We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like another home - but better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Auberge Chanteclair
Ranked #41 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Like another home - but better!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The moment you are greeted by Bruce and Linda you feel at home. It is quite impossible to fault anything about this little gem with a lovely garden and wonderful views in every direction. The rooms are most tastefully furnished with great attention to detail (we were in Syringa with a lovely terrace looking over the garden). The only little niggle is that the appointments of the bathroom were not up to the quality of the rest of the accommodation which seems a shame when everything else is so lovely.

The breakfasts are outstanding. Each morning the lovely fresh fruit is arranged in a different colourful and very artistic fashion - I am attaching pictures!

This is just a B&B but you are encouraged to think of it as home during your stay. Several Restaurants in Franschhoek mostly provide transport there and back for evening meals - Bruce and Linda have menus for many and give excellent advice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    20
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
69
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had a great stay here and was well looked after by Linda, Bruce and Jack (sorry - never did find out the cat's name). Great advice on restaurants and wineries to visit and were very helpful at making reservations on your behalf including taxis. The breakfast is very good and even braved a plunge in their outdoor pool (well it was only springtime). They even have their own wine on offer to try which was so nice we purchased a bottle to take home.

Room Tip: The one that overlooks the pool is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently stayed at L'Auberge Chanteclair for 3 nights. We could not have wished for a better place to be on a mini winter break. Our room was spacious, but warm and cosy. We were met with beautiful views from every window.

Lynda and Bruce are wonderful hosts...attentive, fun and helpful, but ever mindful of one's privacy.

The breakfast was sumptuous and well prepared by bubbly kitchen staff. And yes...the granola is great!

Thank you for a lovely stay...we hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Syringa Room, but all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for the second part of our Honeymoon, and it could not have been more wonderful. As we were the only guests Linda and Bruce kindly suggested we might want to stay in Vine Cottage. We had booked to stay in Syringa, which was a lovely room, but Vine Cottage had a really intimate feel and was very cosy with a roaring fire going. It was an ideal location, just outside of Franschhoek, a couple of minutes in the car, which made it incredibly peaceful - just what we like, but very quick for dinner in the evenings. The addition of Jack and Fudge, made this a 'home from home' for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie01442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We recently took a trip to Franschhoek and I manage to secure a booking with L'Auberge Chanteclair via the internet. What a lovely place with excellent, accommodating and helpful hosts. We stayed in The Studio - a private quaint little cottage separate from the main venue. It may not have the heated floors, or the most modern of bathrooms, but the privacy, quietness, fireplace with big logs, comfortable bed, nice deep couches, small nook for preparing tea and coffee, private veranda with stunning views, to name some features, makes this place unique. The privacy and quietness (which guarantees a great rest) tops this place to many others in Franschhoek. The hosts, Linda and Bruce, were just great from the start, making some special preparations on request as it was our wedding anniversary. They were keen on making the stay in Franschhoek and Chanteclair a memorable one. We had great, interesting and stimulating discussions over breakfast coffee and evening wine (and what a great Cabernet Chanteclair produces). They were always accommodating, respected out privacy and were very helpful pointing us to places well worth visiting. The hosts again put Chanteclair above many other guesthouses. We left them feeling like family despite visiting for 4 days only. We will be back, for sure, and soon to "visit family" and take our shoes off, in the Studio, for another private, peaceful breakaway

Room Tip: If you want privacy then The Studio is a preferred choice. There are however great rooms in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

After a disastrous experience in Stellenbosch we were delighted to find and be welcomed at Chanteclair. Bruce and Linda looked after us so well and we were spoilt so much it was hard to leave. The rooms are delightful, very clean and tastefully furnished. The grounds and gardens were well kept and the views were stunning. Ideally situated within walking distance of the village with a huge choice of eating places it was the perfect place to spend a few days. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

With such a wonderful setting it is not hard to find lots of beautiful places to stay in Franschhoek but our favourite place by far is the magical little Auberge Chanteclair. Its setting has to be one of the most perfect - lovely gardens with lake, stunning views & perfect peace & tranquility yet only a short walk from the centre of town. This old farmstead has been upgraded with style whilst maintaining its charm & originality. But what makes Chanteclair so special are the the staff. Linda & Bruce are the perfect hosts - charming & informative, you feel as if you are amongst cherished friends. Their local knowledge helped make our visit even more special & nothing was too much trouble. Our favourite room was Syringa but all of the rooms are lovely. Breakfast was delicious - probably the best we had on this trip (and that included some Relais & Chateaux properties). You can even purchase some of the Auberge Chanteclair wine to take home. Cannot wait to return. Our sincere thanks to all the staff for a perfect stay - already counting the days until our return.

Room Tip: The Studio for privacy & space, Syringa for terrace & pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
Franschhoek Boutique Hotel
#11 of 11 in Franschhoek
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Last Word Franschhoek
The Last Word Franschhoek
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#6 of 63 in Franschhoek
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Petite Ferme
La Petite Ferme
#18 of 63 in Franschhoek
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
0.5 mi away
Rose Cottages
Rose Cottages
#25 of 42 in Franschhoek
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Chanteclair

Property: L'Auberge Chanteclair
Address: Middagkrans Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Chanteclair 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Auberge Chanteclair nestles in the Franschhoek valley with panoramic views of the vineyards, mountains and valley. The Victorian farmhouse, with it's lofty ceilings and light and airy rooms set in wonderful landscaped gardens amongst spreading Oak and Jacaranda trees, has a very special ambiance. All our rooms are en-suite, with bar fridges, tea and coffee making facilities, some with fireplaces and others with their own private patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your L'Auberge Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing