We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geared for the Northern Hemisphere Tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Dauphine
Ranked #41 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Geared for the Northern Hemisphere Tourist”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This property set in the stunning Franschoek valley amid scenery from paradise, is very beautiful. It's very well kept too, trimmed, loved and obviously cared for. There are hotel rooms on this rustic site set amid vineyards, an orchard and towering mountains, but we stayed in two of the self catering cottages on offer. They are very comfortable these cottages and certainly do give a feeling of being on a farm. Donkeys bray, roosters crow, the night sky blinks wonderfully brightly while guests lounge about indoors or outdoors enjoying the peace and fresh air. There are lovely patios outside each cottage, but no shade to cover them. The sun beats down unbearably there, making these little havens unusable, except perhaps for sun starved Northern Hemisphere people. Having stayed at many equivalent places, since we live in Cape Town an hour away, we are in a good position to compare La Auberge Dauphine with other places of its type. On the plus side it is magnificently located, very close to Franschoek but feeling far away. The cottages are clean and beautifully furnished, the views great and the bathrooms have lovely big baths and strong showers. On the negative side though, La Auberge's cottages are advertised as having self catering facilities. But although the kitchen is fitted out for this purpose, it is not similarly kitted out, meaning many basics are, frustratingly, missing: i.e. a barbecue (braai) that works, a paring knife, enough big bowls for storing fresh produce and making salad, an oven tray, braai tongs etc. There's another issue here too. Although La Auberge is charged as a self catering facility, one is forced to have breakfast there or forfeit some of the rate one pays. Now as I see it one of the main points of opting for self catering is to both eat at one's leisure, more cheaply if one so desires and thereby to free oneself of the 'full English breakfast' syndrome at which one tends to over eat. Especially in Franschoek, the gastronomic capital of South Africa, this is not advisable before one even leaves for the day's activities. It would not be difficult for the owners of the property to create this option for the self catering guests with a rate adjusted accordingly. This, I was told on inquiring, was not possible. So for the European or American tourist who wants no meal preparation as part of his trip and who wants to dine in Franschoek's restaurants, La Auberge is perfect. For the locals who enjoy a casual braai away from the restaurant scene and lazy home cooked breakfasts at mid morning, there are perhaps better options. One thing more: there are bottles of wine placed in the cottages one one's arrival and replenished each day. Nothing is said about being charged for these though. This surprise only comes on checkout. All in all a lovely stay, but the property's marketing should change, or its inventory and rate options.

Room Tip: The two cottages we used were Appels and Toffee. They are close together - good for groups travelli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meryl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
154
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

To stay for 14 days anywhere is a test of any establishment but we left wanting to stay even longer. The breathtaking setting, the ambiance and the helpful and friendly staff all made us so happy. Set in the famous Franshhoek valley, a short drive from the village, the peaceful and tranquil atmosphere is special. It proved to be an ideal setting off point to explore this amazing country, eat at a wide selection of restaurants, including on the numerous wine estates via the trolley/tram tour, and return to spacious and individually furnish bedrooms and wake to a breakfast cooked to order. The owner Anne and manageress Ronel could not do enough to make you welcome and offer advice on local wine estates, shops and eateries. The additional bedrooms in the Chateau offer spectacular views across their dam ( a large and pretty lake) and the mountains at sunset. It is not a working farm but is home to two rescued donkeys, some shy Chickens and the family of friendly dogs. Would we stay again? We can't wait, and that from someone who has visited over sixty counties.

Room Tip: There are ground floor rooms aplenty and the two stand alone cottages with two bedrooms and ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writerchappy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

In many ways this accommodation was perfect. We were a group of 5 couples and to find such a nice B&B that could accommodate us all with such beautiful surroundings was brilliant. The outside space is great for relaxing as a group, and the short walk to some incredible views is wonderful. Communication upfront was quick and friendly and the whole group enjoyed our two nights here very much.

My wife and I stayed in the Beaujolais suite. All rooms are plenty spacious enough for a couple. The only two points of constructive criticism I have are that the bathroom in our room is dated and actually a bit shabby. The shower cubicle is too small and seems like a cheap power shower compared to what we've experienced elsewhere. Paint is peeling off the towel rail, etc. It just needs sprucing up a bit. Secondly, we would have liked a properly stocked mini-bar. It's nice that wine is available but (as seems normal everywhere else), we would have enjoyed being able to have (and pay for!) some water, some beer, and a few soft drinks.

These are minor points compared to all the positives this guest house offers. It's still an excellent guest house and I do recommend it, with a couple of changes it really would be perfect.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMike1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely setting from the main house (the cottages were full, so we were lucky enough to stay in the owners chateau). Spacious room with a four poster bed. Gorgeous views plus use of the main pool which was located on the rim of the lake. Breakfast was tasty and service was excellent. We made use of the gazebo at the edge of the lake for champagne in the early evening. A quick drive into town as the estate is not far from the centre of Franschhoek. We'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I was disappointed by our stay at Auberge La Dauphine. It has amazing surroundings, the lake is beautiful and the view breathtaking. However it feels like the place needs some renovation. The room furniture is old and the bathroom equipement as well. The decoration itself is old fashioned. It is a shame because the place has a great potential.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The estate has a wonderful setting just to the south of Franschhoek with fantastic views of the surrounding mountains and the fertile valley. There are two cottages overlooking the vineyard and 4 or 5 rooms in the main complex where the dining room and office are located . We stayed in the owners substantial house overlooking the lake. The accommodation was excellent - very comfortable and spotlessly clean and I gather from the large number of repeat bookings , the other rooms are uniformly excellent. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order in the open-plan dining room and was delicious. A special accolade for Ronel , the manager who was very helpful , friendly and efficient.
We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed what Franschhoek had to offer - world class dining and great wine tasting . The wineries are prestigious establishments and all offer tastings - many have restaurants, some have galleries. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the owners house and didn't see the other rooms but I don't doubt they were all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed at La Dauphine Chateaux for two nights in January 2014. What a delight! The Guest House was full (not surprising) so they offered us a room at the owners Chateaux which overlooks the Guest House over a beautiful lake and looks across the rolling countryside over horse and wild duck country.

The room was very spacious, clean and the double window views from the four poster bed made it difficult to rise for breakfast! The private swimming pool was warm and clean and butted onto the lake, so we could talk on the same level as the ducks.

A truly unique experience with people who know their stuff. Breakfast was friendly and more than plentiful, with a special one morning of Freshly baked Croissants, Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, delicious.

Franschhoek town is wonderful, and only 1.5km drive or walk. We visited the spectacular Motor Museum and had two wonderful meals out at excellent restaurants and the weak rand made it possible to indulge our taste for good wine and food. Franschhoek Main Street is a delight, and wine tours are best made by popping on and off the special trams.

We are going back - we just need to convince the owners to let us stay at the Chateaux please!

Room Tip: The Guest House is superb, nut don't tell anyone that the Chateaux is occasionally available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.3 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#6 of 40 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Dauphine

Property: Auberge La Dauphine
Address: Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge La Dauphine is situated in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, surrounded by majestic mountains, only 50 minutes drive from Cape Town and 2 minutes drive from Franschhoek village. Set in 4 hectares with its own vineyards, orchards and dam, it offers wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in a sympathetically converted former wine store and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Auberge La Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Dauphine Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing