We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hiking Trail”

La Motte Wine Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.54*
and up
Private Wine Tour of Franschhoek from Cape Town
Ranked #5 of 59 things to do in Franschhoek
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
165 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great hiking Trail”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went to La motte just for their hiking trail. We were given a friendly wlecome and send on our wat with maps and water. The trail itself is very pleasant taking you up through the vines onto the mountainside - where the views are stunning. The walk is sufficently long and challenging to provide a couple of hours distraction from eating and drinking and to build an appetite.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baronsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    95
    27
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stumbled upon La Motte by accident on our way out of the Motor Museum in Franschhoek and were so happy we did.
Completely surprised by the farm and how beautiful the buildings and gardens were, we also had one of the best wine tastings ever.
The staff were not overly pushy, they sat us down explained the wine and left us to it.
With the wine tasting we got some bread as well as a little rusk.
The cellar is one of the nicest I have seen!
Such a beautiful estate - I'll definitely go back!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chantelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant charm”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Our visit, on the spur of the moment, was well rewarded with warm welcome and a fantastic wine tasting. As a wine lover, the wine tasting area is well set out and the wine did not disappoint either. The wine tasting assistant was knowledgeable about his fare and could answer most of my questions. The restaurant " Pierneefs" is wonderfully spacious and the food though expensive by my standards was done to perfection. The museum, is definitely worth a visit too, if not for anything than to view the works of Pierneef himself with the largest current collection being housed right here. All in all, take at least a couple of hours to really appreciate this property.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reuben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When we pulled into the entrance, we were taken aback by the beauty of this estate. The property is stunning and that is about as good as the experience gets. We had lunch reservations at Pierneef a La Motte and were looking forward to eating there. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre at best and our server was inattentive which also made the experience disappointing. I should mention though that the hostess kept walking around to ensure things were in order but there's only so much that one person can do. The vibe was a little uppity for my taste (Babylonstoren is a lot warmer). After lunch, we went onto to do the wine tasting and I have to agree with the other reviewers that it was very rushed and felt too corporate. I would suggest trying Babylonstoren.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PKS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fav wine & Wonderful piano concert”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited this place twice during our stay in Franschhoek; early afternoon wine tasting and an evening Piano concert later on in the old wine cellar. Both were highly memorable experiences. There’s even a 2-3hrs hike on the grounds which we unfortunately never got to try so do leave plenty of time when visiting this place – a classy mixture of modern contemporary design over a truly historic estate: manicured gardens surround museums, café/restaurant and a wine tasting emporium: when you walk around you really feel the depth of the establishment.

My favourites were: Shiraz/Viognier, Cab, and Chardonnay - all wonderful.

Would really love to come back…. Bought a few bottles through their German distributor already!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlueTak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Motte Wine Estate also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to La Motte Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing