We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms, great setting, friendly service”
Review of Auberge Clermont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Auberge Clermont
Ranked #22 of 63 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms, great setting, friendly service”
Reviewed 19 February 2009

This place is a gem and is highly recommended. On a working vineyard the rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and it was all very relaxing. You can walk into the town, but you still feel like you are in the peaceful countryside which is great if you want a nice meal WITH wine. If they have room I think this is a marvelous place to stay. It has a pool as well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukproptoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
113
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Would highly recommend Auberge Clermont in Franschhoek, we had great service from Stephan.He was really helpful,friendly and always went the extra mile. We also got a homely feel by the breakfast staff. That all really added special touches to our time in Franschhoek.
The view is awesome with the plum orchards, vineyards and mountains in the background. Was really not expecting much, being there in Winter, but really enjoyed it.
Didn't feel the cold with the underfloor heating in the rooms.Would definitely be going back.

  • Liked — Service and view
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

The Auberge Clermont is a lovely Bed & Breakfast located in a beautiful setting. Located on a wine farm and surrounded by mountains, this was the perfect place for our Christmas 2007 stay. It is only a short, flat walk (one mile/1.6 km) from the main street in Franschhoek, and we felt safe walking the route during the daytime. Since there are not any taxis in the town, our wonderful hostess, Pat, arranged a driver for us. This was an extra fee, of course, but convenient for visits to the winelands and going into town after dark.

We reserved the luxurious honeymoon suite for our two-night stay, and were pleasantly surprised at the large size of the room. The bathroom was also big, with a bathtub, double sinks and two showerheads. The room itself was larger than some studio apartments!

We had a choice of enjoying the delicious breakfast inside or outside in the garden. The menu was the same both days and we could choose whatever we wanted from the list. A few of the items included jams, toast, fruit, cereal and omelets. My husband tried the salmon, herb and cheese omelet while I opted for one with salmon only, both of which were scrumptious.

Overall, I highly recommend this bed and breakfast. Pat was very prompt about returning emails and helped make arrangements we needed during our visit. It was a charming place in a quiet and stunning location. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting and the large room.
  • Disliked — Paying for a driver to go into town after dark.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca_vol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2007

We spent 2 nights in the self-catering villa in October 2007 and wished we had stayed for longer. It was a very cosy, comfortable, old fashioned cottage with creaky floorboards and 2 great bedrooms plus the loft upstairs, lovely bathrooms, fully kitted kitchen, dining room and living room. There was also a large terrace and private pool in the garden with views across to the mountains. It was fantastically relaxing and we even managed to cook once in between all the delicious food served in town. Great value and we will be back when its a little warmer to have a game of tennis, a swim and a braai on the terrace. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unclemonty
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We stayed here in November, it was quite a nice place. We thought it was a bit dark at first but we had heavy rain while in Franschoek so that may have been just the weather. The rooms are quite traditional style decor and nicely furnished although it lacked some basic things as in the the minibar/fridge was empty. We stayed in room no 1 which is a suite and had a great view out over the vineyard across the valley. The service is laissez faire, you don't actually see staff around except at Breakfast and there is someone at reception during the day. Hard to judge sometimes when the weather is bad but all in I'd say it's a good place to go touring the vineyards.

  • Liked — nice room nice view
  • Disliked — no dvd player empty minibar
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank unlcemonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

We stayed in Auberge Clermont for 2 days in September 2007. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room (6) while not large was very nicely furnished with many extras and had a terrace looking out on the pool. The weather was chilly so the heated floor was very welcome. The grounds are nicely landscaped with views of the vineyard and mountains. The hot breakfast was very good as was the coffee. The inn is only about 5 minutes from town, but has a sense of quiet and tranquility. Their web site provides an accurate picture of what you can expect. The service was excellent. When we arrived too early for check-in after an overnight flight from London, we were given tea and croissants with homemade jam. They made reservations at local restaurants for us. We liked the food at Reuben’s, but be careful when paying the check. Vat which is included in the total is also listed after the total so it looks as if it should be added in—which we did. A small quibble—overall a wonderful 2 days. We would hope to stay at the Clermont when we return to Franschhoek.

Helpful?
4 Thank RhondaWhurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Franschhoek hotels
0.7 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
1.1 mi away
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
Le Franschhoek Hotel & Spa
#9 of 11 in Franschhoek
648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Franschhoek Manor
Franschhoek Manor
#4 of 63 in Franschhoek
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avondrood Guest House
Avondrood Guest House
#2 of 63 in Franschhoek
564 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lavender Farm Guest House Franschhoek
1.0 mi away
Ashbourne House Guest House
Ashbourne House Guest House
#8 of 63 in Franschhoek
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Clermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Clermont

Property: Auberge Clermont
Address: Robertsvlei Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge Clermont 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auberge Clermont is a luxury guest house situated at the foot of the Franschhoek Mountains, on a picturesque wine and olive farm. Just a 10-15 minute walk from town, its position offers you the laid-back peace and quiet of a working farm with the bustling local high street virtually on your doorstep. Tastefully decorated rooms each reflect the tranquility of peaceful surroundings. Rooms offer mini-bars, coffee machines and tea trays; with small extra touches to make your stay even more enjoyable. Climate control in each room includes air conditioning and under floor heating in winter to ensure your utmost comfort. Free high speed wifi is available in all the rooms, the self-catering villa and the public lounge - which is also where our delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Shiraz and award-winning olive oil are available for purchase. In summer, delicious breakfasts are served in the courtyard under a grand old oak & in winter guests dine in the breakfast room. If you feel like taking things slowly, laze under another old oak tree with a book,or by the pool, whilst enjoying the incredibly beautiful scenery. Or, you could go for a gentle stroll amongst plum orchards, olive groves and vines to where a gentle brook winds its way across the farm. If you're feeling slightly more energetic, a game of tennis might just do the trick. Of course, we offer advice and recommendations on the best places to visit in the valley and will provide you with everything you need to find your way around town and to wonderful local wineries, restaurants and places of interest. Our dedicated team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge Clermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Clermont Hotel Franschhoek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing