We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Country Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Clermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
Ranked #25 of 65 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Lovely Country Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed in July and were there during Franschhoek"s Bastille Day celebrations. The check in was easy and we got great advice on places to eat and things to do. The rooms were lovely with a very "french country" feel. There was a small, private swimming pool for our two rooms but we didn't use this as it was winter. The rooms which were on the ground floor opened out onto verandahs and a garden. This quickly became the place for evening tea and early morning, pre breakfast coffees. Breakfasts were served and were delicious. The vineyard setting through which you were encouraged at the check in desk to walk for both pleasure and exercise, was beautiful. Auberge Clermont was a good base for enjoying the town.
Even though the check out time was at 12md, we were encouraged to leave our things in a room while we went into town. We were able to also have full use of the room to freshen up before we finally departed at 4pm. This enabled us to really enjoy the last of the Bastille Day fun in the town.
The hotel is small and intimate with really helpful staff. The Lounge is cozy with a large fireplace. I would recommend this hotel unreservedly.

Room Tip: There is a Villa for families if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    24
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
105
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

What an awesome find for our honeymoon. We felt our time and place was our own. The views were exceptional and our room was exquisite. No expense spared. Underfloor heating, sunken bath, rose petals. Everything was perfect. Breakfast was awesome along with an interesting chat with the owner. Thank you so much for making it such a memorable experience.

We asked to see other rooms for future reference. All were unique and individual and I would happy to stay in any of them!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

An historical wine and fruit farm ,this was the perfect B and B experience. We stayed in the Loft Rooms.Lovely spacious rooms, comfortable beds, lovely linens, extra thoughtful touches of lavender and a poem/choc/rose on your pillow at night all added to the ambience. Bathroom underfloor heating was appreciated as the nights and early mornings were quite brisk. The setting in the foothills of the mountains surrounded by vineyards was very picturesque and the scenery, stunning. The manager, Jane was both attentive and welcoming. The breakfast room and setting was perfect as was the breakfast choices each morning, tasty and plentiful. The B&B was walking distance to the village during the day but not recommended after dark. We walked in one morning to connect with the Wine Train which worked very well. The only thing that would have enhanced our stay would have been the convenience of WiFi in our room. Would recommend with out hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
284 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

How could we know that our first stop out of Cape Town, on a six week adventure in Southern Africa, would be the nicest welcome we would receive. Flowers on the welcome note, lavender on our pillows, choices for a hot breakfast after the cold buffet, served in a bright, sunny breakfast room, great bed with excellent pillows and fabulously comfortable linens, Wi-Fi in the reception area, walking distance to town and all the amazing restaurant offerings. Heated towel bar and bathroom and bedroom floors were greatly appreciated. Thanks very much to Jayne who greeted us warmly. In every way an absolutely wonderful place to stay among the vineyards!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs offer better views, but so does the courtyard and you really should be outside anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We had no hesitation in booking a return visit to this delightful B&B. We were not disappointed apart from the wet weather. The rooms are spotless and extremely well appointed. The situation is superb with stunning mountain views. The little patio was lovely. Breakfast was special and superbly presented. The receptionist was always very helpful and wifi is available. A very short drive takes you into the middle of Franschhoek with a range of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasDartmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The rooms are generous, the position on an active vineyard is interesting and the location in the winelands is ideal. Breakfast is a real treat and the team bent over backwards to accommodate our needs, which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms are all large on a central courtyard. The loft room was a pleasure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaJoe889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel (converted farmhouse) is set in the middle of vineyards with a terrific backdrop of mountains and lush green meadows. The views are stunning. Our room was upstairs in the main building and was wonderful with crisp white bedding and a huge bathroom. All of the staff are friendly and welcoming, the breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.8 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
11.5 mi away
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.7 mi away
La Cabriere Country House
La Cabriere Country House
#8 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#9 of 65 in Franschhoek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.2 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#10 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge La Dauphine
Auberge La Dauphine
#38 of 65 in Franschhoek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Property: Auberge Clermont
Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Clermont is a luxury guest house situated at the foot of the Franschhoek Mountains, on a picturesque wine and olive farm. Just a 10-15 minute walk from town, its position offers you the laid-back peace and quiet of a working farm with the bustling local high street virtually on your doorstep. Tastefully decorated rooms each reflect the tranquility of peaceful surroundings. Rooms offer mini-bars, coffee machines and tea trays; with small extra touches to make your stay even more enjoyable. Climate control in each room includes air conditioning and under floor heating in winter to ensure your utmost comfort. Free high speed wifi is available in all the rooms, the self-catering villa and the public lounge - which is also where our delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz and award-winning olive oil are available for purchase. In summer, delicious breakfasts are served in the courtyard under a grand old oak & in winter guests dine in the breakfast room. If you feel like taking things slowly, laze under another old oak tree with a book,or by the pool, whilst enjoying the incredibly beautiful scenery. Or, you could go for a gentle stroll amongst plum orchards, olive groves and vines to where a gentle brook winds its way across the farm. If you're feeling slightly more energetic, a game of tennis might just do the trick. Of course, we offer advice and recommendations on the best places to visit in the valley and will provide you with everything you need to find your way around town and to wonderful local wineries, restaurants and places of interest. Our dedicated team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing