We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, welcoming stay”
Review of Auberge Clermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
Ranked #20 of 64 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Spent weekend in franschoek for wedding. Found Auberge very convenient, beautiful surroundings, clean and pleasant. Broad choice of breakfast and very tasty. Fair value given the premium rates franschoek commands.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Auberge Clermont
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

It is situated in a beautiful location just past the monument which makes it a perfect distance if you wish to stroll into the main street of town. The room was very clean and decorated beautifully. The beds we comfy and the staff were wonderful! In all I had an amazing weekend and Auberge Clermont was the perfect place to stay. Another good pointer- I had a bottle of shiraz and it was excellent. Thank you for everything:)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaylee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family of four, including two teenagers, spent a wonderful two nights in the
self catering villa. It was great having the whole house to ourselves with a lovely
large private verandah overlooking a pool and the vines. We walked into town twice
and found it an easy walk. The two restaurants suggested to us for dinner were both
excellent, the French Connection and Roca. We enjoyed a game of tennis aswell!

Room Tip: The villa is great for a family.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katy441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a most lovely stay at the Auberge Clermont for two nights. The building, an original farmhouse structure from the 19th century, is a charming and beautifully appointed B&B with a lovely staff and overlooking the spectacular Franschhoek countryside and mountains in the background. A working vineyard, growing wine grapes and olives, the Auberge is situated on acres of pristine and lush orchards.

Our room, #4, was a large and comfortable space with gorgeous views of the mountains through the skylight windows and a large and luxurious marble bathroom. (Note: due to the sloped, attic-style ceilings, the mirrors in the bathroom had to be placed quite low. If you are tall, this may be a problem.) One minor issue was the ever-presence of tiny millipedes that seem to invade the whole farmhouse. They don't both you, but if you're squeamish you may request that they spray before you return at night.

The Auberge gave excellent recommendations for both wine tours and meals, however I highly recommend booking ALL your restaurants well in advance of your arrival. We made some reservations at a few of the more famous restaurants (such as Le Petite Ferme) but with four weddings in town the weekend we spent there, it was very difficult to find a table on Friday evening.

Overall, a lovely, lovely stay -- highly recommended for couples looking for a quiet and romantic getaway!

Room Tip: #4 was a lovely little "treehouse" of a room, accessible by outdoor staircase and with a l...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJadaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Outside Franschhoek, you do need a car to get anywhere.

Unlike other comments, we were suggested places to eat,, but had to pay the taxi fare (300 rands return), However, the staff did suggest good wineries, although their suggestion for our first night's dinner wasn't

The Wifi really is in the main building! For some reason it doesn't extend to the rooms and is only available when "reception" is open. There are their bottles of wine from the vineyard available in the rooms - not very good, especially if offered at 60 rand and then charged at 85 rand at check out!


Rooms are fine and clean, bathroon also,

We weren't very impressed with the breakfast - the basic offering was VERY basic (2 croissant between 5 guests?) and the cooked breakfast offered by a very off putting member of staff (the menu was, if I remember correctly, poached eggs with bolognese sauce and other types of egg)...not very appetising,

OK place to stay. but we wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergeclermont, Manager at Auberge Clermont, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

We are always appreciative of constructive feedback via Trip Advisor. We have noted your points and would like to comment as follows :

Wherever possible we try to assist guests with good restaurant recommendations. On confirmation of a booking we make a point of advising our guests to make restaurant reservations well ahead of their arrival in order to get their preferred dining experience. n spite of this the majority of guests wait til their arrival in the late afternoon to request a restaurant by which stage, during the peak season, we have to take what is available which is not always what they would have chosen.

Transfers to restaurants are out of our hands - we call the people who offer the service in the area and generally their fare prices are pretty reasonable considering they are not taxi drivers but private tour guides etc who are licensed to transfer guests from A to B. Any case of overcharging should be reported to us immediately - I would like to know a little more about this particular incident so I can follow it up and ensure it does not happen again. Peak season rates can be a little higher but I agree R300 to and from a local restaurant seems steep. However if the restaurant was a little way out of town then the price would be about right.
Auberge Clermont is situated about a 10 minute brisk walk from the Village and one can drive into town in 2 minutes. Transfers are mostly required by those who do not wish to drink and drive. We are a working farm but offer the convenience of being close to the town centre without losing the feel of the farm and the .

Our breakfasts consist of an extensive buffet offering plus the option of so-called English style breakfast where eggs tend to become the main feature - poached eggs with bolognese on toasted ciabatta being very popular with many of our guests. We try to please every taste where possible with gluten free products etc available on request. The croissants are part of the buffet - if the basket runs low it should be replenished - the matter of only 2 being available for 5 guests is not acceptable and has been dealt with. As a guest you always have the option of requesting the staff provide more of what you require or alerting the front desk to the fact that the breakfast was not up to scratch so it can be dealt with timeously.

The serving and kitchen staff have been here since Clermont opened in 1997. In general they have always been able to establish a rapport with our guests in spite of language and cultural barriers. To say that the person who served you was "offputting" is rather a harsh description - our staff are all over 40 and come from communities where life is not the easiest. Again this should not be obvious to you - staff have been made aware of the comment.

The rooms have a minibar fridge stocked with milk, soft drinks, beer and wine. Each fridge door has a price list on it and individual wines in the display case in the lounge have a price card for each wine type. Clermont Sauvignon Blanc is R60/bottle and the Shiraz is R85/bottle. If you took the Shiraz it is R85. If you took the Sauvignon Blanc then the price is R60 and the error is ours. Perhaps you would be kind enough to let me know which wine you had.

Lastly the issue of wi-fi. We do only have wi-fi availability to guests in the guest lounge - being fairly rural at the time of installation this was the best option at the time. It is about to change and soon all rooms will have wi-fi access. We offer a key to the lounge to those guests who require wi-fi service after our reception closes in the evening.

It is a pity you feel so strongly about not returning here - we would have appreciated the opportunity to make amends. Clermont is a good guest house in a wonderful setting offering a wine farm experience with many comforts. We more than meet the requirements of the 4 stars we have - I'm just so sorry your experience was a disappointment to you.

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights on our recent trip to South Africa.
The Luxury Guest House is not really within walking distance of Frankschhoek however we had no problems getting taxis to restaurants and price was reasonable. Reception were very helpful in recommending and booking restaurants which were all fantastic.
Our room was spacious, clean, bright and comfortable.
It also benefitted from air conditioning.
Breakfast was simple and tasty.
Happy to recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ellie5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This beautiful and stylish little property nestles in a small vineyard amongst the hills surrounding Franschoek . I would recommend it to couples seeking a quiet romantic break. Our only regret is we could not stay longer and indeed we hope to return. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with a calm feel to them. There is a tree shaded courtyard where you can relax with a glass (or two ) of the Auberge's own wine. Bottles are available in the fridges in the room and are very reasonably priced. Breakfast is beautifully cooked and can be served in the courtyard. My only slight criticism is that the pool is quite small and situated where the sun goes off it quite early. A minor point. Staff are helpful and informative and can't do enough for you. They even arranged for a local restaurant to pick us up to go into Franschoek to eat. I doubt you will be disappointed if you chose to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julied59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
1.5 mi away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#3 of 64 in Franschhoek
382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Chablis Guest House
Maison Chablis Guest House
#8 of 64 in Franschhoek
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Val d'Or Guest House
Val d'Or Guest House
#19 of 64 in Franschhoek
281 reviews
6.1 mi away
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
Klein Waterval Riverside Lodge
#12 of 64 in Franschhoek
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#1 of 64 in Franschhoek
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range: £99 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Clermont is a luxury guest house situated at the foot of the Franschhoek Mountains, on a picturesque wine and olive farm. Just a 10-15 minute walk from town, its position offers you the laid-back peace and quiet of a working farm with the bustling local high street virtually on your doorstep. Tastefully decorated rooms each reflect the tranquility of peaceful surroundings. Rooms offer mini-bars, coffee machines and tea trays; with small extra touches to make your stay even more enjoyable. Climate control in each room includes air conditioning and under floor heating in winter to ensure your utmost comfort. Free high speed wifi is available in all the rooms, the self-catering villa and the public lounge - which is also where our delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz and award-winning olive oil are available for purchase. In summer, delicious breakfasts are served in the courtyard under a grand old oak & in winter guests dine in the breakfast room. If you feel like taking things slowly, laze under another old oak tree with a book,or by the pool, whilst enjoying the incredibly beautiful scenery. Or, you could go for a gentle stroll amongst plum orchards, olive groves and vines to where a gentle brook winds its way across the farm. If you're feeling slightly more energetic, a game of tennis might just do the trick. Of course, we offer advice and recommendations on the best places to visit in the valley and will provide you with everything you need to find your way around town and to wonderful local wineries, restaurants and places of interest. Our dedicated team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing