may be basic, but as long as you are prepared for it be bringing al the food yourself, there should be no problem. There are dishes, knifes, bowls...
I wouldn't remember the exact price, but it was good value.

Room Tip: Certainly try to take the first row of cottages, as the terrace is in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GioomD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Warning to everyone planning a visit to the Cape wine route, especially if you plan to visit the picturesque town of Franschhoek. Avoid any dealings with Chamonix Wine Farm, you will only be bitterly disappointed and out of pocket!

Planning our company's annual conference we decided to treat our hardworking staff to a tranquil stay at a wine farm on the Cape wine route. We got a quotation from Henry Coston from Chamonix and arranged to visit the farm to inspect the facilities. On 4 August we met Henry on site. We reserved the leopard & bontebok suites, waterfall lodge and rooms in the main house. Henry confirmed the conference venue at no extra charge. We paid R8400 deposit on 17 August.

On 29 October Debbie Roelofse who took over from Henry Coston at Chamonix e-mailed us saying we haven't paid R15000 per day for the conference venue and that another group has already paid for it. We were shocked by this breach of agreement and asked her to refund of our deposit. She agreed to this and promised to do it by 1 November. On 2 Nov Debbie offered alternative accommodation and 1 morning's conference venue use. We declined and requested refund of our deposit again. It was promised by 4 November, but still not received. Our conference is ruined and we are R8400 out of pocket. Don't get caught!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Philipvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

A friend told us about the Chamonix cottages and while making traveling arrangements I decided to do some research on the place, the pictures that I found on the internet seemed very nice and I decided to call and enquire. The lady at reception was very helpful and I decided to book a cottage for 2 people, upon arrival, the same person met us, putting a face to the friendly voice. We went to our cottage and it was lovely, very intimate and cosy and being surrounded by the mountains and vineyards was absolutely amazing. Although it was not a 5* place, it was definitely worth the money that we paid and I look forward to going back there in summer

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaydene309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stay here for the views and the location right next to the heart of Franschhoek, but don't expect luxury at this price. A large group of us stayed in Chamonix for a birthday celebration over 3 nights, taking over quite a few cottages. The views from the property are really beautiful as you are on the side of the valley and the verandahs are perfect to watch the sunset from. Most of the cottages were very close to each other which suited us well but for those looking for a secluded spot, it might have been too close for comfort. On the other hand, when we booked it was not made clear to us that some of the cottages are located quite a distance (a drive) away from the other cottages. The cottages themselves are basic and although you can self-cater, the facilities and equipment were somewhat limited.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCOSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We recently stayed at Chamonix cottages over the Bastille Festival weekend. We have attended Bastille weekend for 4 years in a row and have stayed at a different place each time. The cottage we were allocated was very badly equipped and certainly not as per the website description. We had one small pot and one tiny frying pan, 3 mugs, 2 teaspoons and a very few pieces of old cutlery. No tin opener, wine opener (in the winelands!!), no serving dishes, serving spoons. The electricity kept tripping if we turned on more than one appliance at a time. There was a TV, but no DSTV like we were told, and the TV remote was left on the coffee table with the batteries out and didn't work. The fireplace had clearly not worked for years by the look of the black soot on the outside of the mantle piece and up the front wall. This also lead to the entire cottage having a bad, stale smokey smell to it. The one attempt we made at lighting the fire ended badly as the basket of wood had been left outside in the rain before we arrived and the wet wood caused the cottage to fill with smoke.
We had 2 towels to share between 4 people (we were told all towels and linen were provided).

Generally a very cold, wet, smelly, uncomfortable weekend in the winelands!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoleBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We wanted to stay in Chamonix for one day but for the reason it was so awesome we stayed for three nights. We had a small & nice & tidy cottage, nice veranda with a beautiful view. Braai, firewood and everything was there - even a big salad bowl. It was maybe a little basic but we can not understand the complaining in former reviews. We enjoyed the sun outside and it was a wonderful, calm place. The stuff was very very friendly. I would always recommend this place for normal nature-loving people who want to enjoy the beautiful neighbourhood and don´t want to pay a lot of money!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.9 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
177 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
670 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose Cottages
Rose Cottages
#25 of 42 in Franschhoek
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#9 of 64 in Franschhoek
528 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#33 of 64 in Franschhoek
231 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fransvliet Guest House
Fransvliet Guest House
#1 of 42 in Franschhoek
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chamonix Wine Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamonix Wine Farm

Address: Uitkyk Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range: £116 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chamonix Wine Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chamonix Cottages Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing