We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Dauphine
Ranked #40 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and lovely people”
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My husband and I have stayed in Franschhoek for the past 15 years and, after staying at Auberge La Dauphine we consider it one of the best. The location is wonderful - a little way out of the village so as to be very peaceful but also convenient for all the wonderful things the village has to offer. The rooms are simply furnished but with high quality items and the breakfasts are lovely and served by wonderful, friendly staff. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junet850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    72
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
154
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

From the moment we drove in through the gates, we knew we would love our stay. We had such a warm welcome from Dan and Anne. All the staff were friendly and the service and breakfasts were great.We had a great apartment - the Merlot suite. The bedroom had dual aspect windows - one end looking out onto the mountains and the other over the vineyards - fantastic. The location was superb, really beautiful. There is a lovely pool so that you can chill out and relax after a hard day's wine tasting! It is a very short drive to the lovely village of Franschoek which has great restaurants. The only downside - we had to leave ! We LOVED it !!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2009

I brought my mum and brother to show them the area around Franschhoek which i first visited four years ago. We were unsure whether to stay inside or outside the town and eventually chose Auberge La Dauphine - definately the right choice.

The accommodation is very compfortable. Breakfast was nicely cooked in the attractive kitchen/ dining room. Service is excellent. The owners, Anne and Dan know the local restaurants well and have many recommendations. All the staff made us feel very welcome and at home.

Best of all is the feeling of being in the valley and amongst the vines. The garden is peaceful and yet you are only two minutes drive from the town.

We hope to stay here again one day.

Jean, Andy and Peter Childs,
Buckinghamshire,
United Kingdom.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersChilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Auberge La Dauphine is the perfect distance from Franschhoeks’ quaint village stores and award winning restaurants! Its lovely setting, surrounded by mountains and vineyards, is breathe-taking! We were constantly impressed by not only the friendly service, but also by the wonderfully warm approach of the owners, Anne and her husband Dan. If you think the pictures are beautiful, just wait till you're there! It's just too lovely in person.. The dam is just so magnificent, we can’t wait to be back relaxing at the gazebo... Pleasant morning walks, an inviting swimming pool and dreamy starry skies just added to our romantic stay.. Time slows down at Auberge La Dauphine, but still our stay came to an end, so we booked our next stay before saying goodbye! :)

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackandTish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The setting is stunning and as we turned into the drive we knew we'd made the right decision. Everyone was on hand to welcome us and we poured into the delightful Acorn cottage. We had a little toddler and this place was perfect, Daisy could roam to her hearts content and everyone at La Dauphine entertained her. Ronnel and team on hand to attend to every need. Great breakfasts to set up the perfect day. Eamonn, Emma & Daisy

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edriscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Like one of the other reviewers, we are also a bit late with our comments!! Didn't think to look on line! We were returning to Bath after spending 6 months in Durban and decided a trip to the Cape was a must. Booked Auberge La Dauphine and it was super... Hosts (from the UK) friendly and know how to run a guest house!! Food excellent and accommodation first class. When we return to the Cape we shall return to Auberge... nothing like this in UK!!!

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We booked the Acorn Cottage for 2 nts (18-20 Sep). Its a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchenette. Their 4 dogs are soo friendly that our daughter refuse to go out for sightseeing, she just wants to play with them. They have a dam, and Ron & ann lend us their fishing rods to fish. They are a wealth of information, and so friendly. They recommend all the places to visit. Its about 2km out of town, its not too far away.
In good weather (which we enjoyed) you could sit at the Gazebo for a sundowner. I will recommend this establisment to anyone. The surrounding mountains and their working vineyard are magical. We were really sad to leave this magical place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#10 of 11 in Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lekkerwijn
Lekkerwijn
#16 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
6.9 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#11 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.3 mi away
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
Bo La Motte Farm Cottages
#6 of 40 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.1 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#17 of 63 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Dauphine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Dauphine

Property: Auberge La Dauphine
Address: Verdun Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge La Dauphine is situated in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, surrounded by majestic mountains, only 50 minutes drive from Cape Town and 2 minutes drive from Franschhoek village. Set in 4 hectares with its own vineyards, orchards and dam, it offers wonderful bed and breakfast accommodation in a sympathetically converted former wine store and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auberge La Dauphine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Dauphine Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing