We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge La Dauphine
Ranked #39 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Volmoed, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family time”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A beautiful place within easy reach of Cape Town & Hermanus, so we could join our 2 daughters there for a relaxing time in the self catering cottage. Lovely furnishings and spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a super fireplace for the cold & wet winters. Hosts were warm & welcoming as were the rest of the staff who served us delicious breakfasts. Many activities in the area to suit everyones taste and we shall definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We chose a cottage for 4 persons but would like to try the other rooms in main building also. Stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
60
155
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Anne, the owner, was so kind and friendly and accommodating; this was a last minute decision to go away to Franschhoek for the weekend and she made it possible by putting us up in one of her beautiful suites; with snow on the mountains just a few kilometers away, Anne gave us clear instructions on how to make sure we stayed warm in the room, we were given PROPER peculated coffee to enjoy in the room, the bathtub was just huge and to-die-for, the beds extremely warm and comfy, the breakfast was DELICIOUS and the over-all ambiance and atmosphere a pleasure to be a part of. We took a stroll on Sunday morning up to the beautiful dam (with gorgeous views once you're up there), petted the donkeys and walked around the area. Thanks again for a great time; highly recommended for those looking for a memorable time away!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine0Mara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just come back from an unbelievable weekend at Auberge La Dauphine. Received on arrival with a warm welcome from Anne and the dogs (Ben, Alfie, Molly, Jack and of course Henry). Our accommodation in the Appels cottage was perfect for our family of 4. Spotless, comfortable and everything we needed. Close proximity to Appels and Muriel (rescue donkeys who stole our hearts) as well as the chickens was great. There was enough activity with the animals and openness of the farm that kept our 3.5 year old busy for 2 days! We loved the quiet and tranquil setting. Breakfast was included in our stay and was delicious and fresh! Special mention of Herschel (and the breakfast staff) and Ronel (bookings). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaM152CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed the weekend there with friends in March 2014, and the scenery was magnificent. Just a few kilometres outside the town it gave us a lovely relaxing place with swimming pool to go and relax in during the day and was close enough to the town to go and enjoy at night. We hired two of the chalets and that gave us a place to braai which we did, and the evening sunset closing in over the mountains was magnificent. Would defiantly return for another visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spacious units. Farm like feeling. Nice views of the mountain. Bathrooms need a bit of proper cleaning as did smell musty. The couches also smelled but it might be because of the fireplace.

Kids enjoyed it with the space, donkeys and damn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViajarForLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelion
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Very well located auberge, just a few turns outside Franschoek centre on a wine estate. Excellent service and very accompanying personnel ready to help out if needed. If we came back in the summertime we would enjoy the tennis court and pool amidst wine yards. The two-level rooms are really worth it!...and as for the giraffes....they are right on your way to the reception...;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markelloudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On our honeymoon we spent one night in this beautiful B&B in Fransschoek. The owners were so friendly and we felt very welcome! I got stung by some weird bee and she gave me her own allergy medicine just in case i would get an reaction. They offered us a bottle of wine for our honeymoon to enjoy on their lovely estate while watching the sunset with their dogs. Breakfast was delicious and the room really spacious with amazing views. We would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
2.1 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.7 mi away
Auberge Clermont
Auberge Clermont
#22 of 63 in Franschhoek
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rose Cottages
Rose Cottages
#25 of 42 in Franschhoek
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centre-Ville Guest House
Centre-Ville Guest House
#26 of 63 in Franschhoek
314 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#14 of 63 in Franschhoek
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Dauphine

Property: Auberge La Dauphine
Address: Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge La Dauphine is situated in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, surrounded by majestic mountains, only 50 minutes drive from Cape Town and 2 minutes drive from Franschhoek village. Set in 4 hectares with its own vineyards, orchards and dam, it offers wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in a sympathetically converted former wine store and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge La Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Dauphine Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing