We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Auberge Clermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
Ranked #18 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This beautiful and stylish little property nestles in a small vineyard amongst the hills surrounding Franschoek . I would recommend it to couples seeking a quiet romantic break. Our only regret is we could not stay longer and indeed we hope to return. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with a calm feel to them. There is a tree shaded courtyard where you can relax with a glass (or two ) of the Auberge's own wine. Bottles are available in the fridges in the room and are very reasonably priced. Breakfast is beautifully cooked and can be served in the courtyard. My only slight criticism is that the pool is quite small and situated where the sun goes off it quite early. A minor point. Staff are helpful and informative and can't do enough for you. They even arranged for a local restaurant to pick us up to go into Franschoek to eat. I doubt you will be disappointed if you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julied59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Great B&B in the wineland. They make their own (quite good) wine. Good breakfast but no other meal option. I had room 4, a spacious attic with a good sized bathroom. Very pleasant stay in a most convenient location with the town within walking distance. No wifi in the rooms, only by the reception, which is fine on a sunny day but otherwise not so convenient; but hopefully this will be corrected soon.

Take note: check-in is only until 7:00pm. I had not noticed on the reservation sheet and got an email at 6:30 that I was expected. However I was still in Cape Town. Not a problem, after ringing the bell a few times the night watchman opened for me and even helped me with the luggage. (No one was there to help when I left.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our second stay at Auberge Clermont and we still love it. The location is absolutely breathtaking. It's very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service is wonderful and helpful. Breakfast in the lovely courtyard patio is a wonderful way to start the day.
Be sure and take a walk around the immaculate vineyards!
While it's not on the town's main drag, it's less than a 5 minute drive.
The ONLY downside is the Wi-Fi, it's practically non existent, which proved to be a bit of a problem for us when a couple of us each had a work emergency. The front office was nice enough to help us out, but there is no Wi-Fi in the sleeping rooms.

Room Tip: The two upstairs rooms provide you with a lovely view, but get warm quickly. There is a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Liked the peacefulness and the old world charm. Even the old brass light switches were polished! Very helpful and friendly staff – take them up on their offer to book you a dinner at a local restaurant especially the Roca with magnificent views over Franschhoek and a free taxi ride was offered.

The beds were a little on the hard side. Not within walking distance of the main street and the taxi at 200 Rand return was on the expensive side. The pool was rather small but adequate.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which had a door in the halll connected to the next door romm - ideal for famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely little rooms off cute courtyard! Nice breakfast in the morning - lovely setting in vineyards with nice views. Well located can walk to town. Cute town with shops and restaurants!
Area felt like Provence France!
Close to vineyards!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loistheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very small B&B . In the middle of vineyards . Decent rooms . However there is no room service here and it's just a very quiet place. Would recommend it if one wants to get away for a while. Located in the valley has great views of the mountains around it. Would recommend it's a great stay but it's more suitable for older couples and less for young ones.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samdalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Really delightful B&B with terrific attention to detail, all set in an exquisite vineyard. Siutuated on the edge of town it is a ten minute walkj to the main sy in Franchhoek. We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was enormous and beautifully fitted. Wine produced on estate delicious and very reasonably priced, we bought a bottle (Merlot 2006) and drank it outside in the evening sun, pre dinner. Helpful receptionist booked us a table at Rocca nearby (terrific food) and arranged for us to be picked up by a lovely lady called Jackie who drove us there and back (kindly paid for by the restaurant which was apprciated). Breakfast in a courtyard was top notch and our only regret was not staying longer.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is worth every Rand!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#3 of 11 in Franschhoek
193 reviews
6.1 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#10 of 64 in Franschhoek
656 reviews
1.2 mi away
21 Roux Street
21 Roux Street
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plumwood Inn
Plumwood Inn
#11 of 64 in Franschhoek
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £119 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Clermont is a luxury guest house situated at the foot of the Franschhoek Mountains, on a picturesque wine and olive farm. Just a 10-15 minute walk from town, its position offers you the laid-back peace and quiet of a working farm with the bustling local high street virtually on your doorstep. Tastefully decorated rooms each reflect the tranquility of peaceful surroundings. Rooms offer mini-bars, coffee machines and tea trays; with small extra touches to make your stay even more enjoyable. Climate control in each room includes air conditioning and under floor heating in winter to ensure your utmost comfort. Free high speed wifi is available in all the rooms, the self-catering villa and the public lounge - which is also where our delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz and award-winning olive oil are available for purchase. In summer, delicious breakfasts are served in the courtyard under a grand old oak & in winter guests dine in the breakfast room. If you feel like taking things slowly, laze under another old oak tree with a book,or by the pool, whilst enjoying the incredibly beautiful scenery. Or, you could go for a gentle stroll amongst plum orchards, olive groves and vines to where a gentle brook winds its way across the farm. If you're feeling slightly more energetic, a game of tennis might just do the trick. Of course, we offer advice and recommendations on the best places to visit in the valley and will provide you with everything you need to find your way around town and to wonderful local wineries, restaurants and places of interest. Our dedicated team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing